We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel but not so accessible” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach
Ranked #83 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean hotel but not so accessible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with a group of friends. We saw the website featuring the new, modern rooms with orange highlights but when we reached, our rooms didn't look like that. We were told the "modern" rooms were booked out so we were put in "traditional" designed rooms instead. Obviously those "traditional" rooms are in the old wing which is further away from the lift, depending on your room number, it can be quite a long walk! so make sure you highlight this during your booking.
The traditional room wasn't that bad except "traditional" design; beds & pillows were clean. 3 of us were haring a room but the 3rd bed wasn't set up in the room even though I believed it was mentioned during the booking. But it was sent to the room shortly while we were settling in, extra pillows were sent to us promptly too. We got clean towels everyday.
Staffs were friendly in general. The hotel has an open lobby area, linking to the coffee house, with indoor and outdoor seating over looking to the courtyard and pool area. Breakfast spread was wonderful every morning except the bacon~ they had a pancake station where you can get french toast, waffle, pancake and omelet.
The hotel is not visible from the main road, you have to walk approx 200 meter inward to reach the lobby (plus point - it's very quiet) If you have been to Patong in Phuket or Krabi Ao Nang beach road, then Kuta beach road is just like that! Don't expect beach front resort. You won't find any for the whole stretch. All the hotels and restaurants are located on one side of the road, crossing the road, you'll come to the beach where you can do some surfing, surf boards are available for rent. There are McDonald, 24hours mart and ample of restaurants nearby the hotel - another plus point. Hard Rock cafe is not far away too.
Kuta beach road is a one way street (most of the roads in Bali are one way) and over crowded leading from Matahari shopping area. We were in our tour van most of the time, going back to the hotel is a dread. Traffic is a nightmare, so ditch the cars. From the hotel you can walk north to Legian and Seminyak (30min at least) where there are many boutiques. Or, just opt to stay in any of these two places, accessibility is much better!

Room Tip: Get the Modern room Hotel is far from main road, so it's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aby112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKB01, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and time to write a comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay due to the room type that did not meet your requirements. During that period, the room category that you booked was sold out and it is unfortunate that it happened during your stay.

Furthermore, we were happy to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the room, our staff services, and the selections of breakfast.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for choosing HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach. We hope to welcome you back to our resort in a near future.

Thanks again for your comments and be assured that every point is taken seriously to help us improve our services.

Friendly regards,
Virginie Tutin Sandstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    395
    232
    61
    40
See reviews for
409
186
27
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We recently stayed at Harris Kuta Beach twice during our stay in Bali.

Upon arrival at midnight, check in was speedy, and we were taken to our room, where unfortunately our 3rd bed we had requested and paid for was not set up, upon request a staff member swiftly prepared our 3rd bed. We had a room close to the construction site next door, where they were working 24hours around the clock, luckily for us we weren't light sleepers, but if you are, request a room away from the construction.

Other than that, our 5 night stay was faultless, breakfast has a big enough range, music & service by the pool is good, staff are friendly, and walk into kuta square no more than 10 mins.

I wish these were our lasting impressins. When we returned 4 night later for a 4 night stint, we requested a room away from the construction site, and unfortunately were given a bottom floor room that smealt like mould and left everything feeling damp. After 2 nights everything in the room felt wet, the beds were sticky and damp and the smell was enough to turn you off, so we requested a move to an upper floor, which they promptly organised.

We moved up to the new room for our final 2 nights, only to be burdened with constant power failures, where by our A/C and power cut out every hour. We rang front desk every time it happened and they sent maintenance to fix the problem. As we couldn't be bothered moving rooms again we put up with it.

All in all, there were alot of positives for Harris, but these few negatives left us with a bad taste.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oztraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKB01, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and time to write comments of your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com.

Your precious reviews have been taken seriously to help us provide better services and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused of this exceptional situation. During this period, we had a technical issue with the electricity in your room and it is very unfortunate.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for choosing HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach. We do hope that you will give us another chance in the future to serve you better.

Friendly regards,
Virginie Tutin Sandstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I've just returned from Bali and from staying at the Harris Hotel Kuta Beach. Totally dissapointed- firstly it advertises it as being on the beach but it is actually quite a walk to the beach down the road/ path which is now part of the construction site of the hotel/ shopping centre being built next door. I thought this was quite danderous and at times as we walked down the road had sparks and things flying at us!
The Hotel lacked atmosphere, staff weren't overally friendly liked I've found at other hotels and the rooms were average for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKB01, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and time to write a comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and for our service that did not meet your expectations.

Thanks again for your comments and be assured that every point is taken seriously to help us improve our Services.

Friendly regards,
Virginie Tutin Sandstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My Partner and i stayed here September 2011 we found the staff amazing very helpful and friendly.

it was ideal location for my fav pizza place Warung 96 and beach access was close to.
to get to the beach is a little walk but it is along a foot path out so there is no traffic which makes it easy.

we got a room that was not the best but we went and spoke to the desk and they upgraded us to a much nicer locatio. ps the rooms was fine just had a few little issues i.e water leak in bathroom.

The pool was nice, plus they offered activities and such for entertainment. I would stay here again infact i am due back there in April 2012.

Room Tip: Get a room 2nd level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKB01, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and time to write a comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed most of your stay with us.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for choosing HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach. We hope to welcome you back to our resort in a near future.

Friendly regards,
Virginie Tutin Sandstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Harris Kuta is located near Pantai Kuta. Its not exactly in front of e beach but its actually across e beach. Location wise its a bit of walking distance if u were to walk from e hotel to where food n shopping places were located. It took abt 5-10 min walking distance to hard rock hotel. Alot of shops are located abt 5mins away from hard rock hotel and if u were to walk to legian area, where alot of nightlife activities, like bar, pub, discotique n cafe were, u could go thru poppies lane 2 and its abt 10-15 mins walk to reach tat area. If u enjoy bali nightlife then its recommended to stay at hotel near legian area (lots of options are available), not kuta area., coz when u r drunk/tipsy then its a way long walk to go back to harris hotel. Taxi is always available in all kuta and legian area but e traffic is bad, it is way better to walk then taking taxi if its reachable by walking.
The hotel itself is nice and comfie. Breakfast is good with varities of selection from asian to western. Soap smells nice with orange flavour, but bathtub doesn't look like a 4star hotel but rather a 2-3 star. Room floors are always full of sands when we came back, its not been cleaned properly. and I hated e small orange pillow on e bed, it STINKS really bad like its never been washed for years. Super bad smell and i had to throw it away from e bed everytime we came back and e sofa too, its a bit stinky. I love e aromatheraphy though, placed beside e bed, with tat u could sleep comfortably.

Room Tip: It is advisable to buy mineral water from outside rather than cooking it inside e room, e water tas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKB01, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and time to write a comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com.

Your precious reviews have been taken seriously to help us provide better services and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Indeed some of our bathtubs are in need of renovation and the partial refurbishment is under process. We will give more training to our team to ensure better services in terms of cleanliness. Also we would like to inform you that the bottle opener is available on each of the bathroom door frame and we would not recommend drinking from the tap water.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for choosing HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach.

Friendly regards,
Virginie Tutin Sandstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.5 km away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#80 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.3 km away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
0.1 km away
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#69 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 km away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach

Property: HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach
Address: Jl. Pantai Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#43 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#56 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price range (per night): $72 - $96
Hotel Class:4 star — HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach is strategically located, only few steps away from famous Kuta Beach and exciting nightlife of Legian street, also direct walking access to new retail & lifestyle hub - "beachwalk". The Resort features 191 rooms and suites equipped with LCD flat TV with cable television and free WIFI in all Resort's premises. It is fit for holiday destination with a free-form swimming pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens and a kid's pool with waterslide. Free fun daily activities are available by the poolside as well as free Dino Kid's Club for 3 - 12 years old and enjoy relaxing body treatments at H'Spa and Happy Feet Reflexology. For dining selection, HARRISSIMO Pizza & Pasta and HARRIS Cafe offer a wide range of Indonesian, Asian, and International specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Kuta Beach Hotel Kuta
Harris Hotel Kuta Bali
HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing