We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a decent, basic choice for agra, but don't expect much more”
Review of Hotel Sheela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sheela
Ranked #68 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is pretty basic hotel, actually more like a motel. we were there in february and the blankets were not warm enough and also you have to wait quite a while for the hot water to turn on. the location is excellent if you want to see the Taj, but at night it is very deserted and there is barely any place to eat around.
On the other hand, it is a safe and decent hotel and most people do not stay in agra more than a couple of nights anyway. The setting is also nice as there is a garden and you can just relax there and meet others quite easily.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed with intrepid. dump but close to Taj east gate for early morning access.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I chose this guest house because it was the Lonely planet top choice.
It was also clearly mentioned it was a quieter option from the other backpackers in the Taj Ganj area.
I was very surprised by the beautiful garden surrounding the rooms and the fact that it was indeed very quiet!
The guest house is located 50m from Taj Mahal East gate (the far less crowded) and because autorickhsaw are not authorized in that area, you can't hear them at all since they're all stationed 500 m up the street.
Be careful though, the Taj Mahal ticket counter is 800m away from the East gate.
Rooms are basic with a clean bathroom and have mosquitoes nets on all windows.
Garden is really nice to have your breakfast and the restaurant is ok.
All in all, if you want to sleep well with a convenient location to Taj, Sheela is a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ludodieci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Lonely Planet advises that the Hotel Sheela is a 'Top Choice' - this is probably because the budget options in Agra are simply dire. The Hotel Sheela is comparably an oasis in what is basically a dump. I ensured that I arrived late afternoon to see the Taj Mahal at sunset, then I slept at Hotel Sheela and left first thing in the morning. My room was not spotless, there was dirt in places and the bathroom was less than pleasing. Lots of mosquitoes were able to enter through the bathroom so management need to look at installing more netting across the vents. Hotel staff were not particularly welcoming or helpful. Do not get me wrong - Hotel Sheela is the place to stay in Agra if you are on a budget but I feel that it has become complacent through the steady throng of patronage it gets through an overly complimentary review by Lonely Planet. Food is ok and I found the hotel to be very safe - important for solo female travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citybreak17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

A lovely chilled place away from the hassle of agra's touts. The gardens are the definite bonus and our room was clean and spacious. The price wasn't bad either considering we were right next to the taj!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#33 of 144 in Agra
489 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Saniya Place
Hotel Saniya Place
#95 of 144 in Agra
586 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#83 of 144 in Agra
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Sheela Inn
Hotel Sheela Inn
#91 of 144 in Agra
134 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#105 of 144 in Agra
491 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#18 of 144 in Agra
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheela

Address: East Gate, Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $13 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sheela 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sheela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheela Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing