We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,181)
Filter reviews
2,181 results
Traveller rating
1,937
169
40
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,937
169
40
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews semi private pool spa pool ankush mahajan lake pichola premier room the general manager rose petals wildlife sanctuary beautiful hotel best hotels in the world city palace impeccable service outdoor restaurant boat ride heaven on earth treated like royalty once in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
1,710 - 1,715 of 2,181 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The architecture and decor of this hotel has details in every corner you turn. Whether it is the reflecting pools, the ornate floating sculptures, the candles, the arches which reveal another amazing view ... it is a feast for the eyes. Obviously, all with the 5star service and quality you can expect from Oberoi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliBali1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating the architecture and the decor of our property.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Our group of 42 stayed at the Oberoi Udaivilas for 2 nights and the response from the whole group is one big YES IT IS THE BEST! The rooms, the service and the food --- they are superb.
We appreciate the general manager Jan Tibaldi meeting us at the check in and check out. Food & Beverage Manager Natasha Mehta catering to our menu and early breakfast due to flight schedule. Definitely will return to the Best.

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to lobby and restaurant. Rooms close to lobby and restaurants better.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hansonlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that your group enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating the rooms, the service and the food.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights in room 114. In my opinion, the 4 best rooms would be 108, 110, 112 and 114. they are the rooms that are in the promo shot for the hotel that jut out, thus affording a bit more privacy. I read in an article that the best rooms were the ones that faced the wild life sanctuary but I went to see them and disagree. We could see the Taj Lake Palace, the pool and the lake from our shower! It was insanely well situated. I would definitely recommend getting breakfast delivered to your terrace in the morning. It was a lovely setting. We had dinner one night at the outside restaurant. They had musicians and a fire Even though it was quite chilly out, it was comfortable as they had heat lamps and even pashminas. We went to see the other 2 hotels that I had considered, The Leela Palace and The Taj Lake Palace. The Leela has a definite hip, sexy vibe at night. The Taj has the history and it is quite pretty. But I loved just hanging out on our terrace with the semi private pool and the wonderful view. If I couldn't get a room here with the pool I'd say though it might be a toss up where I'd stay. They're all beautiful. One note, I think the Oberoi could do a little more with their massage rooms. It was a bit plain. Also, if you want to book lunch or dinner at the Taj you need to start trying on your first day. It's quite hard to secure a reservation.

Room Tip: room 108 110 112 114 I think are the best. They are the rooms you see in the promo ads
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodtrips01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating everything!

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

Your suggestion to do a little more with our Therapy rooms has been read with interest.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

If you are traveling in the Rajasthan region then you must stay at the Oberoi Udaivilas in Udaipur. Even with the wonderful reviews we had read before booking but I must say that the hotel was beyond expectation. They lterally shower you with rose petals and service. With all our travels I believe this to be the finest hotel in the world. Please ask the cheif to take you on a tour of his wonderful herb and vegetable garden

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the lake are unbelievable. However, I cannot imagine any room at this hotel that is not wonderful
Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ellen914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Team Udaivilas is very happy to read your TripAdvisor review and to know that you liked the hotel and our service so much. Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

It's a very close choice, but the Oberoi in Udaipur and its sister property, the Oberoi in Agra (also in India) are perhaps two of the finest hotels in the world. Hotels simply don't come any finer than this.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas to stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews