We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a colourful place right on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ganpati Guest House
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I flew in from Nepal, was met at the airport, & would recommend that as the 10 minutes walk
through the lanes could be confusing, until you get your bearings. There are a variety of rooms,
I had a shared balcony river view. A wide view from the roof. Rooms are comfortable, power & internet intermittent as it is most places. My bathroom had its own hot water system. I wish they would start selling water from a large bottle so guests could fill their own bottles, & not add to
the plastic trash. Otherwise the whole place works really well, friendly & helpful.
For sure take a boat on the river.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anieByronBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,103)
There are newer reviews for Ganpati Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,176 - 1,180 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

Ganpati Guest House was a great little find for us. In a bustling, somewhat overwhelming city this quiet retreat was perfect. Ganpati Guest House is safe, clean and the view and free WiFi are unbeatable!!! Location couldn't be any better, right on the Ganga and close to all major sightseeing spots. I have to say I was reluctant at first making arrangements weeks in advance online. But our whole stay including the booking process was made simple and easy. We chose to take the taxi service that they offer. I HIGHLY recommend it! The airport is far and the streets can be confusing at first if its your first time. The same driver took us back and I wish we had booked him for our travels to Allahabad. They do offer transportation to different cities. Trust me its safe, and not shady at all. As for the room, we had a corner room with an attached bathroom, and for the price it is sooooo worth it! Although a corner room, views are breathtaking from all over, so no need for private balcony.
Things I love about this place:
1. the close proximity to all the ghats. On the first day we just went down the stairs of the buliding and it puts you right along the water, close to the Dashashwamedh to see the 7pm arti, and Manikarnika ghat, Kashi Vishwanath Temple.
2. Safety! (one night, there was a guy sorta following us but as soon as we turned to the building the guy stopped because there are cameras everywhere. )
3. The cleaning guys who also helped transport out luggage to the main streets, are great. They are so hard working and Very Friendly!!
4.The building has all these cute little ares to hang out like the roof top restaurant, courtyard, shared balcony etc.
If you're going to Benaras, Ganpati Guest House is it!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beepbeep000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The hotel staff seems disinterested and nearly annoyed to help you with even the smallest of problems (such as assisting you with a phone call). They are quick to blow you off contrary to Indian culture in way that is actually quite rude. Instead they sit around talking with each other or watching cricket on television. The rooms are clean, the hot water is limited, and over all the relatively cheap price seems expensive because of the poor attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rstennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

It is truly difficult to find a good guest house in India - there are plenty of budget options (where you get what you pay for, unfortunately) and mid-range/luxury hotels that always seem to miss the mark for their high prices. Ganpati Guest House was a wonderful find. After coming in off the hot and busy streets of Varanasi, we instantly felt at home. Beautiful shady garden courtyard with fast free wifi, rooftop restaurant with river view, and comfortable little corners to hang out in. The staff was extremely competent and helpful - fast response to online booking, and when we wanted to extend our stay they were able to find a room for us. The vibe of the place is what sets it apart - beautiful colorful spaces and little details make the guest house a place where you would want to hang out, as opposed to a lot of the neighboring hotels that might be more modern but look plain and unwelcoming. The building is secure - doors are locked at 10pm, and all entrances are video monitored. Great location: if your taxi drops you off in the city, you can walk or rickshaw to Dasaswamedh Ghat, walk down to the water, and then turn left and walk along the ghats until you see a big red building and a sign for Ganpati Guest House. The second entrance leads into the back alleyways of the Old City and is confusing at first but handy once you get the hang of it. If I came back to Varanasi I'd stay here again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: 600 INR room with shared bath was basic, but quite clean and opened up onto a beautiful balcony with...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This place is very welcoming, with correct bedrooms. You can book your bedroom directly on internet and ask for one with a balcony and a view on the Ganges (more expansive but not so much).

It's a very colored guesthouse which makes it even more charming ! You can ask what you want to people at the reception and book an early boat trip at sunrise on the Ganges to see all the Indian people making their prayers and so on.

You can eat on the terrace with a really good view of the Ganges and the "gaths". Food is also correct.

Just one important thing : be carefull of the stealing monkeys when you're on the terrace...

I will definitely recommand this guesthouse !!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianableue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,197 reviews
0.5 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
306 reviews
1.5 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
1.0 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#15 of 79 in Varanasi
256 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#16 of 79 in Varanasi
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganpati Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganpati Guest House

Address: D 3/24 Meer Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $30 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganpati Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Ganpati Guest House - if you stay here, we are sure that you will have a good time in Varanasi. Of course the view of the beautiful river Ganges is amazing and exotic. Many people who come to Varanasi stay with us in the Ganpati Guest House. The staff are very kind and have a good spirit. We look forward to meeting you and hope beautiful time in Varanasi. The history of Ganpati Guest House: The Ganpati is located at the east end of the Mother Ganges in Varanasi, makes its presence known throughout the riverbanks not only by shining the world's oldest culture as well as oldest city. A city of light...but also by offering cutting-edge restaurants, renowned facilities, amazing view and comfortable accommodations. This 3-story Redstone pyramid was built in 1905 on the river Ganges, contains so many amenities on such an enormous scale that it's becomes practically amazing vacation. Spacious rooms surrounded by the plants, which boasts your staying, dining and entertainment. The Garden, at more than 1000 square feet, is one of Varanasi's oldest existing buildings and rarely available, offering a tranquil sitting, an array of nice music, a rack of books nearby. We want to deliver inside of the property a best atmosphere. We're trying to become a little more contemporary and appeal to all age crowds with holy feelings. We want to offer the best entertainment, dining, staying and relax without insulting the worth of your damage. That's not to say that "The city of Light" will be memorable entire the life. It is, after all, still a part of what makes the property unique, and explained that the hotel is prepared to keep the better executed elements of the riverbank-culture theme. Kind regards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ganpati Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganpati Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing