We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant- but a bit away from the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We went to stay at the udaivilas with the family and obviously the sheer scale and setting of the hotel blows you away. We spent a lot of time in the pool which was magnificent and the food was really good as well.
But having stayed at the lake palace, have to say that it beats the udaivilas just on location. But who cares- this is lovely too

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkyNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating the setting, the pool and the food.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,538 - 1,542 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

The architecture and decor of this hotel has details in every corner you turn. Whether it is the reflecting pools, the ornate floating sculptures, the candles, the arches which reveal another amazing view ... it is a feast for the eyes. Obviously, all with the 5star service and quality you can expect from Oberoi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliBali1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating the architecture and the decor of our property.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Our group of 42 stayed at the Oberoi Udaivilas for 2 nights and the response from the whole group is one big YES IT IS THE BEST! The rooms, the service and the food --- they are superb.
We appreciate the general manager Jan Tibaldi meeting us at the check in and check out. Food & Beverage Manager Natasha Mehta catering to our menu and early breakfast due to flight schedule. Definitely will return to the Best.

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to lobby and restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hansonlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that your group enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating the rooms, the service and the food.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights in room 114. In my opinion, the 4 best rooms would be 108, 110, 112 and 114. they are the rooms that are in the promo shot for the hotel that jut out, thus affording a bit more privacy. I read in an article that the best rooms were the ones that faced the wild life sanctuary but I went to see them and disagree. We could see the Taj Lake Palace, the pool and the lake from our shower! It was insanely well situated. I would definitely recommend getting breakfast delivered to your terrace in the morning. It was a lovely setting. We had dinner one night at the outside restaurant. They had musicians and a fire Even though it was quite chilly out, it was comfortable as they had heat lamps and even pashminas. We went to see the other 2 hotels that I had considered, The Leela Palace and The Taj Lake Palace. The Leela has a definite hip, sexy vibe at night. The Taj has the history and it is quite pretty. But I loved just hanging out on our terrace with the semi private pool and the wonderful view. If I couldn't get a room here with the pool I'd say though it might be a toss up where I'd stay. They're all beautiful. One note, I think the Oberoi could do a little more with their massage rooms. It was a bit plain. Also, if you want to book lunch or dinner at the Taj you need to start trying on your first day. It's quite hard to secure a reservation.

Room Tip: room 108 110 112 114 I think are the best. They are the rooms you see in the promo ads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodtrips01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating everything!

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

Your suggestion to do a little more with our Therapy rooms has been read with interest.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

If you are traveling in the Rajasthan region then you must stay at the Oberoi Udaivilas in Udaipur. Even with the wonderful reviews we had read before booking but I must say that the hotel was beyond expectation. They lterally shower you with rose petals and service. With all our travels I believe this to be the finest hotel in the world. Please ask the cheif to take you on a tour of his wonderful herb and vegetable garden

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the lake are unbelievable. However, I cannot imagine any room at this hote...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ellen914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Team Udaivilas is very happy to read your TripAdvisor review and to know that you liked the hotel and our service so much. Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.8 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 175 in Udaipur
3,183 reviews
0.5 km away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.3 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 175 in Udaipur
2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
2.5 km away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.2 km away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 175 in Udaipur
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $974 - $1,727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing