We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,192)
Filter reviews
2,192 results
Traveller rating
1,947
170
40
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,947
170
40
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews semi private pool spa pool ankush mahajan lake pichola premier room the general manager rose petals wildlife sanctuary best hotels in the world beautiful hotel city palace impeccable service outdoor restaurant boat ride heaven on earth treated like royalty once in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
1,709 - 1,714 of 2,192 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My family and I spent six days at Udaivillas, there were six of us. It is hard to summarize the brilliant stay that we had. From our pick-up at the railway station to every facet of the hotel every detail large and small was taken care of. The website does not do this hotel justice, which is kind of nice because it's like opening a present! Every member of the staff were kind attentive and went beyond expectations to make our stay incredible. The trips that we took with guides, the drivers were incredible and their local and regional knowledge was awesome. The food was exceptional, the rooms overlooking the lake and city breathtaking, try the yoga(brilliant teacher). Yes all this was fantastic but what really makes the hotel stand out is, again, the most amazing, kind, attentive and considerate staff. My family loved them all. Thank you for sharing with us and giving us such deep and lasting memories.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are very happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating everything.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future. We look forward to welcome back to The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was my fifth Oberoi hotel- I stayed in Meena House in Cairo, in Delhi, in Amarvilas in Agra and Rajvilas, Jaipur. I am a hotel owner myself and have become an Oberoi fan- the service at the Oberoi is unbeatable...

In Udaipur, we had considered staying at the Lake Palace and the Kempinski but opted for Udaivilas because of previous experiences with Oberoi and were very happy with our choice. The advantage of Udaivilas versus Taj Lake Palace and Kempinski is the beautiful green, well kept gardens ( I witnessed the GM Jan Tibaldi checking the holes in the hoses personally!) and landscaping. If you love nature, do not hesitate and stay at Udaivilas.

The service and the staff is superior. Compliments to the selection and training of young, intelligent, good looking and warm team members (you do not come across anyone older than 30 years of age yet their performance is excellent)
. Make sure to wake up early and watch the sun rise from the room terrace.

Last but very important: The hotel had the best food we had in India; the chef gave us a selection of spices when he visited our table and we are grateful for that!

Thank you Jan and thank you Oberoi for always unforgettable holidays...

Room Tip: The rooms with direct pool access and the lake and City Palace view are a dream (worth paying the difference)
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tasotel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are very happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating the gardens, the facilities, the staff, service provided.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future. We look forward to welcome back to The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I take an annual trip to India for holidays and try to always include a stay in this beautiful property easily one of the best hotels in the world. Eveyone from GM downwards go out of their way to make your stay a truly memorable one. I have been going there for some years now and am amazed at how they are able to maintain this very high standard year after year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank kltfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are very happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating everything.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future. We look forward to welcome back to The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband and I added Udaipur to our winter visit of the Golden Triangle (Delhi, Agra, Jaipur). And am so glad we did as staying at the Oberoi made our India tour truly unforgettable. It is not a huge hotel but it is huge in details and service. Truly elegant and warm. I enjoyed pausing at the Candle Room each evening where they light several candles that give a golden reflection on the mosaic ceiling dome. The room and bathroom were generous in size. The mattress was ultra comfortable and the furnishings well thought of and designed,
Most of the meals we took in the hotel and the outdoor setting was truly a delight with a fantastic view of the river. And yes, the GM was often around to see and chat with the guests, making sure that our needs were met. He sets a good example to the staff and this could be the reason why service is consistenly outstanding. I fell in love with Oberoi Udaivillas and we hope to return someday with our children

several can

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carissa039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating the candle room, guest room, bathroom, views around the resort and the facilities provided.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future. We look forward to welcome back to The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at the Taj in Mumbai and loved the hotel , and then we went to Rajasthan and stayed at Udaivilas and we loved it even more ! Architecture , staff , interiors , gardens and landscape were among the best we have seen in a hotel . I have never seen a more hands on GM than Jan Tibaldi and that probably explains why this is such a well maintained hotel .Our dining experience was magical with beautiful views of the lakes and some of the best Indian food ( and we are great curry eaters !). On our return trip we told the Taj managers , they have some catching up to do haha

Room Tip: WE did a tour and was shown some lakeside rooms and I would have loved to stay there next time round
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jensiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating the architecture, the staff, the interiors, the gardens, the landscaping, the views from hotel and the Indian food.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews