We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing I didn't want to go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorks UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Relaxing I didn't want to go”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Again a very late review from a holiday in September 2010
Used it as the second half of a holiday after watching the Grand Prix in Singapore
Superb hotel with great staff nothing was too much trouble, and the location was just right.
on the beach front with long walks along the sand every day, walking distance to the village where there was a supermarket and an area with loads of restaurants.
Serviced by a guy who gave us a drive round the island acted as tour guide for all the temples and rice fields from 8am until 7.00pm took us to a restaurant on the beach waited for us and delivered us back at 9.30pm for the princely sum of £42
The hotel staff couldn't do eneough but paerticular mention must go to the bar staff down on the beach and the crew at breakfast.
Superb

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear DJAnon,

Warmest greetings from the Laguna Resort & Spa

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your favorable review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to learn that you had an exceptional and indigenous stay with us. We really appreciate your highlight on our strategic location and indeed our resort is nestled within Nusa Dua serene environment in which you can reach other facilities such as malls and other shopping centers within only walking distance.

We are also happy to hear that our staff took good care of you. This has always been rewarding to hear such compliment since it will boost the spirit of our staff to deliver the better hospitality service to our valued guests.

We hope to welcome you back for another exceptional and indigenous experience at The Laguna Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,148
    678
    211
    78
    50
See reviews for
677
1,715
90
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Laguna Resort is best described as a “Luxury Water Resort” with excellent pool and sea side areas for swimming, dining and relaxing. The pools are well maintained and the beaches have near white sand better than many areas of the island. The friendly staff are well trained, attentive and what you would expect from a resort of this price and class. Breakfast is very good compared to many Asian buffet style offerings, with a wide range of cuisines available all well prepared and presented. I was impressed to find one of my favourites smoked marlin available.

If you have stayed in different parts of Bali, Nusa Dua can feel like another country. With a security search of your van or taxi at the entry to the resort area followed by a second search at the resort gate, privacy and safety are clearly integral to the whole Nusa Dua experience. While this level of privacy can be an effective way to escape the pace of Bali I would not base my whole stay in this one area. We stayed at this resort at the end of our Bali travels and used it to wind down following racing around various areas in Bali for seven days trying to get in as much of the place as possible. This resort was a great place to just slow down and chill.

If you are considering paying extra for a Lagoon access room rather than a Garden View room I would not bother. The best pools are away from the rooms anyway. We stayed in a studio on the 4th floor and while it was a very nice room, there was easy access to the pools at the bottom of the lift. The bed was firm but very comfortable and the room is well laid out and spacious.

Bali Travel Tip: In the days of electronic ticketing remember when leaving Denpasar Airport you will need a printed copy of your itinerary to get through the security before check in. Laguna Resort has an internet room in the Deli shop area with a free printing service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolo_Tim_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Lolo_Tim_Tim,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our resort, the room and the environment. Our Resort is well known for its beautiful and clean beach as well as secured and serene environment which make us a perfect place for those who wish to have a quiet and relaxing stay within the warmth and luxury of a 5 star hotel standard.

It is wonderful that you had a distinctive culinary journey and we kindly invite you to visit balibeyondgourmet.com for our complete details of culinary selection. For our guests satisfaction, our restaurants and bars are also complemented with Wifi access and nightly entertainment.

We hope that your memorable experience will bring you back to The Laguna in the near future.



Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Laguana Nusa Dua is a beautiful resort, just what you look for in a long weekend getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life - nice private beach, well maintained surroundings, friendly staff, palm trees and a big open-aired lobby!

The sense of peacefulness hits you the moment you step into the main lobby. The resort is 'covered' by well maintained swimming pools and palm trees, the private white sandy beach is very impressive, as you would expect in Nusa Dua. The hotel is quite large, almost walking into a maze, just have to get used to it.

There are two restaurants, one of which is located by the beach, just imagine having breakfast, enjoying a cup of coffee, watching the rolling waves (some as big as eight foot, clean), that my friend, is why we love Bali.

The rooms are neat, spacious, initially checked in to the basic room with a garden view; then decided to upgrade to a pool-access room that is located close to the beach. From your room, you can just dive into the pool from your balcony - that was the BEST decision i have made and would recommend others to stay at these pool-access rooms.

Food wise, tried the international restaurant, only so-so, limited selection, not much of a 'buffet' as you would expect. Looking forward to the seafood restaurant that is located by the beach.

BIG TURNOFF - you have to PAY to use those purposely built sundeck huts located by the beach, yes it is very nice, with the big pillows and all that, but why should we be charged separately for using these huts??? Since there is a charge applied, these huts are all empty, a good decoration I guess.....definitely a BIG turnoff.

Overall, you get what you pay for, peaceful, relaxing, tranquil, clean private white-sand beach. The only turnoff is the pay per use sun deck huts!!

Room Tip: Get the rooms with pool access that are near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Patman3,

Warmest greetings form The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We really appreciate your highlight regarding our peaceful and beautiful environment which is in line with the surrounding reviews. It is pleasing to learn that you enjoyed our restaurants which have been famous to have the best cuisines on the island. We will be very happy if you can find us on balibeyondgourmet.com to find our complete culinary details.

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the culinary selection of our buffet menu. We will discuss your concern with our F&B team to add more variety along the line for our guests’ utmost satisfaction.

In regards to the sundeck huts, we initiated this policy due to the fact that we were having too many guests disputing over them. Before having our new policy in place, in a few occasions these disputes escalated to physical attacks between guests. In addition, some guests would get up as early as 05.00 in the morning to reserve a sundeck hut by sleeping, placing towels and personal belongings on it, creating a sense of unfairness to other guests.

Our new policy is aimed at creating a more fair system for guests to reserve the huts and enjoy them without any altercations whatsoever.

Our sundeck hut comes with 2 bottles of mineral water, cold towels and fresh fruits.

Total guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and it is thanks to your constructive feedback and comments that we are able to maintain and further improve on our service standards.

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again for another exceptional and indigenous experience at The Laguna Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Wonderful hotel on a very nice and clean beach.The pools are beautiful, grounds well kept.The staff is truly very kind and professional, breakfast buffet is excellent and so are the restaurants.Room over looking the garden was a bit dark so I paid the supplement to be upgraded to a really nicer one, I wished that as a SPG gold the upgrade would have been complimentary but it was not.Spa is great.
I can only recommend that property.Just beware that certain days it is hard to swim in the sea because of tide.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Peter I,

Warmest greetings from the Laguna Resort & Spa.

We are glad to learn that you like our resort, its grounds and facilities. We really appreciate your highlight on our buffet breakfast and we are thrilled to learn that your enjoyed our excellent cuisines. Should you have an opportunity, kindly find us on balibeyondgouemet.com for our complete culinary journey.

Please rest assured that as part of Starwood Hotels and Resorts, we do participate in the SPG Program and benefits, including Gold member benefits which we adhere to diligently and I believe your Gold membership entitlement has been well delivered during your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again for another exceptional and indigenous experience at The Laguna Resort & Spa in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is a tasteful property rambling down towards the beach with a series of connecting pools. A pretty foyer, obliging staff and adequately equipped facilities. Having stayed in a normal room as well as a suite, it is fair to stay that they are open, spacious and pleasantly finished (if a little dated in some of its fittings). The pools themselves are quite pleasant and include an artificial beach in one. Service at every point was up to scratch.

Essentially, and mildly uncommonly amongst Luxury Collection hotels, this is a family hotel. If you are looking for peace and quiet then you probably need to go somewhere else (may I suggest Ubud?). Sunbeds on the beach are at something of a premium and the food (breakfast and otherwise) is family-friendly but decidedly pedestrian - although the prices are definitely fitting of a Luxury Collection. There is little nearby and if you're in Nusa Dua for the surf then you're probably better off staying at hotel closer to the surf beaches.

These reservations are minor and are only things that stop this property from being truly excellent - to some extent, they are in the nature of the place. However you certainly won't be uncomfortable here, it will be pleasant, you will likely be quite happy - and isn't that what life is about?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank divvy_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear divvy_I,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write your favorable review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to learn that you like our resort, rooms and grounds. Total guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and it is thanks to your constructive feedback and comments that we are able to maintain and further improve on our service standards.

We are happy to have you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again at The Laguna Resort & Spa soon.


Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.7 km away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.8 km away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,642 reviews
3.6 km away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,798 reviews
1.3 km away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#15 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,742 reviews
1.8 km away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price range (per night): $199 - $484
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing