We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gunung Batur volcano trek April 2009”
Review of Kuta

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
170 helpful votes
“Gunung Batur volcano trek April 2009”
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Gunung Batur volcano trek April 2009

The tour can start from any venue in Bali but the cost will vary. We started at Ubud and the tour was 250 000 r person. This included pick up and drop off at your hotel. For the trip you need shoes, warm top, comfortable walking clothes, torch and water. A reasonable level of fitness is required though there are lots of rest stops.

The driver picked us up at our hotel at 2 am driving for approximately one hour to reach the car park at Gunung Batur. At this point we met our guide. The torches provided weren’t very good but we had our own. The trek up to the crater edge to Gunung Batur 1 is in the dark. The walk is reasonably graduated and it becomes steeper in the last ½ hour. There are many points to rest along the way. If you need more rests tell the guide. Once you reach the top you are covered in perspiration which becomes icy cold with the altitude and cold breeze. You are now glad you have a warm top. If you are still cold there is a shelter to huddle inside from the wind.

The sun gradually rises from approximately 6 am. The mountains (Gunung Abang and Gunung Agung) and misty Danua Batur come into view with the increasing light. The sun rises over Gunung Rijini in Lombok as a fiery red ball. The ever increasing light creates a magical scene of the nearby and distant scenery. While you have been watching this glorious procession, your guide has been preparing a breakfast of banana jaffle and egg using volcanic heat.

Not long after the sun rises the mountain monkeys appear. During the cold night they have been huddling in the nearby volcanic crater next to a heat vent for warmth.

The next stage of the trek is an easy level walk along trails to Batur II and views of Batur III. Batur erupted periodically in 1999 to 2000.

The trial down starts on loose volcanic sand which softens the steepness of the track. Eventually it joins with the upward trail leading back to the carpark and your waiting driver.

Worse points: getting up early

Best points: views and feelings of achievement.

Helpful?
2 Thank rockterrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
9 helpful votes
“Kuta - dissapointing”
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I've just come back from my 1st trip to Bali and although it was only a short trip 5 days 4 nights I got to see 3 different towns and if it wasn't for Sanur, I don't think I would've considered going back to Bali...

so Kuta...

the positive: the variety and high density of bars and restaurants & it's cheap

the negative: full of tourists hence a high risk of being scammed by the locals, dirty town (including beach) & very smelly in some places, the infrastructure is also poor (watch out where you step especially in the dark because you may end up in a sewerage canal which flows under most footpaths and you can see it through the massive cracks and holes), it ISN'T a great shopping destination unless you're into same style T-shirts with "Bali" etc. printed all over them & cheap & tacky (penis key rings) souvenirs.

advice:

1. Money Exchange - do not fall for a higher rate @ the market or along the street because you WILL get scammed, it's usually teenage looking men and they are very clever with their hands so make sure that if you do end up changing money @ one of these places, count it in your hands and do not put the notes down on the table... a better option is to go to an Authorised Money Changer, the rate is normally couple of hundred rupiah lower but you will not need to worry or stress about getting ripped off, but still make sure you count the notes in your hands.

2. Beauty Salons - if you're after a PROFESSIONAL skin treatment try Miracle Aesthetic Clinic in Kuta Galeria, they're excellent with their massages, facials, manicure, pedicure, waxing, peels etc. the pricelist is very much the same as what you may find in the central hub of Kuta but this place is professionally equipped and staff is noticeably trained.

I've also come across a very dodgy salon and would not recommend it at all because it is not equipped (i.e. they use a big wooden spoon to apply leg wax for eye brow wax - scary stuff!), the quality of service is outrageous - not only are they girls absent minded whilst doing a massage (i.e. answering their mobile phones, stopping and having a loud chat to each other...) but they're also not very courteous in a way that they'll start offering you any other services or will even pull out jewellery to try and make you buy while you're laying there trying to relax...

3. Souvenirs - I found a very nice shop for any wooden souvenirs, the family makes and sells the goods together with 20 of their staff, they've been running this business for 30 years and are absolutely lovely to deal with: Tirtha Wangi, Jl Bakung Sari, www.balitirthawangi.com
DO NOT buy anything with traces of egg shell etc. the Australian customs WILL confiscate it and you will either have to pay $60 to get it radiated or let it go.

4. last but not least, beware of street blackouts, they do happen and last for 30min to an hour. A torch or a candle in your hotel room would definitely be a bonus!

Helpful?
4 Thank SuvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
11 helpful votes
“Experince marred by shops over charging”
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Generally my experience at Bali was marred by those shops selling very local make t-shirts,sarongs and handicraft.

Most shops along the Kuta stretch near Dynasty hotels sells similar items, so please do check a few shops to gauge the prices. You may think that you have enjoy a great bargain that the sellers give you 50% discount off the opening price but in actual fact there are other shops selling similar items that is sold at 1/3 of the price.

It may just be that $10 over dollars but its the feeling of getting overcharge makes you feel lousy.

Helpful?
2 Thank cyngernic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
29 helpful votes
“Not really worth it.”
Reviewed 17 April 2009

My wife and I just got back from a long trip to Bali and China. Everyone was telling us to go to Kuta Beach. We did, and our experience wasn't all that pleasant. The water is FOWL. Literally (or should I say LITTERally) we watched a guy riding down the line of a wave while trash floated up the face and almost knocked him down.

The only real redeeming quality this area has is the shopping. Shop keepers are extremely pushy, but you can get some really great deals if you have the patience. There are some great places to eat and get massages too.

The nightlife is similar to a classier Tijuana. Actually, it's more like Cancun nightlife. Fun, big party clubs and a lot going on. Not everyones cup of tea, but fun for a couple of nights.

There are so many other great places in Bali that overshadowed Kuta in our minds. I'll write more about those spots shortly. Ubud is one of them, as well as Uluwatu.

Helpful?
Thank Local_Maui_Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
57 helpful votes
“The Kuta Experience”
Reviewed 3 September 2006

I chose Kuta because it seemed a lively place. I was travelling with two teenage boys and we booked into the Hard Rock Hotel which is very near the thick of everything and close to the beach too. It had everything there we needed, surf, great beach, the usual markets (poppies), shopping (Matahari's in Kuta Square and the big shopping mall along the coastline of Kuta with all the usual brand names). It was easy to hire a driver for a day or so and see the whole of Bali and its culture. We travelled to Kintamani to see the volcanoes and rice paddys, we also went north for a whole day and took a cycling trip around the villages and rice paddy fields and took an hour ride on a elephant. We saw two great balienese/hindu dances in Ubud... the monkey dance and the fire dance. It was truly excellent and great value for 25,000 IR each. We also went snorkelling and at bbq seafood on the shores of simanyun (???). We were serenaded by a lovely bunch of musicians and watched the sunset fall. The only thing that possibly marred the whole bali experience was the hawkers. Some will just not take 'no' for an answer and will not leave you alone. On a few occasions it became unpleasant and it made me not want to look at any shops They watch your every move and if they even catch you looking at their shop then many will pester you to death. I didn't like the idea that some see tourists simply as a wallet. Yes its very cheap in comparison to western prices but that's no excuse to be looked upon as fodder. I have to say though, that apart from that we had a truly great time. The Balinese are very welcoming and security is good. As for the bombs, well this is a word wide issue and could happen anywhere. I don't see why terrorism should prevent anyone from going about their business as they usually would, if it does then they've won. That's my philosophy anyway.

Helpful?
1 Thank joanne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos