We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Delicious Food and Hospitality was really good”
Review of Cafe Diem

Cafe Diem
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Coonoor
Price range: USD 6 - USD 14
Description: A cafe that's an all day dining option from 11am to 6pm. Soups, salads, panini sandwiches, pastas thin crust pizzas, crepes, tarts - savoury and sweet, ice creams and more. Make a reservation if planning lunch at the cafe. Weekends are very busy and reserving your table is highly recommended.Food is not served on the open deck for the safety of our clients as there is a monkey menace. Wednesday’s CLOSED
Restaurant details
Description: A cafe that's an all day dining option from 11am to 6pm. Soups, salads, panini sandwiches, pastas thin crust pizzas, crepes, tarts - savoury and sweet, ice creams and more. Make a reservation if planning lunch at the cafe. Weekends are very busy and reserving your table is highly recommended.Food is not served on the open deck for the safety of our clients as there is a monkey menace. Wednesday’s CLOSED
Reviewed 11 October 2018

The food was very very delicious , the ambiance of the Cafe was very artistically done . loved the place and the Host was taking care of us so nicely . It is a must visit in Coonor

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Fariza212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekaanth, Owner at Cafe Diem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to note that you liked the food, the ambience and the personalised hospitality. Look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2018

Listened to all the hype and visited this place. Food was mediocre and the too all over the place. Could not sit at their outdoor tables ( monkeys ). Also, note to management: not all customers want to be greeted by the owner!! Give your customers so space please.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Dr Lakshman U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Great food coming off an interesting menu. Cosy interiors and with good service.The location of the restaurant is nice. One aspect to note is that private conversations are not possible, so go there to keep it light and social !

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank nku177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekaanth, Owner at Cafe Diem, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Great food. Terrific ambience. Owners personal touch in every aspect. Makes it a must visit restaurant for atleast one meal if you’re in the vicinity

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank AbhijitM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekaanth, Owner at Cafe Diem, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you so much. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Had heard a lot about this place, but in the end I guess the expectations were very high. The location is beautiful, but unfortunately, you cannot sit outside because of the monkeys.
The food was average, I guess the limited options in Coonoor, gives it a relative advantage.
Would I visit again - not sure, I honestly didn't think that it was Value for the buck.The portions are extremely limited and not sufficient for 1 person. The quality of the ingredients is fresh and the food as such is tasty..but not extraordinary.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PBalachandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekaanth, Owner at Cafe Diem, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

I am sorry to note that we did not live up to your expectations. The cost of running a place like this in the hills is high. We make everything g fresh on a daily basis and what’s available in the market on that day’s gets to your table. Logistically this concept is expensive. Nevertheless, we value your feedback and will take some corrective action. I do hope to chat with you more on the subject if you visit the café again or in a call if you have my number. Thank you for making tone to visit Café Diem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Diem also viewed

Coonoor, The Nilgiris District
Coonoor, The Nilgiris District
 
Coonoor, The Nilgiris District
Coonoor, The Nilgiris District
 
Coonoor, The Nilgiris District
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
 

Been to Cafe Diem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing