We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little Paradise”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on business.
Rooms were great and the grounds were clean and impressive.
The restaurant food was great although we did have to wait longer than I would expect for our meals.

Room Tip: If you the noise of running water could annoy you then perhaps ask for a room away from the waterfal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Capt_mofo,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa.

Thank you for sharing some of your precious time to write a favorable review about us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your one night stay at with us and have departed our shore with such a good impression of our rooms and grounds. We do hope that you can stay any longer on your next visit to better experience the warmth and luxury of our Resort & Spa.

It concerned me that you were kept waiting for your food order. I have personally discussed this with our FB team and will ensure that improvement will be made to deliver a more efficient service to our valued guests. For your kind reference of our culinary journeys, you are most welcome to visit balibeyondgourmet.com.

We really appreciate your feedback since it provides us with the opportunity to revisit the areas we have failed to meet your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again for another exceptional and indigenous experience at The Laguna Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,020
    652
    204
    75
    48
See reviews for
622
1,628
86
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We spent a week at The Laguna en route for Australia. The staff were delightful, our ground floor room was very well equiped and comfortable and had direct access into one of the swimming pools. Our butler took great care of us during our stay. The grounds, gardens and pools are spectacular and beautifully cared for. Food was excellent especially breakfast, alcohol was a little on the expensive side, that aside we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only disappointing element is the beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Rogermb,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your one week stay at The Laguna Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our resort, the ground and service and we are thankful that everything we had offered you had exceeded your expectation.

Regarding the alcohol, we have tax issue in our country that makes alcohol price inevitably high. Somehow, please be advised that we display nett price for our food and beverage which means that the price has included 21% of government tax and service charge which are not the case of most other establishments.

We are also happy that you enjoyed your breakfast. For complete inventory of our culinary journey, you are most invited to visit balibeyondgourmet.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional and indigenous experience at The Laguna Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I am so happy to write a review on The Laguna,Nusa Dua. The hotel, staff , pools and gardens are spectacular. It is one of the best hotels that I have ever visited. I would also like to mention the 'Cornerstone' a very quaint coffee shop that also serves very good meals in a modern setting. In particular the Manager- Mr Aprin Sukarno and his assistant Mr Redika made us feel very welcome. I can hardly wait to visit this hotel again.

Pam and Rob (Sydney-Australia)

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Pamela S,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to learn that you had an exceptional and indigenous experience at The Laguna Resort & Spa and that you were satisfied with our resort and facilities.

It was a pleasure too to have you dined at Cornerstone and I am glad to hear that our team has taken care of you very well. I will gladly extend your positive feedback to the team at Cornerstone especially Aprin and Redika.

It is an honor to have you here and we look forward to seeing you again for another exceptional and indigenous experience at The Laguna Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel is not brand new, which people seem to want nowadays, but has a history and tradition behind it in the way of service. It reminds me of a grand old European hotel - all class.
The hotel is set in the most wonderful grounds of winding paths, mature trees and attractive shrubs. There is an abundance of wildlife, especially cheeky little squirrels which were delighful to watch from our bacony. We lashed out and had a lagoon acccess room, which meant we could walk out of the balcony (through a small childproof gate!) and jump straight into the pool.The lagoons are phenomenal, and pristine, they wind right around the hotel. As well there is a large children's pool - but no slides etc, - and a large pool with a small expanse of sand at one end, and an attractive waterfall at the other.
The Laguna is set right on the beach, which again is kept pristine - there are several guys employed to rake the sand, and to keep it leaf and litter free. Whilst we were there we were lucky to have fairly high tides with a few waves, as well as the usual shallow flat water. There is plenty of shade to lie under, with plentifull sunbeds, beach umbrellas and trees. The people selling things on the beach are very friendly, and once you have said no thank you, they smile and walk on. I became quite friendly with them as they accepted I did not want to purchase anything, having been to Bali several times already. The only drawback was that they were very chatty, (what a boring job, walking up and down all day in the heat) and I found it difficult to read more than a couple of paragraphs of my book at one time.
Less than 5 minutes stroll away is a place called the Bali Collection. It is a collection of shops and restaurants, with prices for food similar or slightly cheaper than Australia depending on where we ate. Do NOT expect Kuta prices. The rents at Nusa Dua are a lot more expensive, and they have captive and mostly well heeled customers anyway. However we frequented it 5 evenings of our ten day stay as it had much more atmosphere than the hotel. We went to CoCos twice, where they made delicious daiquiris for about $7 , and to MaiMai. The food everywhere there is quite average. The buffet breakfast at the Laguna is like all the other Starwood hotels we have stayed at, excellent variety and quality. The butler brought us tea and coffee with croissants at 8.30 every morning. If we breakfasted at about 10 o'clock it took us right through until late afternoon, when we would sit on our balcony and have a drink and a snack. (Plenty of places to purchase both at Bali Collection.) Again we often rang the butler for tea, as there are no facilities in the rooms for making your own.
We had room service three times, and the food was very good, I really enjoyed one of their hamburgers one evening and can recommend them. An example of prices of drinks in the hotel is $16 for a cocktail, and $12 for a Bingtan outside of happy hour.
The bedrooms are large and well appointed, with built in fridge, flat screen tv, DVD player, desk and chair, and also an armchair with matching footstool. There is plenty of room to stow suitcases right out of the way, also a good sized wardrobe with drawers and a safe.
The a/c was excellent, as was the hot water in the shower. The bathrooms also have a huge bath, but it took so long to fill I only used it once. A huge bonus for me was the normal hair dryer. Usually hotel hairdryers sound like mosquitos with very little power, and take ages to dry my thick hair. For the first time in my travels I was provided with a satisfactory salon type dryer. Top marks for that.
The only drawback with the hotel is the cost of food and drinks, but if you are a) happy to pay resort prices or b) eat outside of the hotel at the nearby Bali Collection, then this hotel cannot be beaten. As I said before, it is a bit older than the others close by, but it has class, very large rooms and a tradition of tremendous customer service. I would not stay anywhere else on Nusa Dua for a totally relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Indulge yourself with a lagoon access room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mctKalmundaWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear MctKalmundaWA,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write a thorough review on TripAdvisor

We really appreciate your very positive feedback regarding our resort, facilities, and its service and we are pleased to learn that we have contributed in some small way to making your stay at Laguna Resort & Spa a memorable and flawless experience.

We also appreciate your comment about the beach seller and will communicate with them to be more considerate of our guests’ privacy. In regards to the coffee and tea making facilities, it is available upon request through our butler and I regret this was not properly communicated to you when you were here with us.

We have noted your feedback regarding our food & beverage pricing and we are pleased to advise that we also have very competitive alternatives available. e.g., the lunch or dinner buffet options at either Banyubiru or Arwana are competitively priced with full buffet barbeque lunches at the beach. We certainly hope that you also had the chance to experience our Cornerstone, Deli, Vinothek & more… venue, which offers light meals, comfort food and/or take away options at very reasonable prices. Please also note that we display our prices throughout our venues as net prices, which means that the 11% government tax and 10% service charge, is already included in the price. This is not the case at most other establishments and therefore prices may appear higher at first sight. For the complete details of our culinary journey, you are invited to visit balibeyondgourmet.com

We do appreciate your compliments regarding all facets of our resort including our hospitality service. We will gladly share with the whole team and I am sure it will boost their spirit in giving a better service for your next stay here.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossmichael, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hated it hated it hated it! Don't get me wrong it was very plush (on the surface) but it could have been any big hotel anywhere in the world and it reeked of impersonal service and exhorbitant prices. When we arrived we were quite hungry after our journey and had two hamburger and chips, a battered prawn starter and four drinks at the beachside bistro bar and it costs us £100 - yes you heard me right £100. It came in a fancy wee box with tomato ketchup and mayo - and I now wish I had kept the 'fancy wee box' so I at least got something decent for my money.
Everything was charged for at the laguna including the cabanas lining the beach - every other resort we were in welcomed guest use for free.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable but everytime you wanted a cup of tea you had to call for your butler room service - a tad over the top - indeed the staff had an air of snobbery about them that even Queen Elizabeth would have problems matching.
The one saving grace at the hotel was their magnificient breakfast. A buffet selection at the on site restuarant in the middle of the complex. It was absolutely wonderful and the standard of , was definately five star - the choice included everything from sushi, to nasi goring to good old eggs and bacon but it was all done with panache.
We also opted to keep our room longer on the day of our departure which we paid extra for but they stuck in worn old robes and towels and I think this just summed them up - all front and little substance.
We also found the area around the hotel very sanitised to suit the Australian and American markets who were nervous after the 2003 bombing and was not really a reflection on the real Bali. However the local shopping area was pleasant with plenty of restuarants and shops. Indeed a lot of tourist stuff was cheaper here than anywhere else on the island.

Room Tip: It is such a sterile place it wouldn't really matter what room you were in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AhrleneFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear AhrleneFerguson,

Thank you very much for being our guest and thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate to have received your feedback as it allows us to look into the areas we have failed to meet your expectations. It concerned me greatly that you have left with such a negative feeling. I have personally investigated the claim you made of being charged exorbitant prices at our beachfront bar and upon reviewing your bill it shows that you and your party consumed 2 hamburgers with fries, one club sandwich with fries, a dish of prawn tempura, 2 margaritas, 1 martini and 2 large bottles of bintan beer (equal to 4 regular bottles of beer) and were charged IDR1.225 million, an equivalent of GBP83.7 (as per current exchange rate). This contradicts somehow with your statement in your review and I would appreciate if you could contact me to discuss this further.

I would like to sincerely apologize if our butlers gave you a feeling as if they had an air of snobbery. This is certainly not reflecting the standards we try so hard to maintain and is certainly not in line with the positive comments we normally receive from our guests on our dedicated butler service. I have also discussed your comments about the quality of towels and bathrobes in your room with our Executive Housekeeper for immediate follow up.

On the other hand, I would like to thank you very much for your very kind comments about our breakfast buffets and rest assured our team was thrilled to learn of your positive remarks.

I hope that despite your less than perfect feeling about our resort, you will allow us to serve you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna in the not too distant future.


Yours sincerely,



Mark van Leeuwen

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.7 km away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.8 km away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,456 reviews
1.8 km away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#17 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,435 reviews
0.6 km away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
4.2 km away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#6 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price range (per night): $199 - $365
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing