We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old indian private residence full of charm on the bank of river Ganga”
Review of Hotel Ganges View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Ganges View
Ranked #11 of 224 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Old indian private residence full of charm, located directly on Assi Ghat. Beautiful view from the terraces of the city and the Ganga. Bedrooms have with fine antiques and decorations. A little worn but clean sheets and towels. Good indian breakfast and dinner. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paolofortunati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

the pictures on TripAdvisor are accurate, the hotel does have some very beautiful areas. It does feel like a wealthy Indian home with antiques and beautiful decor. It was very clean. We ended up changing rooms after the first night because we discovered they had given us the smallest room. There is a difference in rooms but they are supposed to be all the same price. Our second room was on the third floor (straight ahead all the way at the back) and 50% bigger with a much nicer bathroom and views from a large full-wall window. Our first room (second floor) had no window, small bathroom, small room, and was right off a lounge where people talked till late and disturbed us. The hotel is located a bit far from the old city and in august the river was so high we couldn't even see the ghats (so no iconic steps). The interesting part of Varanasi is the old city and it's a long long walk away or a bicycle rickshaw ride (a constant annoyance because they try soooo hard to get you to pay insane rates and aren't too concerned if you refuse, they'll just ride off). So, location not a plus. The room doesn't have a tv, which may seem unimportant to some, but after a hectic, hot day it is nice to go back to the hotel and relax in aircon and watch a bit of tv. Couldn't do that. The wifi only works in the very front lobby and was sporadic, off after dinner and out much of the day. This hotel is expensive. We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but we saw other guests at the "community" tables. We didn't want to have to dinner with other families, two of our group didn't speak English. The hotel front desk, no complaints, but they were cold and unsmiling. I think we overpaid because we pre-booked, but even in august they were full most of the time. At those rates, really about the highest we paid in India, we would say it wasn't worth it. After our first night we considered changing hotels and looked around- several very nice hotels nearby were much cheaper. We eventually stayed because they gave us a better room, and overall the decor and Indian feel of the hotel were nice despite the other shortcomings. Some advice about the city- it's dirty, but will give you a good feel for the India you were looking for, but it's tough going. If you think Delhi was difficult, you will go nuts here. We spent four days, could have cut that to two.

Room Tip: ask to see your room first...some are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w44566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I booked the hotel prior to my arrival. First mistake. You should discuss prices once you get there, you will pay around 50% less.

Service is one of the most unfriendly I've seen in my whole trip to India, they just don't care. The owner is a nice man, and very friendly, but he clearly doesnt care about the treatment the guests receive.

I definitely recommend the indian special dinner, very good food.

Rooms are ok, decoration is nice. Our bed was a bit stiff, and the bathrooms could use a facelift, but they are very clean compared to indian standards.

I dont agree with some of the other users opinion on location. It may not be in one of the central "gats" but it's definitely one of the best ones, very well located and with spectacular views.

If it hadnt been for the staff, I would have gladly rated it "Very Good".

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yocastus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Cosmetically this is a beautiful hotel and it's location is great, but that's all. The staff were generally sullen and difficult to identify. I know that sounds ridicullous but the people you saw walking around were so apathetic that you assumed they couldn't possibly work there. There was no information in the rooms about food or service and although there was a telephone no hint at what number to dial, even if only for reception. I did feel like a hindrance and not a guest and in view of the service that I received it was far too expensive.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
4  Thank dawnie1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Stayed for 10 days up on top level with fully airconditioned rooms and living areas, it was highlight of a four week stay in India and would highly recommend to anyone wanting friendly helpful staff, great breakfast to start the day and beautiful views of the Ganges.

Room Tip: If you after real comfort go for top level more expensive but worth every rupee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,221 reviews
2.3 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 80 in Varanasi
2,155 reviews
1.4 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#12 of 80 in Varanasi
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#13 of 80 in Varanasi
288 reviews
0.8 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
2.2 km away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganges View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganges View

Address: Assi Ghat | N30/241 Nagawa, Varanasi 221005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range: $143 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ganges View 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganges View guest is one of best guest house in Varanasi or Banaras those are situated at unique oldest city in the world or holy pilgrimage cities in India located on the Banks of the Holy Ganges...... and so much ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing