We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Garden Guest House- A home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Garden Guest House
Ranked #3 of 255 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little Garden Guest House- A home from home”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Little Garden Guest House is the perfect place to stay for a couple of nights when you want be introduced to the best hotspots in Udaipur. The location is in the heart of Udaipur's delicious shopping, moments from the City Palace and a 10 minute walk to the lake.

Akshay and his family were warm and welcome greeting us with morning masala tea, positive smiles and introducing us to all their local passions. Anything you need they will arrange and if your lucky you will get to try their delicious homemade creations.

They are currently restoring parts of the property so I am sure it is going to look stunning with their beautiful antique items( we saw a sneak preview). They also have a beautiful roof top with stunning views of the palace.

Room Tip: There are two rooms, one has a large double bed and the other one smaller (queen bed). Make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
108
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I spent 4 nights in Akshay's family guest house. Authentic air with an incredible hospitality, I recommend this guest house strongly. Akshay would go out of his way to help me with local attractions and advise on what prices to expect. Udaipur is one of my favourite places in india, and little garden guest house is situated in a perfect location.

The morning masala Chai is the best!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Having completed 4 months of a 10 month trip, it was nice find a place where you are more than just another quest. We spent three nights at Little Garden and were treated as part of the family. A small B&B (just 2 rooms) tucked away off of a busy street just below the palace, the Little Garden is quiet and close to most things. What you miss in a view of the lake is more than made up with the help and hospitality offerred by your hosts. It was a real treat to be one of the family except they did not insist on us cleaning up the dishes after we enjoyed a family meal together. A highlight of our time in Udaipur. .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Akshay came out to meet us in shorts in 7AM winter chill and led us to the beautiful room decorated with details he picked, around an 100 year old bed that he feels proud of. From that moment, the 3 night stay amounted to the best part of our 9 day trip in Rajastan. Udaipur is really lovely, but the Little Garden Guest House is full of love, as we could feel every minute we saw the family together, Akshay with her sister Tina and their parents. And they shared that with us, with a dinner in their room the mother and Tina cooked, morning Chais, home-made snacks, and conversations about the family's past.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

If you travel to Udaipur, there is one special place you'll want to stay at and it is this Little Garden Guest House. The owner, Akshay Singh Rao, has designed rooms that combine a touch of the past with modern amenities. The rooms are nestled in a small private courtyard with access to a rooftop terrace overlooking an historical neighbourhood. Comfortable, clean and safe, the Little Garden is walking distance to the main sites of Udaipur - the City Palace, the Jagdish Temple and Lake Pichola, as well as restaurants and cafes offering multicuisine dining. A vast array of shops caters to all interests - from silversmiths to Upaidur's famous miniature paintings. What we enjoyed the most was the stellar hospitality provided by Akshay's family - a wonderful Dad who makes the best 'chai tea' in town; a serene Mom whose smile makes you feel that life is a blessing ; a sister, Teena, whose energy and laughter is infectious. (Teena also provides Henna designs!)
To sum up, we feel this place is indeed a Shangri-la inviting its guests to a moment out of time and place. One caveat - you may never want to leave!
Robert & Patricia (Canada)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.4 km away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.4 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
0.3 km away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.6 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Garden Guest House

Property: Little Garden Guest House
Address: Akshay singh rao. | 121-Bhattayani Chohtta Rao shabe ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price range (per night): $72 - $99
Hotel Class:1 star — Little Garden Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Garden Guesthouse is nestled at the base of Udaipur's renowned City Palace in the heart of the Old City.Each room is individually fitted out with tasteful and eclectic furniture and fittings,most of which are family heirlooms. Fair-trade women's cooperative handcrafted bed covers,cushions and curtains complement the decor.The street in which the 250 year old heritage house or haveli is located, Kavi Rao Mohan Singh, is named after an ancestor of the family and is a comfortable sanctuary just off Bhattiyani Chouhtta, a fascinating market street lined with handicrafts stalls. We invite you to nest and rest in one of our two spacious bedrooms (11x17ft). You can curl up reading in cushioned bay-windows or sprawl out for a siesta on firm double beds with freshly laundered linen. Each room is decorated with eclectic handicrafts, antiques and textiles. Little Garden is newly renovated, so our bathroom facilities are clean and reliable. Each room has an en-suite bathroom with western toilet and a running hot shower available 24 hours a day. We will happily provide clean towels and new bed linen at your request. In addition to our simple but charming heritage rooms, Little Garden has two spacious terraces from which panoramic views of the City Palace and verdant Aravali Hills can be taken in. It is a perfect place to experience the nightly sound and light show which sets the Palace ablaze, watch the buzzing rooftop life of the Old City, or rest-up with a book, drink or meal happily provided by your hosts (upon request). Of course, our little garden courtyard is also a lovely shady place to pass time. The traditional layout of our home (several rooms arranged around open courtyards) is perfect for the independently minded traveller who also wants to experience the life and hospitality of a local family. You may come and go from our rooms as you please as they each have a private entrance from the little garden courtyard. As our family are descendants of a renowned poet who served in the royal court of Mewar and shared a close relationship with the then King (Maharana), our home was gifted to our ancestor by the royal family. It is thus located very centrally, just 5 minutes walk to the palace and other heritage highlights of Udaipur, such as: Jagdish Temple- Built from marble in C17th and dedicated to 'Jagdish' or Vishnu (Lord and protector of the universe), this is Udaipur's most notable and beautiful Hindu temple. Gangaur Ghat - A complex of Shiva temples perched on the bank of Pichola Lake where the annual Gangaur festival unique to Rajasthan is commemorated. Also a wonderful spot to observe the rituals of daily life, the gorgeous Lake Palace and Jag Mandir island. Ayurvedic Hospital- Provides free consultations, daily yoga classes and mud therapy.Rose Garden- The favoured place for locals to picnic and exercise. Many handicrafts, vegetable and spice markets. Who we are: Hi there, my name is Akshay. My parents Gajendra and Vimla, my younger sister Tina and I would like to invite you to share in the joy of our local culture, architecture and landscape from a unique vantage point- our family home! I recently established 'Little Garden Guesthouse' to provide an income for my retired Mum and Dad, assist in maintaining our heritage property, and to entertain my love of imparting local knowledge! I have 6 years experience assisting travellers seeking out the best of Udaipur. Whilst you stay with us I will be available to ensure that your room is comfortable and your city wanderings rewarding! I look forward to your expressions of interest. Thank you :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Little Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing