We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 3:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Humble Bali Cooking Experience with Maria

It was truly a local balinese cooking experience at Maria's home. She was very welcoming and... read more

Reviewed 28 January 2020
SandraW2408
,
Singapore, Singapore
Fantastic authentic food class

We had such a good time with Maria, only the 2 of us, so it was intimate too. Maria took us to the... read more

Reviewed 11 January 2020
h_l_nell2015
,
Marseille, France
Read all 107 reviews
  
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
67
29
5
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
67
29
5
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Maria is such a great person.
She taught us a lot of dishes with a lot of patience.
We recommand this cooking class with her as you will learn many local secrets and will enjoy tasting what you cooked at the end.

Thanks again for everything Maria,
Eytan from France

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank ateam454
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

She was very sweet,we learned a lot, it was really a great time to spend there. We cooked quite long.
She gave us all the recipies,and we could choose the meals.
Her english wasnt the best, but i recommend her.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Blanka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2015

Fascinating day. We actually booked for four hours but finished up doing nearly eight. Started at a market where a lot of unfamiliar fruit and vegetables were pointed out. Then back to Maria's tiny rooms to get cracking. we made five or six dishes as a sort of group effort, Rendang, very complex and quite hard work, a chicken dish whose name I forget, but rather sweet, begedel - a sort of vegetable fritter, gado-gado and chicken sate.
We then ate as much as we could but there was quite a lot left.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank LanceBombardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBuurman, Guest Relations Manager at Maria's Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Thanks for your wonderful review for Maria's Cooking Class Bali.
Maria now has a Facebook page that will keep people up to date with her cooking classes prices and information.
Please feel free to share this page - www.facebook.com/mariascookingclassbali
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

Wow, what a wonderful day with a wonderful host. The class was hands on, informative, and oh so delicious! Maria is simply lovely, making sure we were all well looked after. The food was soooo good. A depth of flavour no sauce mix could hope to emulate. It was the most enjoyable experience of our stay. I looked at many different classes, and I am very glad I went with a local home cook. The food was better than I have had in restaurants. Support local!

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBuurman, Guest Relations Manager at Maria's Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Thanks for your wonderful review for Maria's Cooking Class Bali.
Maria now has a Facebook page that will keep people up to date with her cooking classes prices and information.
Please feel free to share this page - www.facebook.com/mariascookingclassbali
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Maria is a great cook and guide, with good knowledge of local produce and Indonesian cuisine. We enjoyed a trip to the market, then preparing and cooking 5 dishes.
It was a very hands on, down to earth experience. Recommended for anyone that would like a truly 'local' and traditional cooking class. A really authentic adventure!

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank WiseDamonWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBuurman, Guest Relations Manager at Maria's Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Thanks for your wonderful review for Maria's Cooking Class Bali.
Maria now has a Facebook page that will keep people up to date with her cooking classes prices and information.
Please feel free to share this page - www.facebook.com/mariascookingclassbali
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews