We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel in a beautiful surrounding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel right after Christmas, 2011 with my family. Based on the reviews I've read on Trip advisor before coming to this hotel, my expectations were high. We took one of the hotel's boats fromt he mainland. It indeed was a nice ride with the boat and the view over the lake palace and city palace was very beautiful.

When arriving to the hotel, the hotel manager was there to greet us, which I think is a very nice gesture towards the guests. The funny thing was that he had studied in the same country where I study hospitality management at the moment.

The hotel was spread out on a big area and in the beginning it felt like the rooms were very far away from the lobby. But once you've been there for a couple of days, you learned the shortcuts to all the different places. The room was clean and cozy and it also had it's own small patio where you could sit and take sun.

The food was good and the staff was friendly. One thing that irritated me was the continious competition between them, who will serve which guest. It was not only noticed in this hotel, other hotels had the same phenomenon going on. It seemed like the staff was eager to get a good tip and therefor we could have 5 different guys coming up to us, asking for the same questions. Also in some hotels you could mention one specific staffmember, which caused that the staff was even more over you.This is maybe something that the HR department could take in conciderations when recruiting and training their staff.
I might be a little bit picky sometimes, but this is just my opinion.

Otherwise it was a nice hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. Thank you Oberoi Udaivilas!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swansky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Many thanks for your TripAdvisor review. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you liked the hotel, the facilities, the food and the service. Thank you for your special mention about the everything.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

Thank you for sharing your observation regarding the competition between the staff members to approach the guest has been read with interest. I shall take it up with our Training Manager and the Head of Departments.

At Udaivilas and Oberoi Hotels we have a central tipping policy and the staff is not allowed to accept an individual tip from the guest; should a guest wish to tip any staff members, they can do so and drop it in the tip box while departing. These tips are then distributed to all staff members and not to an individual.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,550 - 1,554 of 2,003 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

India is a fascinating but chaotic place. Yet, inside the walls of the Oberoi Udaivilas all is serenity, beauty, and impeccable service. The architecture is exquisite and the attention to service and detail leaves one feeling that could sit on their private verandah and gaze at the palace across the lake forever.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arty262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Your time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!! Many thanks for writing the tripAdvisor review.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This property is very beautiful and grand. They paid a lot of attention to detail in every corner of the hotel. The service was very good. We only went there for dinning, it was a very special setting outside under the stars.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrasipBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Many thanks for your tripAdvisor review. The time taken to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Thank you for dining with us. Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

If you want a once-in-a-life experience of the best hotel in the world - extravagant living, fabulous food and over the top customer service - stay here. Worth every penny. The pictures do not do this hotel setting justice as it is much better; situated on a beautiful lake in a quiet and very serene setting on 22 acres. You arrive by boat...and don't want to leave.
The spa and massage were a disappointment for the cost but the hotel/food was the very best of the best. Small but very nice gift shop. The hotel manager meets you at the door when you arrive - Swiss of course. You don't have to lift a finger or think about one thing when you are there. The hotel-sponsored guide + BMW were a wonderful additional to our luxe travel in Udaipur. We had Butler Service 24/7 - along with fresh flowers, chocolates, cookies, fruit in our suite + private pool + view of the lake.
This is a hotel experience not to be missed if you are traveling to India. Go for it....!

Room Tip: Use and ask for your Platinum American Express upgrade - we had a out of this world suite with 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Thank you so much for writing this TripAdvisor review. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Many thanks for your special mention about the food, the service. the location, the boutique and the amenities provided. Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Udaivilas. A beautiful property of the oberoi. Make sure you try and get a lake facing room. It is just beautiful especially as you face the sunrise. The hotels service combined with its beautiful architecture makes it a perfect setting for a great break. Do make sure to visit the sanctuary just next to the hotel which has deers, peacocks and wild boars.

Room Tip: Take a lake facing room.... its worth every bit of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Many thanks for your tripAdvisor review. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Thank you for your special mention about the location, the architecture, our services and the wild life conservatory.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.8 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 175 in Udaipur
3,187 reviews
0.5 km away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.3 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 175 in Udaipur
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
2.5 km away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.2 km away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 175 in Udaipur
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $970 - $1,744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing