We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feel of Varanasi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed 14 September 2017

A small neat hotel offering warmth, comfort and hospitality. The entrance is rustic but the initial apprehension fades as one is greeted with smiles at the Reception desk. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms modern. More importantly the bed-linen and towels are white, fluffy and clean. The rooms came equipped with a tea-maker , a mini fridge & the usual bisleri water bottles .

We had all our meals at the hotel Vegetarian ...Tasty food & freshly cooked ...I would recommend their yellow- dal and crunchy ladies-fingers with hot rotis. Reasonably priced. The last meal to our pleasant surprise was on the house !

The Hotel is less than 3 mins walk to the Assi Ghat ( do not miss the Subah e Benaras at 5 am ) and discover that Benaras at sunrise is magnificent.
A special thanks to Mr. Madan Mohan , Dilip , Driver Ramesh , Sujit Paul and the team for their hospitality and sharing snippets about the history of Varanasi.

Room Tip: The rooms were freshly renovated with modern bathroom fittings . Room number 17 and 20 offer a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ninzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Location and rooftop are charming. I did free yoga in the morning... brilliant! The venue is rustic and not super clean, but food is excellent and cheap... wifi is working in the rooms (positive surprise!) and they accept credit cards!!

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Claudia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Hotel Temple on on Ganges is a good value for a staying in Varanasi. We have been regular customers in recent years and always found friendship and professionalism in the family managment.
Quiet place, beautiful view from the balconies and the rooftop restaurant, comfortable and clean rooms, great food.
You will enjoy it from the very first moment when the ever-present Mr. Dilip will take care of you.
Anna and Andrea from Italy

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Ganges River are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at Hotel Temple on the Ganges. The location was good and the waiter/serviceman Krishna was very helpful and pleasant. The food was okay.

The room was very average and dated and the bathroom was clearly in need of work.

The hotel owner is rude and tried to get us to pay twice on leaving, claiming that the first payment didn't process, when we could in fact see that it had. He told us he had booked a boat for us costing 400 rupees for an hour and a half. When we got in the boat the driver said it was only for 40 minutes - not sure which of the two men was the dishonest one in this situation.

Honestly, I think the hotel was overpriced and you could get much better elsewhere! Wouldn't recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTempleAssiGhat, Owner at Hotel Temple on Ganges, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Respected guest,
Thanks for sharing your view on Tripadvisor.
We regret that you had the inconvenience as some renovation was going on our property. The renovation work is over by now.
Many times we have problems when due to traffic congestion on the internet which is associated with a swipe machine, the swipe machine because of internet congestion sends multiple messages while the transaction is done once. Anyway, if you feel and you have any evidence that you are charged twice and the amount has been deducted from your account, we are ready and we promise to return your amount. please attach your evidence and e mail us. We shall refund you at once.
We never had and we never intended to charge our guest more than once. It's just a electronic error. In our account, your payment made by card has been credited once only. This can be cross checked if you like to call our bank as we are ready all account information.
Thanks for staying with us.
Regards
MM Pandey
Hotel Temple On Ganges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We had 6 days stay at Kashi. And chose to split the stay between Assi Ghat (South part) & Mir Ghat (Near Kashi Vishwanath Temple)

Chose to stay here after reading reviews. And was very happy to have chosen Temple on Ganges.

Everything from booking to Check-out happened very smoothly; including room upgrade, airport pickup (for Rs.1000/-) Half day's local sightseeing & drop at Varanasi junction (Rs.2000/-).

Pricing is slightly on a higher side. It is worth spending a little more and have an enjoyable stay at Temple on Ganges.

Can't comment on food as we ended up eating outside, though we liked their Masala Tea.

Location: Excellent location less than 2 minutes walk from the famous Assi Ghat. ( Although you can visit Assi ghat anytime, you must try reaching 5 minutes before sunrise to get a glimpse of Subah-e-Banaras).

Half day's sight seeing can go to Sankat Mochan Hanuman Temple, Durga Mandir, Tulsidas Mandir, Banaras Hindu University (Bharat Kala Bhavan) & Bharat Mata Temple.





Stayed: July 2017
Thank NileshKamerkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,227 reviews
2.5 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 80 in Varanasi
2,166 reviews
1.6 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#12 of 80 in Varanasi
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
4.1 km away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#11 of 80 in Varanasi
512 reviews
2.3 km away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Temple on Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Temple on Ganges

Address: Assi Ghat | Assi Ghat Road, Varanasi 221005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $48 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Temple on Ganges 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a well esteemed hotel known specially for our excellent location on the bank of river Ganges and good hospitality services.We have an excellent multicuisine Vegetarian restaurant on the terrace with panoramic view of river Ganges and ghats, Free WiFi zone,Forex desk,travels counter and at door all vehicles accessible and parking facility.There are five different categories of rooms (with and without view) available to book online and directly with us also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Temple on Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing