We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Perfection!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We have stayed at many luxury hotels around the world, but UDAIVILAS beats them all! Once you have stayed here you will understand the definition of perfection.
We stayed at Udaivisas for almost two weeks with friends and family and we could have stayed even longer.
Once you step out of the Udaipur airport terminal you are taken in hand by the smiling, gracious, elegantly dressed staff. You immediately realize that you are on vacation. After a 40 minute ride you arrive at the jetty for the boat ride across the lake. You are greeted by name by everyone, even the security guard! The 7 minute boat ride is a great way to start the Oberoi experience. The welcome at the property is just as impressive. Rashmi and her team are there to meet you and the doorman Durga welcomes you home! By the time you arrive in your room you have probably been greeted by name by at least 20 employees! Check in is swiftly done in the room.
The property is magical. The grounds are immaculatey groomed with peakocks roaming around freely. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and perfectly maintained. Some rooms open onto the gardens while others have their own terraces with direct access to a semi-private pool along with views of the lake and the city.
off to the spa pool... you are once again greeted by name by Vivek who sets you up with Oberoi sun cream, rose water spay, chilled water, cold towels and the famous frozen grapes to cool you down from the summer heat. Discreet, but extremely attentive, the pool service is just perfect. Off to dinner at the outdoor terrace with live local music and colorful dancers. The restaurants are perfectly run under the attentive management of Natasha and Roshni who are always around to make sure that the guests wishes are being taken care of. The menu is a mix of continental and indian cuisine. Everything is just great. The kitchen team, led by the Chef Deep, can prepare anything you can imagine. The pasta is homemade, the croissants and bread are made fresh daily and the ice-cream too! Everything coming out of the kitchen was just great. Not one single disappointment in almost two weeks. Organize a private dinner on the floating pontoon in the middle of the lake and you will just be blown away by the experience. Its an absolute must. And to top off the total experience and make you really feel at home, you don't sign any checks during the entire stay! Everything is posted directly to your room. And even better, there are no mistakes nor surprises when you check out. Direct tipping is also discouraged. You can leave an envelope when you leave and its equally shared but the entire staff. Oberoi has done an amazing job here and we will definately be going back on a regular basis. Bravo to the Udaivilas staff. You can all be proud.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParisTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

We thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. We are immensely grateful to you for having spared a few moments to share your experience and appreciation of our product and services in such great detail.

Your wonderful and heart-warming feedback has been shared with the team and they are pleased to know that they have lived up and exceeded your expectations in making your stay here, an unforgettable and homely experience.

Your genuine and valuable evaluation of our performance further encourages us to continue exceeding guest’s expectations and achieving the highest standards of service excellence.

I understand that this experience will bring you back to Udaipur and Udaivilas sometimes soon, and we hope you will also take the time to visit our other properties.

We look forward to welcoming you back, home, at The Oberoi Udaivilās again.

Thank you and kind regards,

Vincent Guironnet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,458 of 1,958 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

UDAIVILLAS are located on beatiful lake Pichola shore with lovely views across the lake to Udaipur Palace and Jagmander and Lake Palace islands. The hotel offers unique luxury and comfort in a truly romantic setting. The palatial architecture is impressive and decoration very elegant. Service is top notch with private butler service. We booked a lake view room which opens to a semi private pool and boasts lovely lake views. We highly recommend the upgrade since it makes your stay more magical. The Oberoi spa is wonderful and outdoor dinner under the stars is a real treat. We were deeply sad to leave UDAIVILLAS. UDAIPUR is a special place full of charm and so is UDAIVILLAS. Oberoi Group has succeed in creating an exclusive and unique retreat. Please do not miss it!

Room Tip: PREMIER LAKE VIEW rooms open to a semiprivate swimming pool and have great lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutkastBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

We thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. We are grateful to you for having spared a few moments to share your experience and appreciation of our product and services.

Your magical feedback has been shared with our team and they thank you for your candied words. Also the spa and the food & beverage team is glad to know that they were able to leave a lasting impression.

Your appreciation of our performance is a great source of inspiration and we are enthused to preserve and attain even higher standards of excellence. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to make your stay with us a memorable one.

I sincerely hope that our distinctive service will persuade you and your family to stay at any of The Oberoi Hotels & Resorts properties across the world in the near future.

Thank you and kind regards,

Vincent Guironnet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Clearly in spite of my expectation, the overall rate of the hotel, exceed them.
Every aspect of the overall performance, was perfect.
just one detail of the courtesy showed:
When leaving the hotel at 5.30 am. at the reception, came a big table with the breakfast. just for us. we were without words.

again congratulations..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emiliohoraciop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

We thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. We are grateful to you for having spared a few moments to share your experience and appreciation of our product and services.

Your wonderful feedback has been shared with our team they are enthused to know that they have lived up and exceeded your expectations.

Your heart-warming appreciation of our performance is a great source of encouragement and we are motivated to procure and maintain even higher standards of service excellence.

I sincerely hope that our distinctive service will persuade you to stay at the mélange of “The Oberoi Hotels & Resorts” properties across the world in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi Udaivilās again.

Thank you and kind regards,

Vincent Guironnet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We spent one night in this fabulous hotel. During our indian holidays we preferred Oberoi Group hotels and each of them was top-class places. To be frank, I spent most of my time in Udaivillas. The location of the hotel is beautiful, it has an amazing panaroma, giving to the Lake Picchola. There's always one person who assists you; you don't see him / her but (s)he is always ready in case if you need him /her. I think that this is also the explanation of "excellent service standard". Although the architecture, the decors, overall, the facilities are excellent; the main thing which creates the difference from other palaces is the quality in the service. Even the general manager is taking care of each guest personnally. It's really worth the price and it made comfortable and unforgettable my holidays in India. Gokcen Sahin

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goccia_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

We thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. We are grateful to you for having spared a few moments to share your experience and appreciation of our product and sevices.

Your heartwarming feedback has been shared with the team at The Oberoi Udaivilās and they are delighted to know that they lived up to their role in creating a wonderful and memorable trip for you and your family.

Your valuable appreciation of our performance is encouraging for us and we are motivated to preserve and attain even higher standards of excellence. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to make your stay memorable. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of your smallest of needs and requirements here at The Oberoi Udaivilās.

I sincerely hope that our distinctive service will persuade you to stay at the mélange of “The Oberoi Hotels & Resorts” properties across the world in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Thank you and kind regards,

Vincent Guironnet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is a modern palace style hotel designed by a well known architect in a huge garden surround overlooking the lake. We experienced a semi private pool room for a day/night and had one of themost relaxing stays. Rooms were spacious, beds were super king size and very comfortrable. Private pool was amazing and it is a sort of infinity pool to the lake. Pool rooms have own pool enclosure but you can swim awayto neighbouring room pools if you wish. Manager Jan was always with a cheery smile and personally greets every client.Itnisa hotel at the top end with several world awards to their credit. Staff were wellpresented and very professional. Hotel policy does not allow personal tipping but you can compliment staff by donating to a common collection.
Outdoor restaurant was romantic but lighting was poor to read the menu. Entertaining dance show was very much similar to Lake Palace hotel dancers as they were the same. Room service breakfast was fabulous and the service was fantastic.
All the key staff greets you by the name and happy to answer any questions.
Hotel does nothave the old palace hotel Rotyal feeling, neverthless is a luxuarybstay.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are fantastic, romantic and very private luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

We thank you for having chosen The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. We wish to acknowledge your patience and kindness to extract time to appraise and regard our product and services in great detail.

Your feedback has been shared with the team at The Oberoi Udaivilās and they are elated to fathom that you and your partner enjoyed your stay thoroughly and felt like royalty.

Your appreciation of our performance is a great source of encouragement and we are motivated to preserve and attain even higher standards of service excellence.

I sincerely hope that our distinctive service will persuade you and your family to stay at other beautiful properties of The Oberoi Hotels & Resorts across the world in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back amongst us again.

Safe travels,

Vincent Guironnet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.8 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 167 in Udaipur
3,151 reviews
0.5 km away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.3 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 167 in Udaipur
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.2 km away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 167 in Udaipur
504 reviews
2.5 km away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $968 - $1,816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing