We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in the pool terrace bar area - smelly, dirty, expensive.”
Review of Shiv Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shiv Niwas Palace
Ranked #36 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Lunch in the pool terrace bar area - smelly, dirty, expensive.”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I'm sure the hotel is lovely, but we came for a quick lunch here as the terrace bar of the Fateh Prakash was closed, and were quite horrified. There was a constant smell of boiled cabbage (presumably) from the kitchens, and all the textiles had food stains on them - the menu cover (and most of the pages), the napkins and the place mats. Yuk. Service was OK, but the sparkling wine was served in cheap thick glass 'catering' glasses not decent flutes - not what you expect at these prices in this venue. No staff around to ask directions, nobody greeted us when we entered the hotel complex, overall pretty rubbish for a supposedly 5* venue.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear sparklebcn,

Greetings from the Shiv Niwas Palace.

Thank you for taking out the time and writing about us. We have made a note regarding your observation and ensure the same will be attended in future. We regret your inconvenient stay with us but despite of this we look forward to have you soon with us and serve you way better.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    135
    55
    32
    28
See reviews for
139
181
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed for two nights part way through a month long stay in India. From the reviews on TA we thought it would be the break we needed and were not disappointed. The entrance to the complex is impressive. The layout of the whole place is quite beautiful and very well maintained. We stayed in a double cottage which was one of a group of 4 or 5 but it was ideal as I think we were the only ones in that particular part so we had a quiet and large front patio area to ourselves.

The poolside restaurant serves excellent food. The breakfast is good. The cocktails by the pool are great. A great place to walk around as there are a number of shops and a very good museum and it is lovely just being that close to the Palace itself. Compared to the rest of our trip it was like being cocooned on a little island, untouched by life beyond the gates. That was great for a couple of days to re-charge ourselves and be ready for the streets again.

It proved to be quite an expensive luxury break as it is, of course, all too easy to run up a bill at such a place. Nevertheless we thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaydee231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Jaydee231,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace.

It is a pleasure to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at out historic hotels.

Your feedback helps us restore our belief that we are on the right path of serving our guests.
We thank you for taking out your time and writing a much valued feedback to us.

We look forward to serve you at our hotel soon to create yet another amazing memory for you.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The palace and its grounds are superb. The pool courtyard area is stunning and we had a couple of great meals there. The food, both Indian and western was excellent, as was breakfast. There are various places to eat including the magnificent terrace looking over the lake.
We had a spa massage and it was not good.
Anokhi sells good clothes with actual prices on them.
Shopping just outside the main gates is worth investigating. Turn left and there is a row of shops alongside the palace wall selling reasonably priced goods like miniature paintings and the usual textiles plus lots of little items, great for gifts. The shop owners are the friendliest people and you won't get ripped off.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Fabio066,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace.

It is a pleasure to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at out historic hotels.

We thank you for taking out your time and writing a much valued feedback to us.

We look forward to serve you at our hotel soon to create yet another amazing memory for you.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2012

After researching Rajastan, we decided to stay in Udaipur for 7 nights to allow enough time to experience as much of this wonderful city as possible. Initially, we had planned to stay at the Lake Palace Hotel, which is a beautiful hotel, but later decided on the Shiv Niwaz Palace Hotel.

We are extremely happy and thankful that we made that decision. This was, without a doubt, the best hotel experience we have had (and we have done a lot of travel).

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Every effort was made by all staff to help us and make this holiday exceptional. Any questions we had, particularly regarding help with planning our city explorations, we're promptly and well answered.

A small list of the highlights;
Breathtaking view from our excellent room (in fact, breathtaking view from a range of bars and areas of the hotel
A variety of options for eating, dining and relaxing (all with a high but not imposing standard of service)
Extremely prompt and delicious room service
Perfect location for exploring the Palace Museum and the city in general

We had originally planned to see so many different parts of Udaipur, but unfortunately, were so captivated by the hotel that we spent a lot more time at the hotel! As such, we will certainly be coming back to Udaipur and particularly the Shiv Niwaz Palace Hotel.

Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CabelloAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear CabelloAbbott,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace.

We are very much delighted to read en excellent review from your end. The title itself tells us that we are on the right path in making our guests feel special,

We thank you for taking out your time and writing a much valuaed feedback to us.

We look forward to serve you at our hotel soon to create yet another amazing memory for you.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I was in this property for business purposes & enjoyed every minute spent there. While, the property is not perfect as one would expect it to, it does give one a royale feeling. While I loved the complete property itself, but the jetty on Pichola lake is a gem, especially at sunset.... Just stupendous. I would definitely recommend this property to my friends & family.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parikhshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Parikhshit,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace.

Thank you for taking the time for writing this review about Shiv Niwas and updating us on the experience you had during your stay at our palace hotel. We also appreciate you recommending our hotels.

We look forward to having you again at the HRH Group of Hotels and create a memorable trip for you the next time you stay with us.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 km away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#32 of 157 in Udaipur
419 reviews
2.2 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#22 of 157 in Udaipur
1,048 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#18 of 157 in Udaipur
326 reviews
0.4 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiv Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiv Niwas Palace

Property: Shiv Niwas Palace
Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price range (per night): $139 - $807
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shiv Niwas Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiv Niwas Palace offers beautiful, yet differing suites and rooms to choose from 17 individually decorated suites carry original furniture and portraits that have been with the royal family for generations. All the suites look out onto the natural panorama of Udaipur. Unparalleled splendor and spaciousness characterise each room.Guests to Shiv Niwas Palace like to return time and again. The hospitality is unchanged from the not-so-distant times when Shiv Niwas Palace was a royal guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shiv Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiv Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Shiv Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing