We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveller rating
504
109
20
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
109
20
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages sunken bath outdoor bathroom garden setting breakfast delivered quiet oasis lush tropical busy kuta the hustle and bustle every morning hidden paradise ceiling fan beautiful pool dvd player room service airport pick kuta beach
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 637 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018

I tried a previous review but trip advisor did not publish.. I was curious as some places get undeservedly good reviews..

This place is ok and the breakfast at the rooms is nice , they manage mosquitoes scrupulously , and the room is ok ish .. but the lane would be a pedestrian only in any western country, instead it Isa 9 feet wide two way motorcycle rat run, this pollutes the narrow area, is hazardous most of all to the stall owners who have to breathe the fumes.

Going anywhere is hard work dodging the motorbikes and you have no choice once outside poppies. Kuta itself is pretty downmarket and this just adds to the feeling that this is not a paradise island , here anyway!

Don’t be assured of a airport pick up. Mine didn’t arrive and I had to deal with the mele of overcharging “taxi “ drivers .. Bali tourist authority should sort this out as it sets the scene very badly on arrival. Most of the taxi drivers have no idea where they are going anyway and often stop to ask.

So if you like Kuta poppies might be ok but you have to run the gauntlet of poppies lane.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank clownfishUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Clownfish,

Thank you for taking the time to give us and our readers your observations and rating based on our surroundings - beginning with your heading - rather than our hotel, about which you speak favourably, and for which we are grateful!

We only wish we could manage our surroundings too, but unfortunately that’s an impossible dream. I can assure you that Paradise Bali actually still exists, but nobody would disagree that it’s a little harder to discover these days, what with all today’s traffic, which incidentally is also the scourge of much of today’s world!

Of course Poppies Lane should be pedestrians-only - but then how would you have been able to arrive at and depart from our nice little hotel, which predated all the traffic? Believe me, all these things have been thought about and considered for decades already, while Bali has become busier and busier!

We’re sorry about the airport meet-and-greet mixup - it normally works like clockwork, but on this occasion you did not persevere with finding our driver, and opted for a taxi - something we are at pains to discourage all our guests from doing, at the time of booking. We might conclude that your Kuta stay got off to a bad start from this point. What a pity.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Poppies is an excellent hotel. Based on our experience it is in top position due to genuine customer reviews. Nice and quiet, in the centre of Kuta! Lovely breakfast and excellent staff along with quality comfortable beds. Our air-con broke down and was fixed within hours, they had someone on site who could take it apart, diagnose the problem and replace an electronic component. Not an easy task, such expertise in a small hotel. Although not a modern hotel everything was maintained to high standards, quite an achievement when they are not charging Shangri-La or Manderin Oriental prices. I'm really impressed with Poppies.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank J123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation - especially given that something went badly wrong during your stay!

It's true that we place great emphasis on maintenance, and we have 4 full-time engineers taking care of Poppies Cottages as well as Poppies Restaurant. You noted that we are not a modern hotel - maintaining a 'traditional' style hotel is actually a far more costly and time-consuming business than keeping an eye on a modern one. But it's all part of keeping Poppies unique!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Going through the gateway from The busy lane into the oasis of calm that is Poppies is a bit like something out of Harry Potter!!
You leave the bustle and enter a beautiful garden of peace and calm with only the sound of running water and birdsong. Simply magical!

The thatched cottages have clean, well presented rooms with all mod cons, and the bathrooms - with a sunken bath- have a portion of their roof open to the sky (netted off to stop insects getting in), which allows a little bathroom garden to flourish! Each cottage had its own private covered patio where you can have breakfast served - to the sound of the early morning birdsong.

The staff can’t do enough to help you and perhaps the combination of setting, comfort, and attention is why we keep coming back.

Unbeatable!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank holintel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

It's always our enormous pleasure to welcome you back to Poppies! And we know that you actually fly for many hours, just to stay with us again - really appreciated by all of our Team!

We'll keep on making sure that our standards are maintained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Poppies is located in a very narrow busy street of Kuta. Right from the entrance to the Cottages everything is very very unique.... Its like living in a forest resort. Every cottages are surrounded by lush greenery. The staff is very nice, welcoming and helpful. This place is very quite and peaceful. If you are looking for a relaxing and peaceful environment with sate of the art property, Poppies is the place you should be at. Coming soon Poppies.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KunalJ213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

We're very grateful for your kind words, and we're so glad you enjoyed staying at Poppies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

My husband and I stayed in December. We loved this hotel. It was like a little haven in the middle of busy Kuta. The staff are warm and friendly, the pool is to die for and not too hot like other pools we visited. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean and everything is replaced daily. We will definitely be back

Room Tip: We loved room 12, easy access to pool.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KathyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you for writing us a lovely review. We truly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews