We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 79
USD 48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 59
USD 42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Courtyard Agra(Agra)
USD 58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 71
USD 54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 36
USD 24
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 33/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ITC Mughal, Agra(Agra)
USD 64
USD 54
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 71
USD 57
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 58
USD 52
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 504
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 618/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
121
79
12
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
79
12
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbateshwar templesriver dolphinsrural indiasarus cranesbird watchersnaturalist guideblack buckcamp fireexcellent naturalistthree night staythe main housegreater noidaprivate gardenpeace and quietnature walkhuge bathroommosquito repellent
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017

What a great place to stay an explore. We only had 2 nights there but we were able to visit the Bateshwar temples as well as a memorable boat trip on the Chambal river where we saw crocodiles, a fresh water dolphin, turtles and a huge array of birds. The lodge itself was gorgeous and so well maintained. We felt we were so well looked after and the owner and staff couldn't have been nicer. Such a great experience. Sitting by the fire, breakfasts to die for, spotting wildlife under the cover of dark with flashlights.....
Wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hellis248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Mela Kothi - The Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2017

Dear Hellis248,

Thank you for the glowing review. It is always a joy to meet discerning travelers, willing to explore and experience all that is on offer. Happy we could make your stay with us both enjoyable and memorable, and wishing you all the very best for your future travel.

Team Chambal Safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

If you are looking for a peace and relaxation then this is the place to be! The atmosphere is very relaxing, the staff extremely helpful and the food is good. We travelled with teenage kids and it was a great experience for them to be close to nature. The Chambal boat ride was quite beautiful on a cold foggy morning - its a treat for bird watchers. Our trip to Bateshwar was in late evening. The view of all the temples on the river is quite nice, however its not a very clean. our overall experience was excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divyaroyalexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Mela Kothi - The Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear divyaroyalexp,

Thank you for your review, and rating the overall experience as excellent. Chambal is indeed a magical place, but then we are a wee bit biased! We are fortunate to have such a wealth of natural, historical, and architectural gems in our backyard, and happy that we are able to share them with our guests.

All good wishes,
Team Chambal Safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Definitely a relaxing place with maintained gardens and easy access to a number of nature areas by the Chambal River. Total quiet at night; compact rooms, excellent mattresses, clean and overall comfortable. One needs time here to uncoil and enjoy nature. Meals were good, decent selection of regional vegetable dishes. The property has been in the family since the 15th century.

Room Tip: cabins are in small groupings within the forest setting, some distance from the restaurant and parking area.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MeropsOrnatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Mela Kothi - The Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our little oasis of peace and quiet, and wish you all the very best for your future travel.

Team Chambal Safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Leaving Agra we were driven to a village called Jarar near the Chambal river. Here we stayed at the Chambal Safari Lodge.

After a very hectic few days ‘doing’ the Golden Triangle with a side excursion to see the tigers of Ranthambhore the Chambal SF was idyllic. We fell in love with this place from the moment we arrived and were shown to our room - Gharial. It’s the one of the biggest hotel rooms we’ve had with a huge bed a three piece suite a dressing room a large bathroom with the best shower we had over our whole India trip and then to top it off it had a small sun balcony leading on to our own private garden - just heavenly.

But it didn’t just end there - the whole experience felt very much like a home from home stay than a hotel stay. The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and whilst the main courses were served buffet style there was a great variety - we stayed three nights and took breakfast, lunch and dinner each day (it’s quite remote so i don’t think you’ve have any other choice) and never had the same dishes twice during the stay. The chef and his staff went out of their way to makes sure you were happy with the food.

There are quite a few excursions that can be taken around the local area and whilst these were all explained to us we were under no pressure to partake of them. We did take two; one to the Chambal River which was just perfect - we saw a fantastic amount of wildlife and envoyed a cup of tea at sunset on the river and secondly we went to Bateshwar to visit the temples there - from the cleanest river in India to one of the dirtiest places in India but still an experience we wouldn't have missed.

The lodge has resident naturalists and we took a couple of short walks around the area with them them one in the morning when we ended up i n the local village enjoying a cup or two of chai and the other at night where we saw even more wildlife. At other times we just sat in the gardens reading and enjoying the wildlife which would come wandering past as you sat or just enjoying a cup of the on tap tea.

I can’t recommend Chambal highly enough. As I was lying relaxing there i though maybe a small swimming pool or a spa for a massage might improve it but having left i wouldn't change a thing. Heaven!

Room Tip: Gharial room was perfection
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Mela Kothi - The Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear MalcolmSu,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and fabulous review! So very glad you enjoyed your visit, the room, the food, the grounds, the excursions, and the ambience. We endeavour to provide a 'home away from home', and it is always wonderful when our guests articulate the same sentiment.

Thank you again, and wishing you all the very best.

Team Chambal Safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Absolutely loved it here.
Totally different to any other place we stayed on our travels and a place to which we would love to return.
Our lodge was bright and cosy with lovely decoration and the most comfortable beds.
Each lodge has a great seating area front and back from which, should you have time, you can sit and enjoy the birds and wildlife on your doorstep.
We thoroughly enjoyed all breakfasts and dinners and the added bonus of sitting round the camp fire in an evening with a glass of wine before turning in for the night.
The sounds of the night creatures were amazing from the squabbling of the fruit bats in the tree outside our lodge to the howls of the Jackals as darkness fell. This was a truly wonderful experience.
From here you can also do night walks, a river safari and visit the Beteshwar Temples all of which should not be missed.
A huge thank you to Bushbenda our naturalist throughout our stay who has great knowledge of the area and the creatures who inhabit it. We really enjoyed your company on all trips.
Also thank you Anu for making us so welcome.
We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Mela Kothi - The Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Nicola M,

Thank you for such a glowing review! It is always a pleasure to meet people who are interested in understanding and exploring their environment. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us, especially the peace and tranquility (except for the rather noisy birds, bats & jackals!). We look forward to seeing you again.

Team Chambal Safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews