We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Lucknow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Set in beautiful grounds the Vivanta by Taj is a relaxing haven. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable and the hotel is very quiet and peaceful. The levels of service were almost universally good.

The food and drink experience was very disappointing. The all day diner was frankly, awful. I really fancied something other than Indian food so I had a burger. Big mistake! Dry as a bone. Not at all pleasant.

In the evening we went to the specialist Indian restaurant in the hotel. We had been recommended to try the kebabs, which we did, and they were very nice. However, be very careful if you fancy a gin & tonic. My wife ordered one, which was OK, but the surprise came when we asked for the bill. We had been charged 1000 Rupees (about £12.50) for the gin and a few hundred more for the tonic. They claimed it was Bombay Saphire gin which is indeed 1000 rupees on the menu, but I suspect it was more than likely the local hooch which is much cheaper. Although several different gins were available at varying prices we were not asked which we wanted or even made aware of the options, and of course we only discovered what had happened when the bill arrived.

We did complain to the manager sometime later, and to be fair, he did give my wife a free G&T, but we still felt that this was a scam. It certainly damaged our trust in the hotel. As I said previously, the hotel was very quiet, very few guests so perhaps they were just trying to maximise the take per guest!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 773 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

We booked a room overlooking the pool (much to cold to go in on our visit) It was clean and up to what you would expect from a Taj Hotel. The downside, as in many Hotels are the usual door slamming from other guests, to what appeared to me to be perfectly good lock and hinge arrangements.
There are well tended and peaceful grounds to walk around. The staff are polite and helpful.
If you go out on foot from the front of the Hotel about 100 metres to the right there is a small shopping complex and on the third floor is a good branch of the "China Nation" restaurant chain. From the airport it is 500rps by prepaid taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony_cass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Excellent service throughout. Very comfortable and enjojable stay.

Room Tip: opt for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Where shall I start? This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The impressive lobby expresses plenty of style. A welcome drink is offered at check in, which is very appreciated after a taxi ride through dusty Lucknow. All staff is very polite and helpful. Rooms and bathrooms are spotless. The windows unfortunately cannot be opened. Gardens are wonderfully maintained. The in-house restaurants are exquisite. The same waiters appear every day and seem to memorize the guest’s preferences: Once you order coffee with lots of milk, the next morning, the waiter asks “coffee with lots of milk, Sir?” and the third morning your tailor made coffee just comes by itself. similar for the wine choice at dinner. It’s brilliant to see how considerate staff can be.
On request, the staff prepared me a take-away lunch box with sandwiches and drinks.
Tip: confirm your pick-ups with the travel desk. Although the drivers safely slide you through the Lucknow traffic jungle, the travel desk missed an airport pickup and a pick-up from the office.

Room Tip: The rooms on the pool side have a slightly better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bvdr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome and friendly greeting.
The hotel is very well laid out and is an oasis of tranquility in a busy city.
The food was probably the best we had throughout our 2 week holiday (we had stayed at several hotels on our travels through India). Other reviews have mentioned the time taken for the food to arrive, but it is worth the wait.
But the staff made this hotel stand out for us as they remembered the little things, such as being partial to a cup of hot chocolate!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugobeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
0.1 km away
Renaissance Lucknow Hotel
4.0 km away
Fairfield by Marriott Lucknow
5.0 km away
Novotel Lucknow Gomti Nagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Clarks Avadh
Clarks Avadh
#5 of 93 in Lucknow
516 reviews
4.1 km away
Golden Tulip Lucknow
Golden Tulip Lucknow
#13 of 93 in Lucknow
391 reviews
0.0 km away
Ramada Lucknow
Ramada Lucknow
#14 of 93 in Lucknow
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow

Address: Vipin Khand, Lucknow 226010, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow District > Lucknow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucknow
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucknow
#2 Spa Hotel in Lucknow
Price Range: $178 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a new wow in Uttar Pradesh's capital city. Just 8 km from the railway terminus and a mere 20 km from the airport. On the banks of the river Gomti. Right in the heart of Lucknow's business and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow Hotel Lucknow
Taj Residency Lucknow
Hotel Taj Residency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing