We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with good location, but could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Ranked #60 of 254 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here in Jan 2018 for 1 night.
Book this hotel as it listed as the cheapest 5-stars hotel in the area. Somehow in their guest book I read that they are positioning themselve as 4-stars hotel. Don't know which one is true.

Here is my impression of the hotel:

1. Location.
Its located in Jalan Kartika Plaza, very close to Discovery Mall (3 mins walking). Very strategic location. Unfortunately the hotel doesn't have access or view to the beach. But location wise it is very good.

2. Hotel facilities.
Hotel has an open air concept lobby and restaurant in the front side of the hotel.
The building is surrounding the pool in the middle and I think almost all the rooms are having pool view.
I'm not sure if they have fitness center or not as I was only stay for 1 night here and doesn't have time to explore the whole hotel. Actually its not a really big hotel like a resort style one.
Pool is pretty big and some room has direct pool access. They also have some lounger and seats around the pool. Its very nice to relax and chilling during day. You can also order drink from the poolside bar.
For parking space they have quiet large basement parking area.

3. Room
Pros: large room, has good seating area, nice bed, has bathtub (no separate shower, so you do shower in the bathtub).
Cons: design,furnishing and lighting looks a little bit old.

4. Food & beverage.
Did not order any room service here, only try the breakfast buffet. In my opinion the breakfast spread really need some improvement. Food variety in my opinion doesn't even feels like a 4-stars hotel.
Although food taste pretty good but some improvement in the food variety would be good.
They have several main dishes, pastries, cold cuts, some fruits and dessert. Also some juices and cereal.
Pretty basic in my opinion, I was expecting something more from a hotel listed as 5-star in Agoda.

5. Price
Back to the price, it was the cheapest 5-stars hotel I can found in the area (which has a very good location to main tourist attraction) so probably I should not complaint much.. hahaha).

Some refreshment in design and new concept will probably live up the hotel atmosphere and hopefully bring more guest come in.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank wayan_adisaputra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Sun Island and spa hotel
I stayed Sun Island and spa hotel Kota for about four nights. The hotel is situated right in the centre of Kuta Market. Though the backside of the hotel has the Kuta Beach however no rooms are facing towards the Beach. Yet I really enjoyed staying at the sun Island spa hotel. Firstly the rooms where quite spacious. My room was facing the swimming pool and had a small balcony. It has got a nice open restaurant near the reception on the ground floor. What amazes me is the room tariff are quite economical. The entire market is just outside the hotel. The staff was quite courteous and service was also very good. I shall definitely recommend travellers travelling to BaliTo have a look at this hotel before making the reservations.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank logharsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Lovely staff , good spacious clean rooms , nice pool , excellent breakfast , central Kuts location .
The only let down was the evening meal .
Try to get a room at the back of hotel to stop the road notice (not that bad)

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

On arrival we were allocated interconnecting pool access rooms to house our family for our 3 nights which was a good start to our visit. The rooms are large, and beautifully decorated with quality aircon and huge comfortable beds. The Large flat screen TV had a good amount of English language channels.The bathrooms were also beautiful but the shower floods the whole room as there’s nowhere for the water to drain away from the top of the bath, a terrible design fault but not a big problem, though I’m sure housekeeping are fed up with soaking wet towels everyday.
The pool is clean, big and surprisingly quiet and it was good to be able to get in at the room.
The hotel has a very international clientele and this was reflected in the breakfast selection, more than sufficient choices.
Staff at all times were courteous and friendly.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank msga12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Loved the Sun Island. Stayed here for a week .Located 2 minutes from Discovery malll n beach. Clean ,quiet hotel. Delicious buffet breaky. Nice pool. Great channels on the television.Wifi was great .Room very clean . Staff lovely. Excellent location

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank deblegend9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 km away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#26 of 254 in Kuta
808 reviews
0.6 km away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#63 of 254 in Kuta
1,741 reviews
0.3 km away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
1.5 km away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#34 of 254 in Kuta
1,060 reviews
1.9 km away
White Rose Kuta Resort, Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kuta
#33 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#39 Family Hotel in Kuta
#41 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $58 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to present Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta that offers you its definite impeccable service through the 121 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese hospitality and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, shopping malls, traditional art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing