We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,501 results
Traveller rating
644
562
148
59
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
562
148
59
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews time share holiday activities house keeping main building room service travel desk great resort special thanks memorable holiday front office special mention in room dining recommend this resort housekeeping staff dinner buffet buffet spread play area
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 1,501 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Easter weekend at sterling fern hill with friends. Initially we had problems while check in to rooms we had booked later solved.
Location: Hotel is located not far from city but has the best view from the room.

Dinning : breakfast spread was awesome with loads of choice , do not miss the sambar nd chutney spreads. Dinner on Easter evening was not so good. Did not like the taste of non veg it was too oily. Overall good food.

Rooms: Neat and spacious rooms well maintained. Specifically rooms above reception area are recommended.

Activities : good activities arrange every evening at hotel area. Apart from that we can explore other play area, indoor games nd Spa.

Overall a great experience at this property and special thanks to Ravinder who was very kind to give us rooms as we booked 3 rooms and wanted near by. He also recommend us best places to visit in Ooty.

Had a great long weekend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Sapna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Sir/Ma’am,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday at
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill. We’re glad you loved your stay.

Our location is one of our plus points; we’re glad you loved it and the scenic views from the room. It’s also great to hear you liked our breakfast spread; our chefs are much pleased.

We’ve noted your feedback about the quality of the non-veg items and will take it up with the management.

Thank you for all the kind words about our amenities, in-house activities, and our staff service, especially Ravinder; we’ll convey your regards to him.

It was great hosting you; do come again.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I stayed with wife and son in Sterling between 29 Mar - 1 April.
To start with location - It's great with our premier room having view of the nilgiris.
The approach road is narrow but I think that is pretty much the case with most of the internal roads in Ooty.
Our room was spacious with an attached balcony and queen size bed sufficient for 2 adults and a kid, ours is a 5 yr old.
There is also a sofa cum bed sufficient for a small adult.
It had microwave oven and cutlery items in the kitchen.
Bathroom is average in size.
We took package with breakfast, spread is good.
Dinner buffet has good variety as well.
In-room service is also good, we had chettinad chicken which was awesome.
Ordered Dal khichdi for the kid which was delicious.
The resort has a small garden and open area in addition to kids play area and activities for adults.
Parking is also not a concern as they have sufficient parking space.
Had to order towels as housekeeping seemed to running short of them due to peak period.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Shubhankar187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Namaste!

Thank you for sharing a positive feedback of your holiday at Sterling – Ooty Fern Hill.

Our resort is aimed at providing a holidaying experience like no other where our guests can connect, spend time with their loved ones and enjoy the hospitality of the highest standard. We are particularly glad that you enjoyed our gourmet delights to the fullest.
We would love to be your hospitality partner in your next endeavor.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I was 5months pregnant n really wanted a back massage we went to different spa centres but they refused as I was carrying but when we approached tatvva spa manager ( sachin ) he was very polite and gave us details about pregnancy massage, techniques they use while massaging he introduced massage therapist to me and made me comfortable for massage session, room was very neat n clean , oils they have n use is really good for your hair and skin, staff are very polite , prices are reasonable ( we got good discount for couple massage ) would love to visit tatvva spa again n definitely recommend people to this place.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank HoneyS706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Namaste!

We are glad that you enjoyed the spa at Sterling – Ooty Fern Hill.

Thank you for speaking so highly of our spa. It is aimed to ensure that all our guests can be rejuvenated thanks to our highly trained masseuse.
Do visit us again!

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

It was a wonderful 3 days stay at Sterling ! The weather was excellent and the town was with less crowd as the schools are yet to close! The stay , the food and the entertainment at Sterling Fernhill invite us for yet another visit this year! Great vacation with family!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank cjragu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Namaste!

We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful vacation at Sterling – Ooty Fern Hill.

Our resort is aimed at providing a holidaying experience like no other where our guests can connect, spend time with their loved ones and enjoy the hospitality of the highest standard. Providing nothing but the best extends to our dining menu as well and we are glad that you enjoyed it to the fullest.
We await the chance to host you again!

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

I was staying in the privilege suite. Most of the appliances were run down and dirty. When we entered our room there was a broken curtain rod! The bathroom floor was very sticky and slippery. It took ages for room service to come. There are many more hotels which are worth the 7000 rs you pay (per day). There was a limited amount of space. There were also only wifi in public places. The buffet was ok. If you are going to Ooty you should not stay here.

Room Tip: One balcony is good.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank _rohjacob05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Sir/Ma’am,
Namaste!

We are extremely regretful to learn that your stay at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill was dissatisfying. We are coordinating with the Resort Management Team regarding your feedback to prevent such aberrations in future. We request you to kindly excuse this as an unfortunate exception to our usual standards of service as holidays at Sterling are all about comfort and luxury. We hope to have the privilege of serving you again at our resorts, and we promise not to disappoint you.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews