We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bright and clean hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mewar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mewar Haveli
Ranked #27 of 149 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bright and clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was one of the cleanest hotels we stayed in while in India. The rooms had fresh paint and different designs painted on the ceillings and walls.

The location was great with everything within walking distance.

The rooftop area had great views and really nice seating.

While this hotel is good value for the cost, I did feel that they were trying to find ways to make more money off of its guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller4_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    317
    77
    32
    13
See reviews for
197
322
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Mewar was a lovely hotel and very good value for money. Like everyone says the location is great, we arrived at dinner time so went straight upto the restaurant for dinner with a view! The hotel is clean and nicely decorated, staff on front desk were very friendly and helpful.

The only thing that i felt let the place down was in fact the restaurant. while the food was pretty good the service was a little too over the top, sometimes its nice to be left alone for more than five minutes at a time while you eat, the staff also seemed reluctant to charge our food bills to the room even though we really appreciated being able to do this. It really was only a minor blemish and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mewar and at Udaipur.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethW36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The hotel itself is an old refurbished building that has its best assets in the restaurant and in the rooms. The location is fantastic, walking distance to all the main attractions and just 20 metres away from the lake.
The sunsets from the rooftop are amazing, you can see the lake and its palace and the surrounding mountains.
-our rooom was one of the best rooms we´ve had in India. So if you wish to have a special time with your love one, ask for the room that is surrounded by windows with full view of the lake and the mountains. At night, when the lights of the city where on, the sight was delightful. It is a very romantic room.
When we arrived, we didn´t have our room ready and they were very kind so as to give us a provisional room so that we can rest after a long car journey

Room Tip: if you want a romantic experience, ask for the room in the picture
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Facundo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shimla, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

the moment we entered our rooms they smelled lovely...looked lovely..and we felt welcomed!
the view from the restaurants is just splendid and to add to it the food was yum!!
the hotel staff arranged for local site seeing as well as trip to haldighati etc with great ease!
overall great value for money and i recommend you to book your rooms well in advance so that you can get the best view rooms...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DkAnwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2012. When we arrived we received a very friendly welcome and were shown the dining room and the roof top before being taken to our room. Our room 201 was beautiful with a 4 poster bed, with very nice blue and yellow bedspread matching the curtains.The hotel has lovely interior painted walls and ceilings and our room was no exception and we had a lovely painted ceiling of flowers. The room was fairly spacious, exceptionally clean, a very comfortable bed and wonderful views over Lake Pichola. Small shower room but hot water. Breakfast was basic, juice, choice of eggs, toast, fruit and coffee or tea but very good. The hotel has a lovely roof top restaurant where you can sit and sunbathe during the day, unfortunately it was a bit cold to sit up there at night for dinner so we ate in the restaurant on the floor below again with lovely views over the lake. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. All the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make us welcome particularly Harish and Kamal the owners. Whilst staying in Udaipur go to the Folklore and Puppet show at the Bagore-Ki-Haveli museum, the show is excellent. In addition to recommending the food at Mewar Haveli, we can also recommend the Lake Pichola Hotel - rooftop restaurant with views over the palace, but also has brasiers to keep you warm. Just watch your bill as they charged us incorrectly. We also ate at Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel - you need to reserve a table. Lovely views over the lake. More expensive than the other restaurants but very nice. We loved Udaipur and would definitely stay at the Mewar Haveli Hotel if we return to Udiapur.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skier54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 149 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.8 km away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 149 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.0 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 149 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#49 of 149 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#58 of 149 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#35 of 149 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewar Haveli

Property: Mewar Haveli
Address: 34-35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price range (per night): $35 - $54
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mewar Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Mewar haveli "A Traditional Hotel" welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Mewar Haveli is a 12 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by Elivator (lift) and by stair.All rooms in the hotel are aircondition rooms and offer basic amenities.The hotel is not selling the rooms as a lake view or lake faceing.The hotel have more less all rooms have a standerd size (110 sq.Ft).Our suggestion higher floor rooms need to reserve 2 to 3 months in advance Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel near city palace and jagdish temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mewar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mewar Haveli Udaipur
Mewar Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing