We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Stay in Udaipur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Ranked #1 of 250 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ulhasnagar, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Pleasant Stay in Udaipur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Really it was a pleasant stay at Udaipur in Bhanwar Vilas, Hotel room was spacious neat and clean, and best point is location of hotel is located in the heart of the city. Owner of the hotel is really nice person given proper guidance about the city.

If we ever go back to Udaipur, we will definitely stay at this place again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jai V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    133
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
227
189
62
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We traveled to Udaipur in February 2012 when the weather is pleasantly cool and tourists minimal. Bhanwar Vilas is a good option to stay especially if you're looking for a safe, clean and value for money accommodation option in Udaipur. The rooms were clean, basic and had a distinct flavour of Udaipur. We were more than glad to have hot water in the mornings to help us kick-start the day. The flip side was the four floor climb which seemed like a trek to eternity. But for what it's worth, the terrace was just a floor higher and made it easily accessible. The terrace might not have the best views of the lake but is a great place to hangout either in the morning or late evening when the city lights up. The highlight of the guest house would undeniably be Mr. Sharma who is not only the owner of the property but also your local advisor on virtually anything. It's best to ask him what to see before you blindly follow travel guides and end up feeling cheated of the experience.

Room Tip: If you aren't a fan of climbing stairs request for a room on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basildso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This guest house is simply charming. The family welcomed us, and treated us as part of their family. The rooms, including the bathroom, were absolutely spotless. The view from the rooftop (see the picture below) is excellent. Do be prepared to climb stairs, but we learned that Udaipur is the "City of Stairs." We arrived for our stay late in the evening, and they waited up for us, and then they sent out for food for our dinner. My daughter was ill one of the days we were there, and the family at the guesthouse were truly wonderful in their care. They also helped us arrange trips, including a horseback riding trip. One other wonderful perk, we were able to receive full massages ... right in our own room. This isn't the swankiest place you can stay in Udaipur, but I have to say we were well cared for (my adult daughter and myself), and I loved staying there, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Be prepared to climb stairs ... this is for the entire city. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Located in a quiet alley near the temple (so v central) this was a perfect base for 4 nights in Udaipur. The owner, Mr Sherma, is very friendly & helpful. Each day he gave us a list of places we could visit, many of which weren't in our guide book so that was great. He also recommended places to eat which were fab. It's a shame he doesn't have a restaurant but you can order room service & maybe even food in the lobby area. Lack of rearaurant didn't put us off though as so many nice places to eat nearby & good to have variety.

Very good value for money - perfect if on a tight budget. Room was clean, spacious. Hot water was temperamental & didn't always work fully hot. Nice window seating & good selection of cable channels.

Agree with the review a bit below about the tailor... We were hassled by him too & the only thing that dissatisfied us about our stay was his hassle & the owner not doing anything to stop it.

Apart from that though, our stay was great & we really felt at home. Mr Sherma made it clear that he could help in any way & that we should feel comfortable that it was home from home - a great feeling after being on the road for months.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skipz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Best piece of hospitality, complete customer delight

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imuvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.1 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.2 km away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#9 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.6 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
0.4 km away
Mewargarh Palace
Mewargarh Palace
#2 of 250 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhanwar Vilas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhanwar Vilas Guest House

Property: Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Address: 74, Gangor Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price range (per night): $17 - $23
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bhanwar Vilas Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest house in the heart of city to give homely comforts with all modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda, HostelWorld and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Bhanwar Vilas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing