We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ambiance and great view!”

Hotel Udai Kothi Restaurant
Ranked #143 of 734 Restaurants in Udaipur
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and great view!”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Beautifully lit rooftop restaurant with a small bar and tabla and flute (I believe) music. The food was ok - not too memorable (We had a thali and vegetarian tandoori) but fine. Other places also had outdoor fire pits to keep you warm but just needed to bundle up here. The stillness and ability to gaze at the lake and beyond made it enchanting.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 100lat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    12
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooftop dining experience”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I reserved a table in person and we were given one of the discreet, private dining 'booths', where we could lounge whilst eating. All of the staff were very professional and helpful and the service was great. We had delicious cocktails and the best palak paneer we encountered anywhere in India. A regional band played quietly on the rooftop as we dined. The venue was very pleasing to the eye and we had a lovely time. The experience would have been perfect were it not for the noise and strobe lighting from a neighbouring hotel/restaurant on that particular night.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santpoort-Noord, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Wonderful food in Great surroundings. Perfectthalis and à glass of Indian Winehouse. Lief music and viuws over Udaipur.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dutchbennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming rooftop restaurant”
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We had dinner here our first night in Udaipur. As per the photos, the restaurant is very pretty especially at night, with mood lighting on the pool and candles on the table. Menus needed the help of flashlights to read by, provided by the staff who were attentive - maybe too attentive? But it was not full the night we were there. Live music was delightful and low key. Our tandoori dinner was delicious - drinks were a bit pricey. The low tables in the alcoves would be fun for a romantic dinner.

Recommend you take the stairs back down through the hotel which is beautifully decorated and has lots of wonderful vintage photos on the walls of various maharajahs and their family members with entertaining descriptions.

The food at Jagat Niwas Palace was better!

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terribly disappointing and poor value for money”
Reviewed 11 November 2010

After reading about this place in guide books we were extremely excited to go there. Earlier in the afternoon we went to book a table and my girlfriend was not well and the staff there were extremely helpful so we went to our meal in the evening with high expectation.
The atmosphere was good and the food was ok when it arrived, but the service and the staff were terrible. At first they were extremely attentive but as soon as you ordered it rapidly deteriorated. A table next to us were waiting 45 minutes for a cup of tea, when you asked where things were the answer was 5 minutes even after 25 minutes wait it was still 5 minutes. The restaurant manager also mysteriously disappeared when the going got tough.
A real shame as it could be a great place as the setting was great but it was the most expensive meal we had in India but not really that good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edandemmadesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Udai Kothi Restaurant also viewed

Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 
Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing