We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cheap and great location, but cold and wet.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sheela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sheela
Ranked #80 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cheap and great location, but cold and wet.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

The good things about this hotel:

- location: right next to the Taj (2 minutes walk from East Gate) and Agra Old Town (5-10 minutes walk). Nicely busy during the day, but quiet and meditative during the night. Just the problem is that in order to get tickets to the Taj you have to go about 2-3 kilometers far up the road that passes the hotel to a newly built ticket office - which is annoying, especially early in the morning, if you want to see the Taj in the sunrise (get a rickshaw)

- price (considering the location). The hotel also has a nice pation with restaurant (but also with a lot of mosquitoes - not a problem during the day, but quite a big problem in the evenings), and the hot water was running the whole day (quite exceptional for hotels of this price range)

The not so good things about this hotel:

- rooms are very, very cold. We traveled there in January, with night time temperatures around 10 degrees C and it was very cold inside. The windows are small and shut, so you cannot rely on getting some heat in the room during the day (besides, our room was facing the inner corridor, so no sun in the room even during the day). The staff gave us one extra (and a bit smelly) blanket, but that did not really help. All of us caught cold during our stay. But if you travel in another season, you may be fine.

- rooms are very, very wet. Our bathroom did not have its own window, but was connected with another bathroom next door (which was occupied by our friends, so that was no problem) - but the moisture produced by showering did not go out but entered the room instead. Not very pleasant. Bearable if you stay for a few days, but be ready to face some serious mold related problems if you stay longer.

- mosquitoes: all the time, everywhere. Bring an electric vaporizer, or you can buy one on the market nearby.

- no toilet paper provided - bring your own. the same applies to towels and linens.

- extensive and frequent black-outs - not a problem of the hotel, the appeared in the town too. The hotel has a power generator, but it does not work for lights in the bathroom - so bring your own flashlight.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 747Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    172
    176
    87
    65
See reviews for
54
229
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We were supposed to stay 2 nights in this hotel but left after the first night.

First the positives. The location was great - extremely close to the Taj Mahal (no view of it but a few minutes walk to it) and a pretty quiet location in the area where cars are not allowed because of proximity to the Taj Mahal. The owner was very nice about accommodating us in our need for an early check in. There is a pleasant restaurant with outdoor terrace among the trees which is a nice place to hang out.

Now the negatives. The room felt like a cell - it was cold, drab and dirty. There was only a bottom sheet on the bed and it was stained. The one blanket was quite dirty and had mystery substances on it that I didn't even want to speculate on what they were. I was unable to sleep most of the night due to the uncomfortable bed, noise outside our room and the fact that it was freezing (February).

To be fair, it was the cheapest place we stayed in India and it was probably reasonable for the price. My daughter and her boyfriend (in their 20's) said it was pretty typical of other cheap, backpacker places they have stayed in India and Asia.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattlered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Booked this hotel based on reviews in the Lonely Planet and its closeness to the east gate of the Taj Mahal and we weren't disappointed. It's a cheap and cheerful place and ideal for those on a backpacker budget. The rooms are basic (no towels, no loo rolls etc) but clean and the staff were friendly. Some of the rooms don't have hot water but they'll bring you a bucket of hot water if you ask them. It might be a problem if you're staying in winter though!

There's a decent little restaurant with an outside area where you can have a drink and a bite to eat. After getting away from the hustle and bustle of Agra, this was great for us.

It's a good location and cheap - don't set your expectations too high but we were happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zimdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was very disappointed with our stay here. The room was decent and the restaurant was fine and did have a beautiful setting. The best part of this stay was the location to see the Taj. When I booked the room I booked the cheapest rate which was a Non AC room. Great, who needs AC when it's winter out. When we arrived the staff told us there was not hot water showers but we could have a hot bucket shower. They made it sound like the power had been out and this was just a minor inconvenience for the night. The next day still no hot water and the power was and had been on. When I questioned them again they said I didn't pay for the more expensive room which had hot water. It was a losing battle trying to tell them the higher room rate was for air conditioning. Without internet I couldn't show them our email back and forth on the room. Had it not been so cold this wouldn't have been a problem. They did offer extra blankets if needed.

Room Tip: Our room faced the garden/restaurant and had a deck with chairs which would be nice had it not been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayinmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

As everyone else has said the location is spot-on. We stayed in January and were absolutely freezing at night...a thick sleeping bag is a definite necessity. The rooms are very basic, which is reflected in the price.The food at the restaurant was good, and had the weather been warmer the terrace in the courtyard would have been a great place to sit and relax.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahkgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#27 of 142 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#84 of 142 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.2 km away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#89 of 142 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#51 of 142 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#74 of 142 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#37 of 142 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheela

Property: Hotel Sheela
Address: East Gate, Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Price range (per night): $13 - $973
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sheela 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sheela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheela Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing