We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantmadan mohanmorning aartibasic hotelgreat showeran enjoyable staythe hotel staffrooms are cleanexcellent locationthe riverrecommend this hotelbudget optiontasty foodhot waterboat ridedeluxe roomhotel is located
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Location and rooftop are charming. I did free yoga in the morning... brilliant! The venue is rustic and not super clean, but food is excellent and cheap... wifi is working in the rooms (positive surprise!) and they accept credit cards!!

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Claudia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Hotel Temple on on Ganges is a good value for a staying in Varanasi. We have been regular customers in recent years and always found friendship and professionalism in the family managment.
Quiet place, beautiful view from the balconies and the rooftop restaurant, comfortable and clean rooms, great food.
You will enjoy it from the very first moment when the ever-present Mr. Dilip will take care of you.
Anna and Andrea from Italy

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Ganges River are preferable.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at Hotel Temple on the Ganges. The location was good and the waiter/serviceman Krishna was very helpful and pleasant. The food was okay.

The room was very average and dated and the bathroom was clearly in need of work.

The hotel owner is rude and tried to get us to pay twice on leaving, claiming that the first payment didn't process, when we could in fact see that it had. He told us he had booked a boat for us costing 400 rupees for an hour and a half. When we got in the boat the driver said it was only for 40 minutes - not sure which of the two men was the dishonest one in this situation.

Honestly, I think the hotel was overpriced and you could get much better elsewhere! Wouldn't recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTempleAssiGhat, Owner at Hotel Temple on Ganges, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Respected guest,
Thanks for sharing your view on Tripadvisor.
We regret that you had the inconvenience as some renovation was going on our property. The renovation work is over by now.
Many times we have problems when due to traffic congestion on the internet which is associated with a swipe machine, the swipe machine because of internet congestion sends multiple messages while the transaction is done once. Anyway, if you feel and you have any evidence that you are charged twice and the amount has been deducted from your account, we are ready and we promise to return your amount. please attach your evidence and e mail us. We shall refund you at once.
We never had and we never intended to charge our guest more than once. It's just a electronic error. In our account, your payment made by card has been credited once only. This can be cross checked if you like to call our bank as we are ready all account information.
Thanks for staying with us.
MM Pandey
Hotel Temple On Ganges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We had 6 days stay at Kashi. And chose to split the stay between Assi Ghat (South part) & Mir Ghat (Near Kashi Vishwanath Temple)

Chose to stay here after reading reviews. And was very happy to have chosen Temple on Ganges.

Everything from booking to Check-out happened very smoothly; including room upgrade, airport pickup (for Rs.1000/-) Half day's local sightseeing & drop at Varanasi junction (Rs.2000/-).

Pricing is slightly on a higher side. It is worth spending a little more and have an enjoyable stay at Temple on Ganges.

Can't comment on food as we ended up eating outside, though we liked their Masala Tea.

Location: Excellent location less than 2 minutes walk from the famous Assi Ghat. ( Although you can visit Assi ghat anytime, you must try reaching 5 minutes before sunrise to get a glimpse of Subah-e-Banaras).

Half day's sight seeing can go to Sankat Mochan Hanuman Temple, Durga Mandir, Tulsidas Mandir, Banaras Hindu University (Bharat Kala Bhavan) & Bharat Mata Temple.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank NileshKamerkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel has a heart of gold my partner and I came to Varanasi to get married the Hindu way, Mr Pandey and his staff organised it in the hotel and it was very special. The room was a very good quality,as are the food&service

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank milorad1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews