We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 3:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Humble Bali Cooking Experience with Maria

It was truly a local balinese cooking experience at Maria's home. She was very welcoming and... read more

Reviewed 28 January 2020
SandraW2408
,
Singapore, Singapore
Fantastic authentic food class

We had such a good time with Maria, only the 2 of us, so it was intimate too. Maria took us to the... read more

Reviewed 11 January 2020
h_l_nell2015
,
Marseille, France
Read all 107 reviews
  
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
67
29
5
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
67
29
5
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2015

My husband and I did a cooking class with Maria a couple of years ago and absolutely loved the entire experience. She has amazing cooking talent, teaches you a lot, food is yummy and her house is very clean. We've cooked the recipes back in Aus and they turned out fabulously! We are returning to Bali this year and we will be returning to cook with Maria!

Date of experience: April 2014
1  Thank Sian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBuurman, Guest Relations Manager at Maria's Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Thanks for your wonderful review for Maria's Cooking Class Bali.
Maria now has a Facebook page that will keep people up to date with her cooking classes prices and information.
Please feel free to share this page - www.facebook.com/mariascookingclassbali
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2015

I went to Maria's cooking class by myself when my husband went diving. She came and pick me up from the hotel and we went straight to her house because it was raining that morning so we weren't able to go shopping at the market. Her place was tiny but she kept it clean. She taught me how to make Nasi Goreng and a few more dishes that I couldn't remember the names lol I'd definitely recommend her to my friends if they want to try cooking class in Bali. Please please give it a try. It's so much fun :)

Date of experience: November 2014
1  Thank SunsetBldvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBuurman, Guest Relations Manager at Maria's Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Thanks for your wonderful review for Maria's Cooking Class Bali.
Maria now has a Facebook page that will keep people up to date with her cooking classes prices and information.
Please feel free to share this page - www.facebook.com/mariascookingclassbali
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015

I went to Maria's cooking class with my husband and two children. (There were also another two people in the class the same day as us). We all loved experiencing traditional food in Maria's home. Even though Maria's home is small and facilities are very basic ( she keeps things very clean ) she was able to teach us to prepare and cook six meals of our choosing. They were all delicious! Maria's is a fabulous cook and a great, patient teacher explaining everything even the medicinal qualities of the different herbs and spices we were using.
Even though there where six of us in the lesson we were all able to have a go at everything and easily fit around Maria's table to both prepare and eat the food. Cooking was outside.
I would definitely recommend Maria's cooking class and if we come back to Bali would do it again.

Date of experience: January 2015
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 December 2014

We found this activity through Voyagin’s website. We had a special keen interest in cooking and thought that dedicating a few hours of our last days in Bali learning a valuable skill sounds great. (Past few days, we jam packed our iteneary with Watersports, Horse riding and ATV). After paying and booking for this event online via credit, we liased with Maria directly through emails.

Maria cycled to our hotel, Citadines Kuta Beach. She was puntual. We got on a cab to her place. It took around 20 mins due to heavy traffic around Kuta area. The cooking lesson was held in her home. A decent place with basic living facilities and traditional cooking wares. It is just Maria and the both of us.

Maria handled us each a stack of her own copies of recipes including the ones we are going to be cooking that day and many more. She also showed us a folder of her self designed illustrations of ingredients and portioning.

Lesson was fundamental, beginning with portioning and getting to know the basic ingredients such as garlic, shallots, nutmeg, coriander, chilli and etc which forms the soul of Indonesian cuisine.

After her explanations, some photos taking and portioning, the real work began. We were guided on creating the paste of the four dishes we selected prior to the lesson; Chicken Bumbu Bali, Chicken Bumbu Rujak, Beef Semur and Vegetables Tumis. Also, she showed us how to steam rice traditionally. Creating the paste for each dish is grueling for us (over reliance on modern day blenders!), however, Mariah finish up our grinded paste effortlessly.

Later on, we started cooking outdoors at her front porch. It was fun, Mariah was like a grandmother to us. We chatted with her over lunch, tasting our own creations. Surprisingly, the food tasted great, thanks to the close supervision during the whole process.

Lesson ended on time at 1300. We thanked Maria and headed off to our next destination!

Thank you Maria for the invaluable skill and time spent together knowing one another during lunch. An awesome activity to do with your family.

Additional Info:
The cooking class is based on cuisine from Indonesia, not just balinese cuisine!
Our scheduled was tight so lesson was short. We recommend booking online in advance, it helps Maria prepares the ingredients for the lesson before hand. Thumbs up!

Date of experience: December 2014
5  Thank JohanEzran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Maria teaches Indonesian cooking in her small apartment, typical of local residences. No frills, just traditional cooking methods. We did two chicken dishes, one beef dish, and a vegetable dish. All were very good. It was really interesting learning how to make the spice pastes from scratch. Grinding everything into the correct consistency is harder than it looks.

The visit to a local market before going to her home was interesting. Lots of things there we never see in US markets.

Recommended, just don't expect a resort style setting or a fancy kitchen.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank jpkeenanjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews