We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 100
USD 48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 59
USD 42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 71
USD 54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 35
USD 24
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 31/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 71
USD 46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ITC Mughal, Agra(Agra)
USD 64
USD 54
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 48% below average rates

The price you found is 48% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 190
USD 52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 58/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Courtyard Agra(Agra)
USD 59
USD 57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 504
Oberoi Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 618/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
121
79
12
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
79
12
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbateshwar templesriver dolphinsrural indiasarus cranesbird watchersnaturalist guideblack buckcamp fireexcellent naturalistthree night staythe main housegreater noidaprivate gardenpeace and quietnature walkhuge bathroommosquito repellent
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Absolutely loved it here.
Totally different to any other place we stayed on our travels and a place to which we would love to return.
Our lodge was bright and cosy with lovely decoration and the most comfortable beds.
Each lodge has a great seating area front and back from which, should you have time, you can sit and enjoy the birds and wildlife on your doorstep.
We thoroughly enjoyed all breakfasts and dinners and the added bonus of sitting round the camp fire in an evening with a glass of wine before turning in for the night.
The sounds of the night creatures were amazing from the squabbling of the fruit bats in the tree outside our lodge to the howls of the Jackals as darkness fell. This was a truly wonderful experience.
From here you can also do night walks, a river safari and visit the Beteshwar Temples all of which should not be missed.
A huge thank you to Bushbenda our naturalist throughout our stay who has great knowledge of the area and the creatures who inhabit it. We really enjoyed your company on all trips.
Also thank you Anu for making us so welcome.
We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Mela Kothi - The Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Nicola M,

Thank you for such a glowing review! It is always a pleasure to meet people who are interested in understanding and exploring their environment. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us, especially the peace and tranquility (except for the rather noisy birds, bats & jackals!). We look forward to seeing you again.

Team Chambal Safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

For us, this was a strange experience. On the one hand, this lodge is in a good location, close to the nature reserve and surrounded by wonderful birdlife. However, the rooms are strangely designed without any outside space to sit and watch the wildlife. We actually asked to be downgraded to what was clearly a better room (but not according to the lodge) However, it took us a while to find anyone to speak to. The food here was the worst we had anywhere but some of the large coach trips seemed happy with it so I can see how they ended up producing bland food. Lots to do in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaW2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Mela Kothi - The Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Thank you for your review. We are a bit surprised, as ALL our rooms have outside spaces to sit and watch the wildlife, as well as enclosed outdoor spaces to allow people a degree of privacy, should they desire it. In fact, a quick scroll through previous trip-reports shows most visitors extol the joys of seeing the wildlife sitting in the verandah outside their rooms, or inside through the large windows designed for the very purpose.

I am sorry you found our food bland, it is a matter of personal choice and difficult for us to comment on. We will however say, our kitchen 'produces' what our guests have enjoyed eating over these many years - wholesome, organic, fresh home-cooked food with a subtle mix of spices rather than a fistful of chillies. Furthermore, our Chef is always present at mealtimes checking for feedback from all the guests, and is ever accommodating of any specific requests.

We have only 13 rooms/cottages - much too small a property size to accommodate large coach loads. And, with a team of more than 20 catering to these 13 cottages, difficult to imagine there was no-one to speak to!

We wish you all the very best for your future travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile


Chambal Safari Lodge-Mela Kothi nestled in Jarar village just about an hour’s drive from Agra is a fantastic home away from home for bird enthusiasts and nature lovers. Mela Kothi as the name suggests was originally the local Zamindar’s “Kothi” (Villa) used traditionally during the annual cattle fair held in the area. Today, the family has beautifully  restored the family heritance to create a sprawling Nature Serai. 


The guest houses (wouldn’t want to spoil its charm by calling it a hotel) comprise of several mini-serais nestled in the midst of a cluster of local trees- Neem Serai, Imli Serai and Bougan Serai to name a few. Each cottage has been done up tastefully,  in harmony with local surroundings. The rooms are spacious and equipped with all modern amenities that you need in the wilderness including a solar-powered lamp/torch. The power supply at Mela Kothi is erratic  but the power-back up is quite good. The forte at Mela Kothi is its harmony with nature. Everything from the #OutdoorLunch, #CampFire, #Hammock and  #ABedUnderTheStars will keep you feeling rejuvenated. 


The wildlife and birding experience at the Lodge is fantastic. The naturalists are well informed and enthusiastic. The Chambal safari itself is an outstanding experience. Any wildlife and nature enthusiast will definitely enjoy the boat ride down India’s undoubtedly cleanest river. Be prepared for a marine delight to greet you-the river Safari offers great sightings of the Indian Ghariyal, Crocodiles, Turtles and plenty of migratory birds. It is also the home of the Gangetic dolphin whose sightings are not as sure-shot as the other fauna in the area. The Lodge itself is home to several resident birds, animals and reptiles. Make sure to go for the Night walk. 

Chambal Safari Lodge is one of those places where your heart says #YehDilMaangeMore!

 

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank vrmshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Mela Kothi - The Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again #YehDilMaangeMore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Chambal is only a short drive (1.5 hours) from Agra but it's a complete contrast to the hustle and bustle of Indian cities. We loved staying there and were able to completely unwind. We seemed to have done an awful lot in only 2 days but it was all wonderfully relaxed. Our room and the food were both great. Outstanding were the services of our naturalist guide, Pushpendra (Push) Singh who was highly knowledgeable and with an infectious enthusiasm for the wildlife around Chambal. As well as our river cruise, we also visited Bateshwar where the views of the many temples lining the river are particularly beautiful at sunset.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Owner at Mela Kothi - The Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Dear Sarah P,

Thank you for a lovely review. There is much that makes Chambal special, and we are glad we were able to share some of the magic with you. Pushpendra, is but naturally, thrilled to bits seeing his name in print, and even more enthused (if that is possible!).

Wishing you all the very best,

Team Chambal Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Chambal Safari Lodge is one of the most amazing stays that we have had. We are regular travellers and its one of those few places that we have decided to visit again (and again). What makes the place so special is the warmth of the owners and you come back feeling that you visited a friend. The cottages are roomy, comfortable, eclectic and have a very personal touch. You feel the bigheartedness of the owners Anu and her husband every where. The staff are courteous and cheerful. The river safari is breathtaking. Chambal is pristine and clean and one can spot plenty of crocodiles, gharials, turtles and river dolphins. Birding enthusiasts can feast their eyes on 100+ varieties of birds and the cottage has its in house naturalists to take you around. The drive from Delhi is a breeze on the yamuna expressway and you can comfortably cover 270 kms in 3 hrs without any traffic hassles. Over all the entire experience gives you money's worth and you come back rested and rejuvenated.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhavani_shanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPSJ, Manager at Mela Kothi - The Chambal Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Dear Bhavani_shanks

Thank you!

It was a pleasure having you all stay with us, and the whole team was charmed by your kind & gracious manner. We look forward to seeing you again (and again!).

All good wishes,
Team Chambal Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews