We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less well known river wildlife santuary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambal Safari Lodge
Ranked #4 of 191 Speciality Lodging in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Less well known river wildlife santuary”
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Chambal Safari Lodge is a little off the main track but is a little gem. Best known as a "birding sanctuary" the whole area and the sanctuary along the river is a perfect way to commence a wildlife trip to India. My guide was brilliant - he could spot and identify birds in the distance that I could only see with binoculars and ten times out of ten, he was correct - there are times when less than perfect expertise is preferred but he was good. The river safari was meant to be a couple of hours and turned into four or five and the wildlife was spectacular with gharial, marsh crocs, Indian skimmers, various turtles, various kingfishers, lesser whistling ducks and many many others. I disturbed a mongoose outside my cottage and a big tree adjacent was a roost for flying foxes. The accommodation wasnt 5 star but it was still very good with everything you need. The venue was quiet with the guests being there for one purpose only - nature watching - so everything else was secondary. Food was generally on a buffet basis but was very well prepared. Everything I had was good and was washed down with Masalla chai - what else would you drink in India ! The property is on its way back up having been a family residence for a number of generations until the mid 20th century - it hosted a major horse fayre back in the day but as that declined so did the property. It is now being renovated and looks good as a result. The staff are all locals which is good - another example of inward investment to help with the local community, something India should be proud of. My stay there was all too short but the memories and pictures are something to look back on fondly as this was wholly unexpected. There were several families there during my stay, each fully kitted with discrete blending clothing and camera - you could conclude that this is a serious wildlife destination by those in the know but it is a little less up itself than that - they aim to cover all levels from beginner to expert and do so without patronising you. Brilliant little gem, go and have a look.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but wear a mosquito net at night -
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _steve_v_batchelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    67
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
54
78
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2016

The Chambal Safari Lodge is a oasis of peace in a beautiful forest location. Set amidst trees and shrubs, it consists of a central lodge and individual cabins located for maximum privacy. Abundant birdlife makes a walk in the vicinity a safari in itself!! The cabins are very comfortable and private, the food at the lodge was superb (lunch in the gardens a real bonus!) and the staff very efficient and obliging. It was a wonderful location to relax and regroup during our travels. The Lodge offers a variety of safari options; we did the trip on the beautiful Chambal River with a very knowledgeable and informative guide and were treated to sightings of numerous crocodiles, endangered gharial, blind river dolphin and species of birds. Superb.

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Our family of 2 adults and 3 children (9,11 and 14) spent an all but brief time at this lovely lodge which is two hours south of Agra. Suresh and the team provided a very warm and attentive welcome, accommodating us very generously in two interconnecting rooms which were perfect for us. The food at dinner was a variety of freshly cooked vegetarian dishes aswell as fish kebabs and a delicious chicken curry. Kids loved the banana cake with chocolate and the lime sodas were possibly one of the best we had on our trip.
One of the staff, Dipesh did a night walk with us which was good fun where we saw owls, hares, wild cats although gn the jackals which we tried hard to find remained elusive!
The River Safari on the protected Chambal River the next day was a true highlight. We saw countless birds ( Skylarks, Egrets, Herons, Sarus cranes and many more) in this serene and beautiful a part of the country as well as the Gharials, crocodiles and river Dolphins which kept the kids well entertained. Our guide Bachu Singh was phenomenal in his grasp of bird knowledge aswell as the history and social context of the area.
A little out of the way of the regular tourist trail and probably most fully enjoyed in the cooler months, Chambal is a slice of something different.

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Gunjit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2016

A " must " for any avid road traveler , 70 Kms off Agar towards Firozabad is the gateway to the UP side of the Chambal ravines . Nested close to the ravines is this beautiful Lodge called " Mela Kothi " or the Chambal Safari Lodge , run by this wonderful couple " Anu & Ram " who moved away from their hectic city and corporate life to settle in this over 100 year old ancestral house . Spread over a large area with lush green covers makes this place an habitat for birds and wildlife . In our short stay we spotted over 30 species of birds and wildlife .
For your accommodation there are multiple cottages which are very tastefully done keeping in the sprit of the jungle with your own private backyards overlooking the forests . The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and can easily accommodate a family of four without the need of an extra bed . The meals were well done with multiple varieties and options to offer , even taking note of personal preference with respect to children and adults . The staff i was told was mostly locals were extremely helpful , courteous and well trained . We also went for the river safari which is managed by the team at the resort , with sightings of the Ghadials / Crocs and the river dolphins making the trip a memorable one . I must for your weekend getaways !

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasenjit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Chambal safari lodge, Melakothi, Jarar Agra is situated on etawah Agra via bah road. The ancestral property has been properly developed in to a resort by Mr. Ram pratap Singh and Mrs Anu dhillon.The resort is rich in trees which gives it a look of mini forest. They organise conducted tours to national chambal sanctuary(NCS), camel ride and blackbuck safari. The right time to visit is winters where many species of migratory birds visit NCS. Apart from migratory birds the area is known for Indian Skimmer and Gharial.

Stayed December 2015, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank praveenkoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
59.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
60.8 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
61.2 km away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#32 of 143 in Agra
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.8 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,943 reviews
59.4 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 143 in Agra
2,751 reviews
58.1 km away
Jaypee Palace Hotel & Convention Centre Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambal Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambal Safari Lodge

Property: Chambal Safari Lodge
Address: Mela Kothi Road, Agra 283104, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 191 Speciality Lodging in Agra
Price range (per night): $99 - $198
Hotel Class:2 star — Chambal Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run eco-lodge nestling in 35 acres of reclaimed land. An oasis of peace, tranquility, and gracious hospitality. An opportunity to explore the Chambal Valley. River Safari for Gharials, Marsh crocodiles, Gangetic river dolphins, and Indian skimmers. Jeep safaris for Black-buck & Sarus cranes. Camel safari to Fort Ater, and excursions to the medieval temple complex at Bateshwar - site of the second largest animal fair in India (Sonepur in Bihar being the largest). Nature walks and village walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chambal Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing