We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Lucknow
Certificate of Excellence
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“excellent customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome and friendly greeting.
The hotel is very well laid out and is an oasis of tranquility in a busy city.
The food was probably the best we had throughout our 2 week holiday (we had stayed at several hotels on our travels through India). Other reviews have mentioned the time taken for the food to arrive, but it is worth the wait.
But the staff made this hotel stand out for us as they remembered the little things, such as being partial to a cup of hot chocolate!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugobeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    307
    73
    30
    7
See reviews for
143
134
63
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Taj hotels have the uncanny habit of being remarkable. This one's not one of the i-WAS-BLOWN-AWAY ONES, BUT STILL VERY VERY GOOD, AND OF COURSE THE BEST IN LUCKNOW, BY FAR. lucknow is a changed city, and the area the hotel is in simply amazes the unprepared traveller. Its gorgeous, though begs the question as to how a state with such huge numbers of the poor and impoversihed can afford architecture this grand, and on this scale.
anyway, location- excellent. service- great. food- ummm, i've had better at Taj, but ok. amenities- not top of the line Taj, but quite impressive nonetheless. rooms- nice. big downside- expensive wifi. the place to stay in Lucknow, especially since there's no worthwile competition challenging it. yet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrews_sameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
334 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Taj at Lucknow was one of several Taj hotels I stayed in during a month touring India and, unfortunately, the only one about which I find myself writing a negative review. First, the good bits: great building, comfortable and well-appointed room (with pillow menu), nice pool and gardens, lovely breakfast with an extensive choice of Indian and international food from which to choose, great laundry service and, for the most part, excellent service from the staff. The problem we encountered was when our group of a dozen people decided to meet for drinks in the only bar in the hotel. Apart from us, there were about four other people in the bar with, in the course of the evening, one or two others coming or going. Hotel bars are usually fairly quiet places where one can relax and chat, as we wished to do. In the corner of this bar, however, was a DJ playing deafeningly loud techno music (not unpleasant in itself if one is in a disco but we were not). in the course of the evening, one by one, each member of our group got up to ask if he could turn the music down a bit so we could hear ourselves think. Each time, the music was turned down for a few minutes before being gradually turned up again to thunder volume. Note: we comprised about two thirds of the people there and none of the other guests appeared to be itching to dance the night away. When it came to my turn, I decided to go speak to the duty manager instead. He explained that Friday night was DJ night to which I replied that was all fine but presumably the DJ was there to please the guests not himself, the latter seeming to be the case. The Duty Manager suggested we go and sit in the (empty) restaurant instead. Er, no! And, given the hotel's location, we could not just walk out of the front door to go somewhere else. A couple of the hotel security guys went across and told the DJ to turn the music down but after a few minutes it was back to about 200 db. I am not sure who was taking the mickey, the DJ or the Duty Manager, but this is one Taj hotel where the interests of the customer seems to come second place to those of some members of staff. A pity because this really spoiled our short trip to this otherwise good hotel. For this reason, I have given a low rating for service and overall.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This is my second day and I shall stay till the 8th Jan. So far the experience is good. The Lunch & Breakfast was excellent with many options. The staff are courteous especially, Mr. Jatin, Mr. Chirodeep and Mr. Anuj .... I am sure I will add more names to this list by the time I leave.
Highly recommended.... The Taj grandeur is something that you can't miss. Through and through it is value or money ...

Room Tip: The Pool View superior rooms on the 3rd floor are obstructed with palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sritesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

One of the best hotel to stay at Lucknow. Earlier the rates were economical , but they have increased. Its nice to stay if they give good corporate rates. Location of the hotel is very good. Big Bazar, INOX, Fun Repulic Mall & Wave Multiplex is very close by.

You can spend a good evening at Lucknow.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are good & quietor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anupsrivastava30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
4.0 km away
Fairfield by Marriott Lucknow
0.1 km away
Renaissance Lucknow Hotel
3.9 km away
Hotel Clarks Avadh
Hotel Clarks Avadh
#4 of 81 in Lucknow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Golden Tulip Lucknow
Golden Tulip Lucknow
#10 of 81 in Lucknow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
3.0 km away
La Place Sarovar Portico, Lucknow
2.8 km away
Hotel Levana
Hotel Levana
#8 of 81 in Lucknow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow
Address: Vipin Khand, Lucknow 226010, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lucknow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucknow
#1 Business Hotel in Lucknow
Price range (per night): $169 - $358
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a new wow in Uttar Pradesh's capital city. Just 8 km from the railway terminus and a mere 20 km from the airport. On the banks of the river Gomti. Right in the heart of Lucknow's business and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow Hotel Lucknow
Taj Residency Lucknow
Hotel Taj Residency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing