We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
313
33
9
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
33
9
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse drawn carriage queen elizabeth jiva spa lord mountbatten conch shells taj group rose petals sous chef carriage tour historical suites round the grounds four poster bed royal suite an oasis third generation extensive grounds minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We spent 2 nights at the beginning of August 2018 at Nadesar Palace in a Palace room.
From the very welcome ceremony to the farewell blessing this property stands out in Varanasi for being unique and a total resort like experience in one of the most fascinating but cahotic cities in the world!
The property really brings you back to the raj period with its antique furniture, atmosphere and wonderful service.
The building, grounds and rooms are pristine and maintained perfectly so that you can have all the comforts of today with the charm of bygone days!
Having just 10 rooms service is of course tops and very friendly and accommodating.
One area of improvement is in our opinion the restaurant food offer, which is quite limited and rather expensive also compared to the nearby sister hotel which offers a much wider selection of high quality food at a more reasonable price.
Nadesar Palace and its extensive relaxing grounds are not really close to the Ganges and the ghats so a car + driver are mandatory (would not dare to drive in Varanasi traffic!), but it is definitely the best choice for a unique experience!
Do not miss the carriage tour!
Thank you to all the staff at the palace for making our visiti to magic Varanasi even more special!!!

Room Tip: All rooms mus be equally wonderful!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RACMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

This palace is very unique and charming in the heart of Varanasi. The staff was extremely courteous and nice. We arrived early and we were allowed early check-in.
The suite was beautiful over looking the gardens. The decor is simple yet sophisticated. Loved the food, Kachori bhaji was my favorite. We asked if there was Uppma(Indian porridge) the chef was so courteous that he actually prepared just for us. These are the finer details that makes Taj the Best for me!
Do not miss out the Jiva spa, Jenny who attended to me was simply amazing. I had a bad muscle catch a while ago before arriving, I braved the massage and I don’t regret it!
Keep up the good work and keep the services as they are!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Travelcrusader007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We stayed for thirteen nights in the Mountbatten Suite, the suite used by Lord and Lady Mountbatten when they visited the then Benares. Lord Mountbatten was Viceroy of India at the time and the suite contains pictures of the couple during that era. In the suite and throughout the hotel, the furniture and furnishings are in the Edwardian country house style making the place an ideal retreat in a very challenging city. The grounds are very extensive and provide opportunities for bird watching. The level of service puts it on a par with any hotel in India, with outstanding food, a small but perfectly placed swimming pool, excellent spa staff and highly attentive staff. It is an ideal place to retreat to, to recuperate, while still being well placed to visit the many attractions of the city and the neighbourhood. If you like history, this is a place not to be missed

Room Tip: Ask for the names of the suites to decide what aspect of India's history you want to experience.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomK412016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Located near the city centre , with lush green gardens all around . Nadesar Palace is definitely one of Taj’s jewel . The service was great , especially in room dining , the spa was just fabulous (actually surprised me pleasantly) and the employees at the entrance were ever so helpful. A must stay during your time in the city to enjoy the city in peacefulness.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank kritig1393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

This hotel is truly remarkable. It's situated right on the ghat, so a downside is you have to walk up and down a huge set of extremely steep steps anytime you want to come and go from the hotel (but that's common in Varanasi anyway). Lots of security, although discreet.

The room was old-fashioned, but still luxurious, as was the entire hotel. The restaurant and breakfast buffet was delicious and had many options. There was a music and dance performance in the lobby one night.

This hotel was not nearly on the same level as the Oberoi hotels if you've stayed at those, but it was still magnificent.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews