We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Swiss barn in the nilgiris ”
Review of Cafe Diem

Cafe Diem
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Coonoor
Price range: USD 6 - USD 14
Description: A cafe that's an all day dining option from 11am to 6pm. Soups, salads, panini sandwiches, pastas thin crust pizzas, crepes, tarts - savoury and sweet, ice creams and more. Make a reservation if planning lunch at the cafe. Weekends are very busy and reserving your table is highly recommended.Food is not served on the open deck for the safety of our clients as there is a monkey menace. Wednesday’s CLOSED
Restaurant details
Description: A cafe that's an all day dining option from 11am to 6pm. Soups, salads, panini sandwiches, pastas thin crust pizzas, crepes, tarts - savoury and sweet, ice creams and more. Make a reservation if planning lunch at the cafe. Weekends are very busy and reserving your table is highly recommended.Food is not served on the open deck for the safety of our clients as there is a monkey menace. Wednesday’s CLOSED
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

A tasteful little nook hidden in the hills. The ambience inside and the views outside are fabulous.... neat and clean, refreshing and relaxing are the words that come to mind.

tried the various soups and salads... over a few different visits.. As a healthy and my kinda food option in the hills is not easy...

The pumpkin soup was my absolute favourite.. though a close second is their mushroom soup. Their version of Mediterranean tabouleh was delicious...The Nicoise salad and watermelon salad was equally good. Their deserts are lovely, orange cake, the palm jaggery ice cream ( can't remember the name) Ooh tasty is the least one can say . Then they do these incredible crepes.. Burp!!! Filling and satisfying food with great friendly service and the personal attention of the owner... A class experience that must not be missed....

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank DunamisArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekaanth, Owner at Cafe Diem, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for recognising our efforts to provide great food, a pleasant ambience and good service. My team and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely Cappuccino which was served with a small yum biscuit. They don’t serve food outside but this little plant accompanied us where we sat to enjoy our coffee which is served outside! Second visit and really enjoyed the place and good service.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank AFSTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekaanth, Owner at Cafe Diem, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Took my friends from the Middle East to eat at Diem, today. They said that the falafel that was served was better than the best that they had eaten all over the world! Keep it up Radhika!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Palnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekaanth, Owner at Cafe Diem, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Awww thank you so much for your patronage. My team and I will do our bestest to serve the tastiest food we can dish out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Fabulous food and amazing view.the desserts are also very good.evening 4 would be the ideal time to go there to enjoy the food and then have desserts in the outside sessions

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank dujaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekaanth, Owner at Cafe Diem, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thank you very much. Glad you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

In short i like to tell that .......

Very expensive restaurant mainly aiming foreigners (because the rates are not of normal for this taste of food & ambiance if your compares with other cafes in South India.)

The host (friend of owner Radhika) from Kerala was extremely smart ,too good in sales & networking.Unlike some cafe s, she goes to each tables & tries to build a bond between customer with some topics.

Regarding restaurant, ambiance is pleasing atmosphere, decent interior, Food ok ( no complaints on taste ,but not extra ordinary taste for the rate ),completely vegetarian cuisine

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ThAnUsHaNaVaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Diem also viewed

Coonoor, The Nilgiris District
Coonoor, The Nilgiris District
 
Coonoor, The Nilgiris District
Coonoor, The Nilgiris District
 
Coonoor, The Nilgiris District
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
 

Been to Cafe Diem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing