We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bird and Nature watching”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambal Safari Lodge
Ranked #4 of 191 Speciality Lodging in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bird and Nature watching”
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Our impressions:
- Naturalists / guides very knowledgeable and friendly
- Nature walks around the area very interesting for bird watching, the night walk was fun and the interactions with the local villagers were also great in our case
- Chambal river cruise also very good, animal spotting will obviously vary from day to day, but I would guess, from previous reviews and our own experience, that there's a big probability to see plenty of crocodiles and birds at least (we did see dolphins as well)
- Food was good (not great - a bit bland compared to other food in India)
- Staff friendly and accommodating (heated up dinner for us when we arrived later than expected)
- Our room was quite big and comfortable
- Internet available in common areas but rather weak

Overall a very nice and relaxing stay and unmissable if you like nature walks and animal (especially birds) sightings.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAG_in_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2017
Dear JAG_in-YVR,

Thank you for taking time to write a detailed review. It is good to know you found your visit a relaxing experience, enjoyed the varied excursions, and the facilities on the Lodge.
Wishing you all the best for your future travel.

Team Chambal Safari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    67
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
54
78
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2017

What a great place to stay an explore. We only had 2 nights there but we were able to visit the Bateshwar temples as well as a memorable boat trip on the Chambal river where we saw crocodiles, a fresh water dolphin, turtles and a huge array of birds. The lodge itself was gorgeous and so well maintained. We felt we were so well looked after and the owner and staff couldn't have been nicer. Such a great experience. Sitting by the fire, breakfasts to die for, spotting wildlife under the cover of dark with flashlights.....
Wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellis248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2017
Dear Hellis248,

Thank you for the glowing review. It is always a joy to meet discerning travelers, willing to explore and experience all that is on offer. Happy we could make your stay with us both enjoyable and memorable, and wishing you all the very best for your future travel.

Team Chambal Safari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017

If you are looking for a peace and relaxation then this is the place to be! The atmosphere is very relaxing, the staff extremely helpful and the food is good. We travelled with teenage kids and it was a great experience for them to be close to nature. The Chambal boat ride was quite beautiful on a cold foggy morning - its a treat for bird watchers. Our trip to Bateshwar was in late evening. The view of all the temples on the river is quite nice, however its not a very clean. our overall experience was excellent!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divyaroyalexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 February 2017
Dear divyaroyalexp,

Thank you for your review, and rating the overall experience as excellent. Chambal is indeed a magical place, but then we are a wee bit biased! We are fortunate to have such a wealth of natural, historical, and architectural gems in our backyard, and happy that we are able to share them with our guests.

All good wishes,
Team Chambal Safari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Definitely a relaxing place with maintained gardens and easy access to a number of nature areas by the Chambal River. Total quiet at night; compact rooms, excellent mattresses, clean and overall comfortable. One needs time here to uncoil and enjoy nature. Meals were good, decent selection of regional vegetable dishes. The property has been in the family since the 15th century.

Room Tip: cabins are in small groupings within the forest setting, some distance from the restaurant and parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeropsOrnatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 16 January 2017
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our little oasis of peace and quiet, and wish you all the very best for your future travel.

Team Chambal Safari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Leaving Agra we were driven to a village called Jarar near the Chambal river. Here we stayed at the Chambal Safari Lodge.

After a very hectic few days ‘doing’ the Golden Triangle with a side excursion to see the tigers of Ranthambhore the Chambal SF was idyllic. We fell in love with this place from the moment we arrived and were shown to our room - Gharial. It’s the one of the biggest hotel rooms we’ve had with a huge bed a three piece suite a dressing room a large bathroom with the best shower we had over our whole India trip and then to top it off it had a small sun balcony leading on to our own private garden - just heavenly.

But it didn’t just end there - the whole experience felt very much like a home from home stay than a hotel stay. The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and whilst the main courses were served buffet style there was a great variety - we stayed three nights and took breakfast, lunch and dinner each day (it’s quite remote so i don’t think you’ve have any other choice) and never had the same dishes twice during the stay. The chef and his staff went out of their way to makes sure you were happy with the food.

There are quite a few excursions that can be taken around the local area and whilst these were all explained to us we were under no pressure to partake of them. We did take two; one to the Chambal River which was just perfect - we saw a fantastic amount of wildlife and envoyed a cup of tea at sunset on the river and secondly we went to Bateshwar to visit the temples there - from the cleanest river in India to one of the dirtiest places in India but still an experience we wouldn't have missed.

The lodge has resident naturalists and we took a couple of short walks around the area with them them one in the morning when we ended up i n the local village enjoying a cup or two of chai and the other at night where we saw even more wildlife. At other times we just sat in the gardens reading and enjoying the wildlife which would come wandering past as you sat or just enjoying a cup of the on tap tea.

I can’t recommend Chambal highly enough. As I was lying relaxing there i though maybe a small swimming pool or a spa for a massage might improve it but having left i wouldn't change a thing. Heaven!

Room Tip: Gharial room was perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear MalcolmSu,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and fabulous review! So very glad you enjoyed your visit, the room, the food, the grounds, the excursions, and the ambience. We endeavour to provide a 'home away from home', and it is always wonderful when our guests articulate the same sentiment.

Thank you again, and wishing you all the very best.

Team Chambal Safari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
59.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
60.8 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
61.2 km away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#32 of 143 in Agra
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.8 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,943 reviews
59.4 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 143 in Agra
2,751 reviews
58.1 km away
Jaypee Palace Hotel & Convention Centre Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambal Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambal Safari Lodge

Property: Chambal Safari Lodge
Address: Mela Kothi Road, Agra 283104, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 191 Speciality Lodging in Agra
Price range (per night): $99 - $198
Hotel Class:2 star — Chambal Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run eco-lodge nestling in 35 acres of reclaimed land. An oasis of peace, tranquility, and gracious hospitality. An opportunity to explore the Chambal Valley. River Safari for Gharials, Marsh crocodiles, Gangetic river dolphins, and Indian skimmers. Jeep safaris for Black-buck & Sarus cranes. Camel safari to Fort Ater, and excursions to the medieval temple complex at Bateshwar - site of the second largest animal fair in India (Sonepur in Bihar being the largest). Nature walks and village walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chambal Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing