We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Air Conditioning & Reception People Are Rude”
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Retreat
Ranked #26 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We had been assured by a Hotel Employee for Complimentary Breakfast. And After the Breakfast it was Charged at High Rates.

We weren't allowed to communicate with Customer Relation Manager too to resolve issue.

Air Conditioning in Rooms 101-105 is also very pathetic.

Room Tip: Poor Service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sehaj t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Sehaj,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely sad & disheartened to acknowledge that you had a not-so-great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat Hotel. We thank you for your feedback and have made a note of the displeasure caused to you due to the miscommunication & Airconditioning issue . But we assure you that we will leave no stone un-turned to ensure that all the guests who stay with us leave the hotel with pleasant memories to share back home. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends again for a memorable experience.

Wishing you & your family a pleasant & healthy life ahead !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017

I had stayed in this hotel this weekend. Its a average hotel close to Taj East Gate. Rooms were nice. But room service was bad, and staff has nothing to do with that. Dinner menu was not very vast according to the charges. Same with the breakfast. There was no phone line in my room. Everytime I have to order something, I had to make a call from my personal phone which they answer after 2-3 times.
Overall, its a average hotel to stay.

Sumit

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SumitK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Sumit,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.With regards your recent visit at The Retreat I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The retreat in the future. Warm Regard
The Retreat welcoming you, your family & friends again for a memorable experience.

Wishing you & your family a pleasant & healthy life ahead !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

I stayed at this hotel with my family in Agra to see Taj Mahal, wherein, I enjoyed and had a very comfortable stay. Their services are good, swimming pool gives you a good time to relax and the breakfast is also very nice. Would love to stay again as and when I visit Agra in future.

Rajat

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rjt_jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanuj_Goyal, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Hotel The Retreat, Agra !!

It was a pleasure to have you stay With us at The Retreat, Agra.

The team is excited looking at your fantastic feedback for each and every department you come around and I am sure this will motivate them further to deliver high levels of guest satisfaction. Thank you for your excellent review.

It will be our distinct privilege to serve you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Manpreet Oberoi
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Service was good, and the rooms were lovely and spacious. However, beyond that it was all relatively average. As a 5 we shared 2 American Brealfasts betwwen us, all of which was okay for what it was, but not great. However they DID do fantastic grilled tomatoes.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanuj_Goyal, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Hotel The Retreat, Agra !!

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Retreat hotel, Agra recently.
Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings during your stay, though we as a team put in all our efforts to offer a flawless product, there are times we fall short of the mark. Rest assured, we will make a sincere attempt to improve on the mentioned comments, though I am glad to note that you have left with a positive impression of our hotel, room and services. Your generous comments will encourage us to do better.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Retreat Agra!


Warm Regards,
Manpreet Kaur Oberoi
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst in Agra. There isn't that much to do in the city apart from seeing the Taj Mahal, which is spectacular. The rooms in the hotel were modern and clean. The evening food in the restaurant was poor, I'd give that a miss. Also the same can be said for the breakfast, trying to get a cereal bowl turned into a mission. If there was the option I'd rate this hotel as good, but certainly not very good.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank JN881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanuj_Goyal, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Hotel The Retreat, Agra !!

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Retreat hotel, Agra recently.
Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings during your stay, though we as a team put in all our efforts to offer a flawless product, there are times we fall short of the mark. Rest assured, we will make a sincere attempt to improve on the mentioned comments, though I am glad to note that you have left with a positive impression of our hotel, rooms and cleanliness. Your generous comments will encourage us to do better.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Retreat Agra!


Warm Regards,
Manpreet Kaur Oberoi
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#18 of 143 in Agra
1,658 reviews
1.8 km away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
0.8 km away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#29 of 143 in Agra
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#110 of 143 in Agra
1,514 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#24 of 143 in Agra
475 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#17 of 143 in Agra
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road Near Taj Mahal, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $57 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing