We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Breathtaking! We were in Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I had the luxury of staying at the Lake Palace in March 2012, what a dream come true! It was just gorgeous. The welcome is amazing. You are sprinkled by Rose Petals and treated like Royalty. The service is superb and the restaurant staff are just amazing, so friendly and so professional. The whole Lake Palace experience is a memory we will never forget!

Room Tip: Higher floors have water views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanneGriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,062)
There are newer reviews for Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,129 - 2,133 of 3,062 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Lake Palace in October 2011 and it was the most amazing hotel we have ever stayed at! Although you pay a high price, the whole Lake Palace experience is definitely worth the extra money...even if it is only for one night. Our room was on the first floor and had a wonderful view of the city palace and the lake. It was truly amazing to wake up to the beautiful every morning. We stayed at the hotel over the Diwali holiday and the hotel put on a traditional Diwali ceremony, provided free drinks, and put on a firework show over the lake - it was unforgettable. Breakfast was included in our package and was served in a lovely room by the lake, it was excellent.

The service at the hotel is impeccable and the staff go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay. The only negative about our stay was that the staff were too attentive at times (if this is even a negative!).

If you are debating whether to spend the extra money on the Lake Palace while in Udaipur don't hesitate....it is really worth it and will make you appreciate just how beautiful Udaipur is.

Room Tip: A view of the city palace!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at the Lake Palace in March.

Pros:
- It's a palace
- Service is impeccable. The initial welcome, the boat ride, the sprinkling of flower petals from the roof when you enter, and the tour to your room have all been perfected. While there is a large staff (it almost seemed as if there were a 2:1 staff to guest ratio), they stop in their tracks and move to the side to ensure they don't get in your way when you pass
- Several activities are included as part of the rate, including a 'heritage' walking tour of the property, a yoga session, and a traditional music/dance show. Many of these activities also include a free drink and hors d'oeuvres
- Fantastic breakfast, including buffet and menu options
- There is 0 pressure for tips - if you are happy with the service, there is a communal tip box where you can leave money at the end of your stay
- If they have availability, they will upgrade you to a better room for free
- I can't speak for all rooms, but the suite we were in was beautiful

Cons:
- It would be a ridiculously expensive hotel in the US - for India the rate is absurd (but they still sell out during high season as there's not a lot of rooms and there's enough demand)
- In addition to the $650+ room rate, they have the audacity to charge additional for wifi
- It's in the middle of a lake, so there was a stagnant water smell which they covered up using incense
- It's in the middle of a lake, so there are lots and lots of pigeons (although there is a dedicated person who bats them away and we didn't notice a lot of remnants)
- A slight air of pretentiousness (i.e. you're not allowed to dine in the restaurants unless you're staying at the hotel)
- The taxi from the airport is relatively expensive (~$24 minimum). We used the prepaid taxi at the airport to try to avoid the upcharge, but I suspect even the airport taxi charged more after we told them we were staying at the Lake Palace
- Expensive restaurants, and the quality in the Indian restaurant was only decent

Conclusion: if you're on your honeymoon or anniversary and/or have enough disposable income to afford it, then go for it. Otherwise convince yourself it's just a hotel room and stay somewhere else for 1/5th the price (and keep in mind that there are probably so many 5* reviews because if you spend $650 for a hotel room, you're more likely to want to like the place)

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank trenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stat are two nights at the lake palace in August, saying that it was a dream stay is short. The property is gorgeous, but what left me speechless is the service: precise, professional and a disarming gentleness. Also in the room having had connection problems at check out and there are many excuses, they have exaggerated a discount on the bill. To all I recommend it to feel a real life voltanella maharajah.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Nothing beats staying in an actual marble palace floating in the middle of a serene lake. Incredibly charming and the service is beyond par. Dinner and breakfast at Jharoka was wonderful. There is plenty to do in the hotel itself (heritage tour, sunset tour, dance show) that you must dedicate one evening to stay in. The rooms are very pretty. This is an absolute must do....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sshah2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.4 km away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.8 km away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 163 in Udaipur
1,871 reviews
1.1 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 163 in Udaipur
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.4 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
0.4 km away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#35 of 163 in Udaipur
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $535 - $1,816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing