We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
89
71
23
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
71
23
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea factoryapproach roadfoot hillsbooked a superior roomhigh ground clearancehighest peak of south indiahilly terrainpick up and dropentire ootyrooms are amazingbad shapenice place to visitadventure sportsexcellent viewrest assuredreached ootyaccess road
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Property is no doubt superb. The way to reach there is quite upset u first but once u reach there u vl forget all. Rooms are spacious, Clean. View is also great. Every room has separate balcony that's the plus point. Food is ok ok...rest mast

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Amit7488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay at Berry Hills. Since this resort is bit away from the city and at a good height, you get lovely views of the ooty town. Also, you can get to and from the hotel without going through the city traffic. It's right next to the tea factory and en route to doddabetta. The approach is road not tarred and steep. It requires a skilled driver as well a vehicle with good ground clearance (like an innova or a jeep). The hotel offers pickup and drop facility to the tea factory.

Coming to the rooms. The rooms are comfortable and bathrooms are neat. It's not a luxury hotel, but still worth the price (we got rooms for around 4K in peak season). Please ask for rooms in the front of the hotel. The food available is good, especially considering that the overall quality of food in ooty is quite low for those travelling from cities like Bangalore.

The staff are helpful. We did have an issue with the rooms as I had asked for front rooms but those rooms were given away by the time we reached. But I believe this happened because of miscommunication and change in staff.

Hope this review is helpful and you have a wonderful holiday!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank MridulaV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile


Berry hills is a quaint place in the foothills of ooty which will give you a feel of home stay with not much branding & hotel hustle - bustle. 

Location 

Berry hills is situated in the foot hills of ooty & is near by the Ooty tea factory. There is an rough unmetal road that leads you to berry hills from tea factory point. Hotel also provides free pick up from tea factory point as most of the taxis will not go down to the hotel. 

Rooms 

Rooms were quite spacious & they also have a balcony attached which shows you the beautiful view of ooty town. Since it is located away from the main town, a sense of peace & relief can be felt. Bathroom has the shower cubicle. 

Food 

They have one restaurant & a limited room service menu. They ask you in advance to place the order so that it can be prepared but i guess that's only in low occupancy time. Quality of food was okay. 

Staff 

As it's a small property, I didn't see much of the staff however all the staff was genuine & welcoming. 

If you are looking for spending 1-2 days without spending much & also want to stay in a quiet place do check berry hills. 

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank NitishJ20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

See, this is not like your regular lodging stays and is slightly unique and unorthodox. But Families and Couples would really love the stay here. Lets see the plus and minuses of this:
PLUS:
1.FANTASTIC AMBIENCE AND SURROUNDINGS - The resort itself is nice, serene and peaceful and beautifully maintained and in addition gives you a fantastic panoramic view of the Ooty town below, overlooking the valley. I wonder whether you will get such a beautiful view from your balcony in any of the other resorts in ooty.
2.FANTASTIC STAFF - The front desk and reception staff are extremely helpful, warm and courteous and they look to that you are placed wonderfully in comfort. I should especially thank the manager Mr.Shankar in particular, who actually went out of the way to overwhelm me with his helpfulness, and made our stay really comfortable!
3.TEA FACTORY & MUSEUM - Named "BENCHMARK", there are 2 factories adjacent to each other located just ~500m uphill from the resort on the main Ooty-Dodabetta-Kotagiri road. Every item in your must-buy list in this trip viz., Chocolates, Tea varieties, "ooty special" Varkey, all the herbal products like Eucalyptus oil etc, Delicious wine can be bought in this single place. All their products are of the best quality.
4.LOCATION - The resort is located just 4-5km from the ooty town centre and most of the tourist spots like Botanical garden, Rose garden, Boat house, Dodabetta are located within 5km travel from the resort.

MINUS -
IDENTIFYING THE RESORT AND REACHING IT - This is one aspect that may seem difficult at least initially, because the resort is located ~500m downhill from the above mentioned BENCHMARK tea factories and a separate poorly laid mud/stone path leads you downhill from the tea factories. So, your GPS will lead you till the tea factories even when you search using the resort name, and then keeps on rerouting. So, my suggestion is, keep the BENCHMARK tea factories as your GPS target. Reach the Tea factory no.2 (owned by the resort itself) and call the resort front desk. They will immediately arrange a bolero/sumo to get you to the resort downhill. Own vehicles can be parked in the 'upper parking space' of the 2nd tea factory.

MY SUGGESTIONS :
1.For buying the items above mentioned, Tea factory No.1 is better than 2
2.Own vehicles with high ground clearance can reach the resort through the poor path but vehicles like Honda city etc. with poor ground clearance, it is better to take the hotel vehicle to reach the resort. (But rest assured! the parking is absolutely safe and the front desk promptly arranges you a vehicle at any time of the day!)
3.The road work has already begun and the manager said that the works might get completed in another 2 or 3 months.
4.The restaurant food is okay to good; Since only few guests stay in midweek, the restaurant doesn't function 24x7, you will get only breakfast which is good but lunch and dinner would be prepared only on request; but on weekends, the resort is usually full so restaurant will function throughout.
5.No centralised room heater and water heater; Individual heaters present in bathroom that functioned adequately and they said that room heaters may be provided on request, But during our stay, we did not need any room heater.
6.Check-in and check-out times are strictly folllowed!!! Hence plan your arrival/departure accordingly!

OVERALL, ONE OF MY BEST STAY EXPERIENCES! I FULLY RECOMMEND THIS STAY TO MY FELLOW TRAVELERS WITH BOTH MY THUMBS UP !!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor with the balcony overlooking the beautiful valley beneath!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terryblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent view of lush green mountains and Ooty town from the hotel room. Exceptional hospitality by the staffs. Comfortable stay in the midst of nature. Only issue is the approach road but the hotel provides vehicles in that stretch.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pritam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews