We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,046)
Filter reviews
1,046 results
Traveller rating
426
396
140
42
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
396
140
42
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentra taumseminyak squarepotato headduplex roompool view studiow hotelday bed on the balconysmall kitchenetterooftop barsun loungersbeautiful poolstayed here for nightspool area ismain poolegg stationspacarliz
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,046 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We travelled as 2 families with older children (well adults really).

The hotel is on a quieter backroad, about 15 mins walk from Semenyak, which suited us fine and it is built in a Balinese style. Semenyak itself is overcrowded with little real infrastructure and regular traffic problems. Very crowded in the evenings if you like that type of thing.

We were checked in quite quickly and the rooms were in a quieter area at the rear of the hotel. The room was a decent size with a a large bath, more like a wet room area really. It was all cleaned daily and was in decent repair. The TV had a large selection of UK film channels which was good when you'd had too much sun. There was also a fridge and tea making facilities. Air con worked well.

On the first evening we charged items to our room, then we had a phone call at 11 at night that I had to go down and pay immediately as we had exceeded our limit??. From the ensuing discussion it appears that this must be one of the only hotels in the world that doesn't allow you to build up a credit and pay it at the end!

Although this was quite annoying it did encourage us to look elsewhere for food and drinks. There are a couple of nice restaurants over the road, one does a great cross section of food the 'Carliz' and the other does nice burritos, both well worth a visit and much cheaper (about 1/2 price).

Breakfast at the hotel was very good with the usual Asian dishes, but with fruits, cereals, breads and egg counter. Other meals that we had at the hotel were OK, with the usual premium for eating in the hotel. The drinks did appear to be a little pricey however with cocktails normally priced at about £11 each.

Staff were generally very good and extremely friendly and courteous, helping us out on a number of occasions. Special call out to Utami and Crisna on the front desk.

The pool and surrounding area was a lovely oasis in the local area and is quite well maintained and was rarely overcrowded. One issue which was a little annoying was the apparent business area next to the hotel which seemed to have a guy angle grinding, on and off, across the week that we were there (either that or his house will be a pile of dust at the end of the summer!).

There are a number of lifts across the buildings which never seemed busy, and the rooftop bar gave lovely panoramic views across the surrounding area and to the sea. A great area to watch the local bats in the early evening! And you get a great view of the local rice fields.

Overall, considering the deal that we got, this hotel was very satisfactory, barring a few items mentioned.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mickeybUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taum_Resort_Bali, General Manager at Taum Resort Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear MickeyUK,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I have noted your comments with regards to unexpected call from our Front Desk at 11 at night. I have since asked for our Front Office Manager to remind our front desk staff to refrain from calling the guest after 8 pm. I understand that the call made was to verify the exceeded limit of credit that guest entitle to with no guarantee. Front Desk staff should have explained and asked the guest on check-in should guest wish to enjoy further credit arrangement, they were required a card verification of their credit card as a guarantee.

I was sorry that you felt you did not receive good value for money during your stay with us. We do keep our prices as low as possible but could not compete with outside restaurants and bars, which do not have our overheads and are not subject to the same tax and service regulations as a four star hotel.

I was sorry for the disturbance from the angle grinding of our neighbor. We have approached and spoken to them to find other option to do the work far from our pool area but it was unsuccessful.

Despite of the above matters, I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and have found our staff very good, friendly,courteous and helpful. Thank you for your compliment for Utami and Chrisna our Front Desk staff. They were very delighted to hear how much you enjoyed their services.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

Kind regards
Wayan Garutma Utama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Got a very cheap deal with flights and accommodation included, so wasn't sure what to expect. Didn't start off well as we requested 2 beds and was given a room with 1 king bed. They fixed this by turning the couch into a bed, and if I was to judge the nights sleep on that couch, it would be a BIG FAT 1 ! not comfy at all !!

But as it was Virgins fault, Not the villas I wont complain too much. Also it was raining extremely heavy the day we arrived and discovered our room had a leaking window to add insult to injury.

On a plus it had a nice pool and the breakfast area is directly in front of it. Its also very private and away from the action. The Villa we are given was 2 levels with the bed room up stairs and lounge room (now a second bedroom) down stairs. With a window looking down from the upstairs bedroom which could lead to some funny pranks on the sleeping victim below.

Its right between seminyak square and the beach clubs, but a bit of a walk for either, luckily taxis are very cheap in Bali.

Room Tip: Make sure you call before hand to double check bed configuration if booked through a airline.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mikeygelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taum_Resort_Bali, General Manager at Taum Resort Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Mikeygelo,

Thank you for having taken the time to convey your recent experience at Taum Resort Bali.

I apologized for the inconvenience you encountered by not having the room with twin bed and had to sleep on the uncomfortable sofa bed.

I have asked for our Front Office Manager to train our front desk staff to anticipate this kind of problem on the first stage by verifying the reservation when assigning the room and confirming to the guest on arrival before rooming the guest. I understand that we have limited number of room with twin bed configuration and I assumed that this type of room was running out when you arrived. Alternatively, we can set up a proper extra bed in the guest room.

Once again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Taum Resort Bali.

Kind regards,
Wayan Garutma Utama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

This was our second visit to Taum resort as friends we met there last September decided to get married in Bali. Breakfasts are still very good, staff are helpful and friendly, rooms are quite adequate we had a Duplex apartment with private pool this time. Pool is OK usually plenty of sun beds but pool is in shadow a lot of the time. Worthy of mention Chef Sugi and on management team Marcel.Would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hopkinstownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taum_Resort_Bali, General Manager at Taum Resort Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Hopkinstownboy,

Thank you for being a returnee at Taum Resort Bali. It gives me great pleasure to note that your stay has been a pleasant one.

Thank you for your compliment to Chef Sugi and our Front Office Manager, Marcell. They are very delighted to hear how much you enjoyed their services.

We really appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Taum Resort Bali.

Best regards,
Wayan Garutma Utama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Stayed here for eight days as part of package from well known known travel site and this review is written in the context of the price paid for the trip. I'll start by saying if you are seeking the last word in luxury then look elsewhere and pay a LOT more for the privilege. Now I've got that out of the way, the reality is that this is a great little Hotel base for a trip to Bali. As others have said there are a few minor maintenance issues such as the odd cracked tile around the pool but really not a lot to stress over, and it certainly didn't spoil my stay. We had a lovely room overlooking the pool with a day bed on the balcony which was great to relax on after a hard days sightseeing. The air conditioning in the room was very effective and not too noisy. I can see that some other rooms probably wouldn't have such a pleasant outlook so if you are planning to spend a lot of time in your room then select carefully. The location of the Hotel is great. It is around a 15 minute walk to seminyak square and the beach in a quieter location which is a good thing as it is a little frenetic and noisy in the centre of Seminyak. If you don't want the walk there is a free shuttle bus from the Hotel three times a day but you have to make your own way back and taxis are everywhere if you need one. Again, if you like to step directly onto the beach from your hotel then bear this in mind. Breakfast was good with a reasonable selection of European and Asian dishes including eggs cooked to order. As others have said the staff were without exception lovely. Polite, courteous, humble and always had the time to say hello. They were amongst the best staff I have ever encountered in any hotel and a real credit to the hotel. The pool area is pleasant for a days relaxing, there were just about enough sunbeds for the number of guests but were fully utilised on some days. So summarising this this is a good comfortable hotel with lovely staff. There are a few minor issues but bearing in mind the price that you will have paid it is really difficult to complain and for value for money alone it would get five stars.

Finally some guests may require a driver to visit the sights around the island and if, like me, you were concerned about finding a good reliable driver then don't worry. I can wholeheartedly recommend Wayan, who is based at the hotel. He is a driver employed by the hotel but also helps out around the hotel when not driving. We stumbled across him by accident when making enquiries about excursions at hotel reception where he was working that night. After discussing a few options for possible itineraries we took the plunge and booked him for three and a half days. Best decision of the holiday! He was fantastic. Wayan helped us work out a realistic schedule what could be achieved in the time we had (I was a little ambitious) and also made some suggestions for visits that we had overlooked. Throughout our three and a half days Wayan was always polite, considerate and and gave us a great insight into the history, culture and familly life in Bali. He was chatty and humourous but gave us a little space when we wanted it and accommodated changes to our schedule obligingly. As an added bonus he escorted us around the various temples and sights taking away the usual tourist hassles and was also a very knowledgeable guide. It seems that nearly everybody in Bali is called Wayan but as far as I am aware he was the only Wayan at he hotel so if you want to book him, just ask at the hotel reception. He is probably a little more expensive than drivers you could find in the street as working through the hotel but really worth every penny. Wayan, if you are reading this, thank you so much for everything you did for us. You made a great trip to Bali special and left us with so many happy memories.

Room Tip: Poolviewrooms are good.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank andywaring1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taum_Resort_Bali, General Manager at Taum Resort Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Andywaring1,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments about your experience at Taum Resort Bali.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and have found our staff polite, courteous and humble.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Taum Resort Bali a leader in excellence.

We are also happy that you have found our breakfast selection was good.

I was delighted to read your remark concerning Wayan, our Bell Driver. Your compliment has been passed along to Wayan.

Once again thank you for your candid feedback and comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind regards
Wayan Garutma Utama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We spent 8 nights here as part of a deal we found on a travel website. In a way I cant really fault this hotel as the holiday deal we got was such unbelievably amazing value. Either way we had a fantastic holiday in Bali, its a wonderful country with some of the friendliest warmest people we have ever met. We will definitely be returning to Bali, although we would stay at another hotel (but that is just personal choice).
The hotel location is OK, but its easy enough to get to the shops, beach, restaurants etc. Plus the taxis are frequent and cheap - only use Bluebird though!
Yes the hotel is a little rough around the edges, maintenance issues, things not working, unpleasant smells, a lift that only takes 2 average sized people when it says it can take 6. But it does the job and if your on one of the brilliant deals its great value for money. The staff are absolutely lovely and cant do enough for you - they are the real star of the show. In a way the hotel doesn't do them justice as they are 5 *****.
There is a great bar next to the hotel called the Hi Bar which does lovely food, great drinks and beers and they are very accommodating and friendly. Worth stopping by.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Harripops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taum_Resort_Bali, General Manager at Taum Resort Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Harripops,

Thank you for having taken the time to write about your recent experience at Taum Resort Bali.

We have taken your comments very seriously with regards to maintenance issues, things not working, unpleasant smells and the lift problem. We appreciate your feedback and we will endeavour to improve in those areas you highlighted.

Despite from the above matters, I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the friendliness of the staff.

I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Wayan Garutma Utama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews