We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jaiwana Haveli(Udaipur)
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 38
USD 37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 50/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 95
USD 72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 116
USD 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 94
USD 80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mewar Haveli(Udaipur)(Great Value!)
USD 30
USD 27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 30/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 110
USD 93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Aashiya Haveli(Udaipur)(Great Value!)
USD 33
USD 24
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Hotel Lakend(Udaipur)
USD 90
USD 87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 719
USD 473
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
386
183
52
19
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
183
52
19
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolrooftop restaurantrooms are hugehand paintedroyal experienceudai villaslake picholacandle light dinnerlike royaltytop floormodern amenitiesdelicious foodtuk tukearly checkamazing hotelold citymemorable stay
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We stayed at the Chunda Palace for 5 days in March 2018. It was myself and my 2 kids. Our room was very spacious and luxurious with all the room amenities one could ask for. The hotel was clean and the service was top notch. The outdoor dining area was excellent. What made our stay at the hotel truly memorable was how the staff treated us so well. My son was not well when we arrived and he was sick during some of our stay. The front desk staff made it a point to call and ask how he was and if we needed anything. One particular person I remember was our room housekeeper. He would come by regularly to bring fresh towels, drinks, fruit and change our bedsheets as needed. I was so touched by his efforts that I asked for his name. He said it was Bhupinder. I told him I would write a review on Tripadvisor when I got back home and mention how wonderful he was. This is that review. Please note: I have never written a review before but because of the wonderful treatment that we received, I am writing my first ever review on this site.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank lsingh193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Chunda palace hotel in March 2018, and had an excellent stay. Our group comprised of 6 adults and 4 kids (oldest 11, youngest 6) and we had 3 rooms at our disposal for our 3 night stay.

The hotel was built by a branch of the erstwhile royal family of Mewar. While it is built to resemble a palace, it is newer construction, not an ancient royal palace converted into a hotel. That being said, the hotel is stunningly beautiful. The architecture, the design and the ambience is a throwback to old time charm, elegance and splendor, but with all modern amenities and services. A perfect blend! This is located by Lake Pichola, right next to the Udaivilas Palace and the Trident hotel.

The check in was smooth; WiFi is fast and free (you get a code valid for two devices for two days, if staying longer or more devices, just ask for another code). The rooms open using a regular key not a chip/magnetic card, so slightly bulkier to carry.

The rooms are really, really big. We had a full/double bed, a twin sized window bed and an additional cot in one room, and there was ample space. The decor was wonderful. The bathrooms are also very spacious, with a large tub, shower and nice provided toiletries. The rooms compare favorably to any high end resort.

There are two swimming pools on the property, one indoor (the exercise equipment is also in this area - a treadmill, a stationary bike, free weights etc... limited, but functional); and an outdoor pool on the rooftop. The rooftop pool is small and wonderful. The water is cool and refreshing, especially in the heat of Udaipur. Part of the pool is shallow, and works as a kiddie pool, the rest has a max depth of about 5 feet... its small, but we got good use out of it.

The hotel has one restaurant on site, which serves a buffet breakfast and a la carte meals for lunch and dinner. Extensive menu for Indian cuisine options, has a bunch of local Mewari choices too (try the ‘lal maas’ - literally translated as red meat...spicy, and a local delicacy...but hot! Also the Mewari kadhi was excellent). The menu also features a lot of tandoor (cooked in a clay oven) items, every one of them was wonderful (the adraki jheenga - ginger prawns/shrimp, was our favorite..... the standard tandoori chicken was a big hit with the kids). They have a few decent pasta options, also have options for pizzas and some “oriental cuisine” options. They also serve the same menu on the rooftop, where they have some open air dining for dinner.

The breakfast spread was good (we opted for the bed and breakfast option when booking, so this was included in the room price, and did turn out to be more economical than paying for breakfast separately).... there was an omelette station every day, some indian dishes, and other standard breakfast fare.

The food was consistently good for every meal that we had the hotel. The only quibble was the service, which seemed to be consistently slow. May want to give yourself extra time here for any meal outside of breakfast. More importantly, the food was cooked well, tasty, and safe.... no tummy upsets!

The staff is friendly, and helpful. The views from the rooftop are of Lake Pichola and the city of Udaipur...and the sunrise is spectacular. The hotel lights at night make a perfect “royal” experience.

The main city (Old Udaipur), where most of the sights are (City Palace, Lake Palace, Jagmandir, Jagdish temple) is a 10 min auto rickshaw (tuk-tuk) ride away.... Fatehsagar lake and the Rana Pratap memorial, Aquarium are also at a similar distance. Don’t get a cab/Uber/Ola etc... the city streets in the main city are really narrow, and cars are not going to get through.
There seems to be a local syndicate of auto rickshaw drivers, who have set up shop just outside this hotel, who will overcharge you and insist that you come back with them (trip to Old Udaipur would cost Rs 150-200 ~ $2-$3....yet the return trip with any auto you flag down on the way back would cost Rs 100 or less ~ $1.50, they are hoping that you would agree to a Rs 400 round trip, knowing fully well that would be pretty much double standard rate ). Not outrageous ....just irritating. We haggled if in the mood...otherwise just kept walking a bit further to flag down any available auto.

The only time you need a cab/Uber is to get to and from the airport or for day trips to surrounding areas (The Eklingji and Nathdwara temples/ Ranakpur and Kumbalgarh/Chittorgarh etc).

Overall, we loved the hotel, and would absolutely stay here again if we ever find ourselves back in Udaipur. Highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank sandybdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We expected this to be a bit special, but it exceeded our expectations. It was a little more expensive than other places we have stopped at, but we were there for Valentine's night and were willing to pay for a bit of luxury. The floor area of our room was bigger than our whole apartment at home and the décor was amazing. We were in the historical suite with a four poster bed and a swinging settee as well as a 3 piece suite. The bathroom was in keeping with the rest of the room, including twin 'his and her' sinks.
The buffet breakfast on the roof was lovely, but the restaurant lacked atmosphere at dinner. However the staff could not do enough to help. The hotel lacks a garden to sit in, but we went next door to the Oberoi for a coffee, who made us very welcome. Sadly The Chunda Palace could only serve Nescafe, I strongly recommend that they invest in an Espresso machine!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

The Chunda Palace hotel was an excellent choice for my family and I to stay while in Udaipur! The service was excellent and the historical suite was beautiful and spacious!! The colors on the wall, artistry and furniture is visually stunning and rooms were very clean. I only wished they had more outlets for chargers. My children loved sleeping in the window beds and enjoyed taking baths in the huge bathtub. The rooftop pool, bar and restaurant offered stunning views and the food was quite decent. This is right next door to the Oberoi property and is a fraction of the cost. While I heard the Oberoi was one of the best hotel suites in the world, the experience of staying at Chunda Palace is great for families who want the Palace experience without the Palace price!

Stayed: January 2018
Thank MateoMateoMateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Having read great reviews on trip advisor, we booked the Chunda Palace and were disappointed. The decor is unique and colorful but the hotel lacked attention to detail and the food and service were very poor. The staff were polite but we felt they knew a script and couldn’t work outside of that and were therefore unhelpful. It lacked atmosphere and felt as if it were a hotel about to close? The rooms were large & comfortable but a bit grubby. Fine as a bed for the night but not the luxury hotel it is billed to be.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews