We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most terrible customer service even before you get there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most terrible customer service even before you get there!”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We bought a groupon voucher for our honeymoon at Sentosa Villa in Bali ran by the Indonesia Villa Property Co. they started by pushing us into another alternative that came out to be a complete rip off as not same standards at all. It is impossible to reach the hotel, they never aswer and when finally they did once, they closed the line on purpose to avoid dealing with our request. I have to say both groupon and Villa Indonesia refused to help. They really treat people badly and I would warn anyone going to Bali to ever stay with VIP especiialy the Nusa Dua retreat and spa!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maya466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    34
    13
    1
    16
See reviews for
7
63
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My husband and I have been to Bali many times over the past 25 years but this was our worst experience ever. The resort is not what it claims to be. It is not 5 star, it is possibly 3. The remoteness is fine if you want to be restricted to the villas with overpriced,very ordinary food and drinks. The pool is fine as long as you don't put your head under the water. The flies are worse than an Aussie bush BBQ. We did not use their driver pick up service because we were coming from Ubud but our taxi driver also had trouble finding the resort. We were so disappointed that we decided to return to Ubud. Even though we had a full day with a driver included in our Spreets package (which we had not used ) they would not provide a driver to take us back to Ubud. I also had trouble dealing with Villas Indonesia. They would not respond to emails and when you phone them you either get disconnected or put through to someone with limited English. Spreets are also not able to be contacted by phone and your complaints by email are just dismissed.Spreets you need to get the message that for every unhappy customer you will lose at least 10 more. The word is out!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Okay, first off the reviews seem all over the place. It's either 1 star or 5 star in most of the reviews. The way I see it is that the people who have given it 1 star are used to 5 star WESTERN places where everything is perfectly done. The people who gave it 5 stars are people like my partner and I who took advantage of a deal and researched it and knew what to expect. We are used to 3-4 star places in Australia so when we got here we were blown away. So this review is written from our point of view as middle class people!

The actual villa was amazing, 3 x huge tvs and HEAPS of space. Bed was insanely comfy and the room was pretty much sound proof when you close the glass doors on either side. The bath if gorgeous but did take a while to fill up on hot. It's Bali and things are never done perfectly so theres a couple things off like a kinda weird smell in the bathroom and the curtains not closing completely so a little light in the morning and some other very minor building faults. The pool was good fun with nice water features, refreshingly cold but a little slimey/mouldy on the edges. The rooftop was good for tanning with two sun beds and a little gazebo with couches under it if you prefer to stay out of the sun. It's pretty difficult for anyone to see in from our point of view, they need to go out of their way and even then you can only see half of the rooftop.

I can't even stress enough how isolated it is, it's in the middle of nowhere, but some people might like the serenity. It'll take at least 20 min to get most places. With spreets the driver for the day was awesome, we also hired him for the 2nd day (if you book with Spreets ask for Wayan from 'Mr. Rucky', he was amazing, took us WHEREVER we wanted and booked everything for us). As there isn't much to do at the hotel My suggestion would be to stay here max 4 nights and plan any day trips you are going to do such as lembongan island, bali safari and white water rafting for these days like we did. Otherwise, hire a driver and eat out and only spend mornings and night times in the villa. We paid 100,000 rupiah (about $12) to get there from kuta which isn't bad between two people.

The spa there was amazing and were lucky enough to get 3 hours of treatments EACH! The restaurant was nice but would never pay the prices there, only used our free nights dinner and that's all. The breakfast was awesome and includes continental no matter what you order, though not always on time, either early or late. The staff really do try, but can't speak english much at all so that makes it hard. Make sure you say things twice and double check they understand. The connections go to kuta (good, one in the morning and one about 2pm), the beach (never went but i'm sure it was nice), and bali collection (if you want to pay the same prices as home for things or just get lunch/dinner then go).

All in all, we really enjoyed our time at Nusa Dua Retreat!!! The value for the money we paid with Spreets was absolutely amazing and don't regret a minute of it!!!

Room Tip: We had number 24 where we only had to go outside and down stairs to the lobby, was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We were supposed to have been picked up from the airport. There was no one waiting for us. It took two international roaming calls and a number of local calls to get the driver to set out for the airport. Half an hour waiting later we were on our way to the most remote part of Bali. It is secluded, but it has no ocean view like claimed in the retreat's description. And the area stinks. There were no people at dinner - the stench is overpowering.
The villa that we were put in had a leak, the floor was wet. We were told there are 60 channels on the TV but the TV did not work. Neither did the wi-fi. The villa was locked in by other surrounding villas which created a feeling of a cave. Horrible. It was mostly dirty. Sun deck was on the roof and away from the pool. And it was exposed to other guessts from other villas. The villa is spacious. There is bathtub in the bathroom but there was no hot water.
The staff are clueless, unhelpful and stall. The phone in the room did not work so we had to order the room service by making yet another roaming call. Disastrous.
The menu is limited and extremely poor value. It's as if the proprietor realised that guests are fo the most part trapped and hence have no choice but to dine in the hotel. One of the best examples of price gouging I have come across. Travelling in Asia you mostly expect to be paying extravagant prices as a tourist while the same item is sold to locals for a tenth of the cost. But this resort took that to a new level.

If you want to pay lots and get very little and not feel like you are in Bali while actully being in Bali, this is the place.

And if you want to feel ripped off book it through Spreets.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlawekHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Beautiful private resort, beautiful staff,,,,, We were so lucky to be able to stay here on a spreets deal that included airport transfer, 3 hour massage, meals including afternoon tea, supper and private pool. It is set in the quiet hills overlooking nusa dua, and they have friendly shuttle service (and a very tempting scooter hire nearby). the package also included a driver for a day, the first day was so good we booked him for the next 2 days, he took us to Ubud, Turtle Island, Tenah lot , temples, monkeys forrest's, shopping, coffee and rice plantations and more temples and monkeys.,,,,and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kazaperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.1 km away
Bali Nusa Dua Hotel
Bali Nusa Dua Hotel
#22 of 54 in Nusa Dua
209 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Whiz Hotel Nusa Dua
Grand Whiz Hotel Nusa Dua
#30 of 54 in Nusa Dua
511 reviews
1.8 km away
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Tanadewa Luxury Villas & Spa
2.7 km away
Tjendana Villas Nusa Dua
Tjendana Villas Nusa Dua
#43 of 54 in Nusa Dua
61 reviews
2.0 km away
Park Hotel Nusa Dua
Park Hotel Nusa Dua
#35 of 54 in Nusa Dua
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa

Property: Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa
Address: Jl. Melasti II no. 88 | Kutuh, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#36 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price range (per night): $133 - $208
Hotel Class:5 star — Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nusa Dua Retreat Boutique Villa resort and Spa offers one-bedroom pool villas, extra large one-bedroom deluxe pool villas and a three-bedroom deluxe pool villa. Each villa has a living room, kitchen, roomy air-conditioned en suite bathroom and a large private pool. The pool villas also offer a rooftop sundeck ideal for soaking in Bali's tropical sunshine. A restaurant, private beach club, resort center pool and spa round up the retreat's complete range of facilities. Located in the charming hillside country of the Bukit Peninsula above the world class resort destination of Nusa Dua, the Nusa Dua Retreat affords views over the Indian Ocean ad features its own private beach club on the nearby secluded Kutuh Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nusa Dua Retreat Hotel Nusa Dua
Nusa Dua Retreat And Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing