We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely interiors, Taj view from windows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #10 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely interiors, Taj view from windows”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed at the Gateway Hotel (a Taj group hotel) during our recent family trip to Agra and we were mightily pleased. Excellent location on Fatehabad Road, very pleasing interiors and a view of Taj from our room window (though Taj is quite far and you only have the pleasure of seeing the Taj, nothing more).

The staff were quite courteous and we have no hesitation in recommending this to friends or others.

Room Tip: Select a room with a view of the Taj Mahal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArunAgrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    725
    314
    61
    34
See reviews for
604
690
87
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Would definitely recommend staying at the Taj Gateway Hotel Agra if you're visiting the Taj Mahal. The hotel is a true 5 star perfect for travelers. The rooms on the upper floors have unobstructed views of the Taj Mahal.

The restaurant buffet is excellent. Overall service is good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGSTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
210 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were on the 5th floor and had a very good view of the Taj Majal from our room. It was so good that I took it with my iPhone and emailed it to my friends using the hotel WiFi connection. We were fortunate that the smog level was not so bad during our visit. The room was nice - similar to any nicer business hotel in the US. The location was perfect for our tourist destinations. The breakfast buffet provided both Indian and English food options.

Room Tip: Higher Taj facing room if you hope to see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure_Debi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We were at the Gateway in Agra for just 2 nights and enjoyed our stay in a beautiful , well equipped and comfortable room with uninterrupted views of the Taj Mahal.

The hotel is well maintained and managed and is very convenient for visiting the Taj Mahal which is just one kilometer away.

The dining facilities are very good with an extensive menu.

We have only one negative observation : the grey not particularly well fitting unifroms of the waiters detarct form an otherwise very good dining experience.

Room Tip: It will cost a little more but pick a room with a good view of the Taj Mahal - it does mean that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

what a wonderful hotel to stay at when visiting the Taj Mahal. Rooms are beautifully appointed, the view from our window of the pool was magnificent. the food was delicious and very beautifully plated and delicious. The staff were so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We would definitely stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotriping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.0 km away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
1,195 reviews
0.4 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
3,741 reviews
1.7 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.4 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#9 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price range (per night): $75 - $172
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing