We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,181)
Filter reviews
2,181 results
Traveller rating
1,937
169
40
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,937
169
40
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews semi private pool spa pool ankush mahajan lake pichola premier room the general manager rose petals wildlife sanctuary beautiful hotel best hotels in the world city palace impeccable service outdoor restaurant boat ride heaven on earth treated like royalty once in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
1,717 - 1,722 of 2,181 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2012

India is a fascinating but chaotic place. Yet, inside the walls of the Oberoi Udaivilas all is serenity, beauty, and impeccable service. The architecture is exquisite and the attention to service and detail leaves one feeling that could sit on their private verandah and gaze at the palace across the lake forever.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arty262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Your time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!! Many thanks for writing the tripAdvisor review.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This property is very beautiful and grand. They paid a lot of attention to detail in every corner of the hotel. The service was very good. We only went there for dinning, it was a very special setting outside under the stars.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrasipBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Many thanks for your tripAdvisor review. The time taken to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Thank you for dining with us. Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

If you want a once-in-a-life experience of the best hotel in the world - extravagant living, fabulous food and over the top customer service - stay here. Worth every penny. The pictures do not do this hotel setting justice as it is much better; situated on a beautiful lake in a quiet and very serene setting on 22 acres. You arrive by boat...and don't want to leave.
The spa and massage were a disappointment for the cost but the hotel/food was the very best of the best. Small but very nice gift shop. The hotel manager meets you at the door when you arrive - Swiss of course. You don't have to lift a finger or think about one thing when you are there. The hotel-sponsored guide + BMW were a wonderful additional to our luxe travel in Udaipur. We had Butler Service 24/7 - along with fresh flowers, chocolates, cookies, fruit in our suite + private pool + view of the lake.
This is a hotel experience not to be missed if you are traveling to India. Go for it....!

Room Tip: Use and ask for your Platinum American Express upgrade - we had a out of this world suite with 24/7
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Thank you so much for writing this TripAdvisor review. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Many thanks for your special mention about the food, the service. the location, the boutique and the amenities provided. Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Udaivilas. A beautiful property of the oberoi. Make sure you try and get a lake facing room. It is just beautiful especially as you face the sunrise. The hotels service combined with its beautiful architecture makes it a perfect setting for a great break. Do make sure to visit the sanctuary just next to the hotel which has deers, peacocks and wild boars.

Room Tip: Take a lake facing room.... its worth every bit of it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Many thanks for your tripAdvisor review. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Thank you for your special mention about the location, the architecture, our services and the wild life conservatory.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We ended up switching our hotel to the Oberoi at the very last minute as we were celebrating a special birthday and wanted a memorable property to stay at. This property exceeded our expectations in every way. We had a beautiful room overlooking the lake and with a semi-private infinity pool to enjoy. The thing that stands out most however, aside from the gorgeous grounds and architecture, is the attentive and personal service from every employee from the GM on down to the doorman. We are spending almost a month in India on holiday and this hotel is far and away our best stay to date. While very expensive it is definitely worth the splurge for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveler535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Thank you for appreciating the hotel, the facilities and the service. Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews