We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay at Devra !!”
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devra Udaipur
Ranked #24 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorable stay at Devra !!”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Many thanks to Major Durga Das from all of us for the arrangements for our stay at Devra. It
was really a great experience. My mother and my family enjoyed the five days of stay at Devra at Udaipur.
Many thanks to Jyoti ji for the excellent food and hospitality.
Hope to return to Devra someday !!

Room Tip: Please give your preferences in advance !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    61
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
77
119
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We visited Devra for 2 Night stay in October, 2011. The property is away from the main city and if you are travelling from Ahmedabad you have to cross the entire city to reach the hotel - well Devra is a not a hotel - as they dont call themselves so - very rightly!!

So, having your own vehicle is recommended. But even without it if you dont like to stay in cramped places or so called hotels around lake without parking - Devra is a very good option. If you like GREEN just like us and like enjoying morning tea with a beautiful view and mist in the air Devra is THE place if you are in Udaipur!

Regarding food - I guess they only serve dinner and no lunches - Food was good and so is the slow service with dedicated table waiting for you. A BIG letdown was the breakfast - very ordinary and with few options especially if you are planning to go for a day trip to the city you need good heavy breakfast. Since the rentals are very good - I hope Major Das would take a note of this and would add on more variety to bhreakfast as I am looking forward to go back.

Overall, if you dont mind satying at outskirts in a peace & green environment and dont need TV in room - Devra is waiting for you!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memilind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Didnt like this stay, as it is too far from the town and felt a bit like boarding school. The owners are polite,but the service staff lool very fearful that they might do the wrong thing, it was quite uncomfortable.Rooms ok but the smell of moth balls is overpowering. We discarded them every time we got back to the room but low and behold they were there again the next day. The beds are super hard, didn't get much sleep.Rupert (the dog) and I am a dog lover can be a bit too friendly when you are having breakfast. We had dinner twice there and if you feel like anything other than Indian then eat elsewhere. Wasn't the best I had in India, but I suppose I was lucky else where. Would I stay again, I dont think so, needs a pool and too far out but if you like a place where there is not much to do it may be right for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flybuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The 6 of us visited Udaipur as part of a 3 week tour of India and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The previous 3 or 4 reviews accurately capture our opinions of this lovely hotel, so I won't repeat them.

The staff are shy and extremely deferential (while this was often our experience in India, at the Devra some of the staff truly seemed fearful of making a mistake). While not off-putting, some of our group wondered at what seemed to be an unnecessarily high level of anxiety in serving tea or eggs.

Well worth the visit.

A final note on tipping: do it! As Canadians, we were all privileged to be travelling in India. We we continually shocked throughout our trip at our fellow international travellers who refused to provide any tip to the staff who served them in restaurants and hotels. Considering that an appropriate tip would only cost a few extra dollars (quite literally), this conduct bordered on the offensive to us. If you can afford to be travelling, you can afford the few extra dollars in tips for people who truly live on next to nothing!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I tried to write a detail review raising the place, but ironically tripadvisor is not allowing me to upload it saying "cant accept reviews that use profanity"!!!

so keeping it brief.. great place and a must to consider if you are visiting Udaipur.

Room Tip: Ask for new rooms, and if you are a foreigner, most likely you will be alloted one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirishSathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
4.2 km away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
3.5 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,249 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#9 of 156 in Udaipur
760 reviews
3.7 km away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 156 in Udaipur
457 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Property: Devra Udaipur
Address: Sisarma - Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price range (per night): $67 - $105
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing