We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
USD 216*
USD 168*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hyatt Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
USD 490*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
USD 176*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 147*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Bali Resort(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
USD 130*
USD 114*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayodya Resort Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
USD 353*
USD 147*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
USD 167*
USD 148*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
USD 97*
USD 95*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 488*
USD 246*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The St. Regis Bali Resort(Nusa Dua)
USD 766*
USD 703*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,595)
Filter reviews
3,595 results
Traveller rating
2,481
733
241
82
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,481
733
241
82
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicearwana restaurantkulkul barcornerstone delikul kul bara lagoon view roomour honeymoonlagoon accessbeach frontaccess roomwelcome drinkreal balirestaurants and barssun loungersshopping centrebeach barnice beach
Filter
Updating list...
2,155 - 2,160 of 3,595 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We spent a week at The Laguna en route for Australia. The staff were delightful, our ground floor room was very well equiped and comfortable and had direct access into one of the swimming pools. Our butler took great care of us during our stay. The grounds, gardens and pools are spectacular and beautifully cared for. Food was excellent especially breakfast, alcohol was a little on the expensive side, that aside we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only disappointing element is the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Rogermb,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your one week stay at The Laguna Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our resort, the ground and service and we are thankful that everything we had offered you had exceeded your expectation.

Regarding the alcohol, we have tax issue in our country that makes alcohol price inevitably high. Somehow, please be advised that we display nett price for our food and beverage which means that the price has included 21% of government tax and service charge which are not the case of most other establishments.

We are also happy that you enjoyed your breakfast. For complete inventory of our culinary journey, you are most invited to visit balibeyondgourmet.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional and indigenous experience at The Laguna Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I am so happy to write a review on The Laguna,Nusa Dua. The hotel, staff , pools and gardens are spectacular. It is one of the best hotels that I have ever visited. I would also like to mention the 'Cornerstone' a very quaint coffee shop that also serves very good meals in a modern setting. In particular the Manager- Mr Aprin Sukarno and his assistant Mr Redika made us feel very welcome. I can hardly wait to visit this hotel again.

Pam and Rob (Sydney-Australia)

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Pamela S,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to learn that you had an exceptional and indigenous experience at The Laguna Resort & Spa and that you were satisfied with our resort and facilities.

It was a pleasure too to have you dined at Cornerstone and I am glad to hear that our team has taken care of you very well. I will gladly extend your positive feedback to the team at Cornerstone especially Aprin and Redika.

It is an honor to have you here and we look forward to seeing you again for another exceptional and indigenous experience at The Laguna Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel is not brand new, which people seem to want nowadays, but has a history and tradition behind it in the way of service. It reminds me of a grand old European hotel - all class.
The hotel is set in the most wonderful grounds of winding paths, mature trees and attractive shrubs. There is an abundance of wildlife, especially cheeky little squirrels which were delighful to watch from our bacony. We lashed out and had a lagoon acccess room, which meant we could walk out of the balcony (through a small childproof gate!) and jump straight into the pool.The lagoons are phenomenal, and pristine, they wind right around the hotel. As well there is a large children's pool - but no slides etc, - and a large pool with a small expanse of sand at one end, and an attractive waterfall at the other.
The Laguna is set right on the beach, which again is kept pristine - there are several guys employed to rake the sand, and to keep it leaf and litter free. Whilst we were there we were lucky to have fairly high tides with a few waves, as well as the usual shallow flat water. There is plenty of shade to lie under, with plentifull sunbeds, beach umbrellas and trees. The people selling things on the beach are very friendly, and once you have said no thank you, they smile and walk on. I became quite friendly with them as they accepted I did not want to purchase anything, having been to Bali several times already. The only drawback was that they were very chatty, (what a boring job, walking up and down all day in the heat) and I found it difficult to read more than a couple of paragraphs of my book at one time.
Less than 5 minutes stroll away is a place called the Bali Collection. It is a collection of shops and restaurants, with prices for food similar or slightly cheaper than Australia depending on where we ate. Do NOT expect Kuta prices. The rents at Nusa Dua are a lot more expensive, and they have captive and mostly well heeled customers anyway. However we frequented it 5 evenings of our ten day stay as it had much more atmosphere than the hotel. We went to CoCos twice, where they made delicious daiquiris for about $7 , and to MaiMai. The food everywhere there is quite average. The buffet breakfast at the Laguna is like all the other Starwood hotels we have stayed at, excellent variety and quality. The butler brought us tea and coffee with croissants at 8.30 every morning. If we breakfasted at about 10 o'clock it took us right through until late afternoon, when we would sit on our balcony and have a drink and a snack. (Plenty of places to purchase both at Bali Collection.) Again we often rang the butler for tea, as there are no facilities in the rooms for making your own.
We had room service three times, and the food was very good, I really enjoyed one of their hamburgers one evening and can recommend them. An example of prices of drinks in the hotel is $16 for a cocktail, and $12 for a Bingtan outside of happy hour.
The bedrooms are large and well appointed, with built in fridge, flat screen tv, DVD player, desk and chair, and also an armchair with matching footstool. There is plenty of room to stow suitcases right out of the way, also a good sized wardrobe with drawers and a safe.
The a/c was excellent, as was the hot water in the shower. The bathrooms also have a huge bath, but it took so long to fill I only used it once. A huge bonus for me was the normal hair dryer. Usually hotel hairdryers sound like mosquitos with very little power, and take ages to dry my thick hair. For the first time in my travels I was provided with a satisfactory salon type dryer. Top marks for that.
The only drawback with the hotel is the cost of food and drinks, but if you are a) happy to pay resort prices or b) eat outside of the hotel at the nearby Bali Collection, then this hotel cannot be beaten. As I said before, it is a bit older than the others close by, but it has class, very large rooms and a tradition of tremendous customer service. I would not stay anywhere else on Nusa Dua for a totally relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Indulge yourself with a lagoon access room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mctKalmundaWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear MctKalmundaWA,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write a thorough review on TripAdvisor

We really appreciate your very positive feedback regarding our resort, facilities, and its service and we are pleased to learn that we have contributed in some small way to making your stay at Laguna Resort & Spa a memorable and flawless experience.

We also appreciate your comment about the beach seller and will communicate with them to be more considerate of our guests’ privacy. In regards to the coffee and tea making facilities, it is available upon request through our butler and I regret this was not properly communicated to you when you were here with us.

We have noted your feedback regarding our food & beverage pricing and we are pleased to advise that we also have very competitive alternatives available. e.g., the lunch or dinner buffet options at either Banyubiru or Arwana are competitively priced with full buffet barbeque lunches at the beach. We certainly hope that you also had the chance to experience our Cornerstone, Deli, Vinothek & more… venue, which offers light meals, comfort food and/or take away options at very reasonable prices. Please also note that we display our prices throughout our venues as net prices, which means that the 11% government tax and 10% service charge, is already included in the price. This is not the case at most other establishments and therefore prices may appear higher at first sight. For the complete details of our culinary journey, you are invited to visit balibeyondgourmet.com

We do appreciate your compliments regarding all facets of our resort including our hospitality service. We will gladly share with the whole team and I am sure it will boost their spirit in giving a better service for your next stay here.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hated it hated it hated it! Don't get me wrong it was very plush (on the surface) but it could have been any big hotel anywhere in the world and it reeked of impersonal service and exhorbitant prices. When we arrived we were quite hungry after our journey and had two hamburger and chips, a battered prawn starter and four drinks at the beachside bistro bar and it costs us £100 - yes you heard me right £100. It came in a fancy wee box with tomato ketchup and mayo - and I now wish I had kept the 'fancy wee box' so I at least got something decent for my money.
Everything was charged for at the laguna including the cabanas lining the beach - every other resort we were in welcomed guest use for free.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable but everytime you wanted a cup of tea you had to call for your butler room service - a tad over the top - indeed the staff had an air of snobbery about them that even Queen Elizabeth would have problems matching.
The one saving grace at the hotel was their magnificient breakfast. A buffet selection at the on site restuarant in the middle of the complex. It was absolutely wonderful and the standard of , was definately five star - the choice included everything from sushi, to nasi goring to good old eggs and bacon but it was all done with panache.
We also opted to keep our room longer on the day of our departure which we paid extra for but they stuck in worn old robes and towels and I think this just summed them up - all front and little substance.
We also found the area around the hotel very sanitised to suit the Australian and American markets who were nervous after the 2003 bombing and was not really a reflection on the real Bali. However the local shopping area was pleasant with plenty of restuarants and shops. Indeed a lot of tourist stuff was cheaper here than anywhere else on the island.

Room Tip: It is such a sterile place it wouldn't really matter what room you were in.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AhrleneFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear AhrleneFerguson,

Thank you very much for being our guest and thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate to have received your feedback as it allows us to look into the areas we have failed to meet your expectations. It concerned me greatly that you have left with such a negative feeling. I have personally investigated the claim you made of being charged exorbitant prices at our beachfront bar and upon reviewing your bill it shows that you and your party consumed 2 hamburgers with fries, one club sandwich with fries, a dish of prawn tempura, 2 margaritas, 1 martini and 2 large bottles of bintan beer (equal to 4 regular bottles of beer) and were charged IDR1.225 million, an equivalent of GBP83.7 (as per current exchange rate). This contradicts somehow with your statement in your review and I would appreciate if you could contact me to discuss this further.

I would like to sincerely apologize if our butlers gave you a feeling as if they had an air of snobbery. This is certainly not reflecting the standards we try so hard to maintain and is certainly not in line with the positive comments we normally receive from our guests on our dedicated butler service. I have also discussed your comments about the quality of towels and bathrobes in your room with our Executive Housekeeper for immediate follow up.

On the other hand, I would like to thank you very much for your very kind comments about our breakfast buffets and rest assured our team was thrilled to learn of your positive remarks.

I hope that despite your less than perfect feeling about our resort, you will allow us to serve you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna in the not too distant future.


Yours sincerely,



Mark van Leeuwen

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We had a group of 20 people stay for 3 nights before our wedding in bali, the whole group had the best experience ever. Everything is 5 star and the service amazing, special thanks to Lisa who helped us check in. Butler service is great, pools many, everything clean and friendly. We also stayed after our honeymoon plans at the Nusa Dua Retreat fell through (Never book there) but when we came back to Laguna it felt like we were in paradise. Terima kasih & cant wait to see you again Laguna, your amazing

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doogie1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Doogie1882,

Warmest greetings from the Laguna Resort & Spa,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write about us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to learn that you and your team had a wonderful stay at The Laguna. It was an honor to be chosen as the preferred venue to spend one of your special moments with us and it is rewarding to learn that in some small way we have contributed to deliver you an exceptional and indigenous experience.

We do appreciate your positive feedback regarding our resort, facilities, and service. Our butlers have accepted many compliments from our valued guests and we appreciate this recognition since this is indicative of the acceptance of our commitment to deliver the best hospitality service.

For your kind reference, we would like to invite you to visit balibeyondgourmet.com for the complete details of our culinary journey.

Once again, we are so happy to have you and look forward to welcoming you back to experience the warmth and luxury of The Laguna Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews