We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, but loud road noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambal Safari Lodge
Ranked #4 of 191 Speciality Lodging in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but loud road noise”
Reviewed 28 February 2017

The rooms, staff and food at Chambal were all great, however it was let down by its close proximity to a very busy road. This detracted from the otherwise peace and quite. The boat trip on the river and visit to Bateshwar temples were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JahWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
Dear JahWigan

Thank you for your review. Very happy to note that you liked the rooms, staff and food at Chambal, and enjoyed the excursions to the Chambal Sanctuary and to the Temples. We have had an increase in the volume of traffic along our main road, and the noise carries despite the buffer of 500 metres of fields and trees between the road and the Lodge. This is a temporary issue due to maintenance works on the main highway 30 miles north of us, and should hopefully be rectified in the near future. We are however also planning further strategic plantation to help block any such future traffic noise.

All good wishes,
Team Chambal Safari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    67
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
54
78
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2017

What an amazing experience! I went there with my husband and we had the best holiday of our lives. We re city people so have never done anything remotely close to bird watching and river safari. We got to see such amazing things and even walking around the lodge itself we spotted a rare spotted owl as well as flying foxes, deers and Indian Hares. The Village tour was also really cool as well as the black buck safari where we got to relax with the locals that live around the mustard fields. Very authentic experiences, the most special part for us was meeting the people while we were on our tours. The team at Chambal had made our experience really memorable, Bashoo, our guide is very knowledgable and kind and the team most accommodating. The only comment I d have is to bring mosquito repellents as there are lots of mosquitos at night. Internet is also weak but we liked that because we got time to completely relax but we d recommend buying a sim card in advance if you need to roam during your time here. Thanks again team Chambal, we ll defitnitely come back! I would recommend anyone who is looking for authentic experiences and meeting amazing people, but wouldn't recommend for people who are looking for swanky luxury holidays.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Dear Em P

Thank you for your amazing review! It is always an enriching experience meeting discerning travelers, who travel with an open enquiring mind and share their joy in many little wonders that make our world special. The entire team enjoyed having you both over, showing you around our little corner, and the many wonderful conversations around the fire every evening. We look forward to seeing you again, and wish you all the very best for your future plans.

Team Chambal Safari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile



Awful food. We was ill whilst we was there.

Very expensive tours. If you don't have a car they make you book one. If you do have a car the hotels guide gets in it.

Very, very expensive. A place like this would be no more than £20 anywhere else.
The food and drink prices are outrageous.
300 rupee for a beer.
600 rupee breakfast
The food is bad. Tasteless.

The rooms do not have A/C, fridge or safe.
You have to beg for toiletries then they give you enough for 1 person for 1 shower.
A lot of fittings are broken.

They have a camp fire to congregate around but they do not put enough wood on it and do not tend it.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GoToGate13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Thank you for your review, the tone of which suggests you were trapped into coming, and forced to stay! Might I recommend a little more research planning your next holiday to find one that suits your tastes?

To address your specific points:
Yes, we are very quiet – exactly what we endeavor to provide – “an oasis of peace and tranquility”
We do not recall you being ill during your two-day stay with us, or complaining about the food.
You were happy enough with the excursion and especially when undertaking the complimentary nature and village walks on separate occasions.
The Tariff plan for meals, accommodation, excursions, was shared with you at the time of booking more than six months ago.
Being in a remote area with a highly unreliable bus service, we recommend guests arrive by pre-arranged taxi. We offer free board and lodging to accompanying drivers to help reduce costs. The lodge naturalist gets in the same vehicle to help guests 'see' along the drive to the sanctuary through countryside teeming with wildlife and experiences, not visible to the untrained eye.
Our food is local, organic, home cooked.
We have only two cottages without air-conditioning, and you opted to stay in one of those when you booked with us. None of the fittings are broken.
We provide premium standard-sized toiletries, replenished as required.
The camp-fire has a huge stockpile of wood stacked right next to it.

What is it they say about people who know the price of everything, but the value of nothing....
We wish you all the best for your future travel plans.
Team Chambal Safari



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for peace and quiet and don't mind paying a premium for a place to stay then this is the right hotel for you.

Not only is it expensive but because there are no restaurants nearby you have no alternative but to eat at the hotel the food is average at best but extremely expensive.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dibley1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 February 2017
Thank you for your review, a far more toned down version compared to your companion, but essentially the same theme. The omnipresent high-street ‘Taj Mahal Tandoori Palace’ has done a great dis-service to Indian food, trying to live up to the adage that a good curry must hurt! It might have made the 'curry' the British favorite, but it is certainly not the food Indians eat. We serve local specialties, fine-tuned over generations, with mainly local, organically grown ingredients. Fresh, wholesome, with a varied & subtle mix of spices. If all you wish to eat is the ubiquitous Butter Chicken, Dal Makhani etc we are certainly not the right place for you.

Glad you found us peaceful and tranquil.

Wishing you all the best for your future travel.
Team Chambal Safari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Our impressions:
- Naturalists / guides very knowledgeable and friendly
- Nature walks around the area very interesting for bird watching, the night walk was fun and the interactions with the local villagers were also great in our case
- Chambal river cruise also very good, animal spotting will obviously vary from day to day, but I would guess, from previous reviews and our own experience, that there's a big probability to see plenty of crocodiles and birds at least (we did see dolphins as well)
- Food was good (not great - a bit bland compared to other food in India)
- Staff friendly and accommodating (heated up dinner for us when we arrived later than expected)
- Our room was quite big and comfortable
- Internet available in common areas but rather weak

Overall a very nice and relaxing stay and unmissable if you like nature walks and animal (especially birds) sightings.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAG_in_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2017
Dear JAG_in-YVR,

Thank you for taking time to write a detailed review. It is good to know you found your visit a relaxing experience, enjoyed the varied excursions, and the facilities on the Lodge.
Wishing you all the best for your future travel.

Team Chambal Safari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
59.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
60.8 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
61.2 km away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#32 of 143 in Agra
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.8 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,943 reviews
59.4 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 143 in Agra
2,751 reviews
58.1 km away
Jaypee Palace Hotel & Convention Centre Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambal Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambal Safari Lodge

Property: Chambal Safari Lodge
Address: Mela Kothi Road, Agra 283104, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 191 Speciality Lodging in Agra
Price range (per night): $99 - $198
Hotel Class:2 star — Chambal Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run eco-lodge nestling in 35 acres of reclaimed land. An oasis of peace, tranquility, and gracious hospitality. An opportunity to explore the Chambal Valley. River Safari for Gharials, Marsh crocodiles, Gangetic river dolphins, and Indian skimmers. Jeep safaris for Black-buck & Sarus cranes. Camel safari to Fort Ater, and excursions to the medieval temple complex at Bateshwar - site of the second largest animal fair in India (Sonepur in Bihar being the largest). Nature walks and village walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chambal Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing