We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King Size Stay”
Review of Surya Kunj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surya Kunj
Ranked #46 of 193 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Gandhidham, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“King Size Stay”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Royalty at its best , if you have to get treated like a king you should stay at this hotel . Brilliant rooms that too inexpensive in the city like jodhpur , Delicious food and exceptional services . Harshveer singh made me feel like home and suggested me all the places in the city to visit and also booked me the chauffeur with the car at a very reasonable prices . Do wish to visit Surya Kunj again in near future .

Room Tip: Harshveer was very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayvillagekandla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suryakunjmanager, Owner at Surya Kunj, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Navratan,
On behalf of all of us at SURYA KUNJ, i thank you for your kind words and encouragement! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that Harshhveer was there to look after you personally! We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit!
Sajjan Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
28
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is a beautiful home with a fantastic host. Sajjan made us feel very welcome and was very knowledgable and informative - an excellent host. The food was delicious, both the breakfast and the evening meal. Our only regret was that we only spent one night there, still there is always next time and we will definitely recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBerrysLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suryakunjmanager, Owner at Surya Kunj, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
THANK YOU ever so much for your kind words on TripAdvisor! We are glad that you both enjoyed your stay though it was a brief one! We look forward to seeing you again at SURYA KUNJ! Warm Regards, Sajjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Though we have stayed in B & B's abroad, this was our first experience in India. Our stay at Surya Kunj was very good. Mr Sajjan Singh was an amazing and very helpful host. He helped us with a good restaurant for dinner. Also, being a woman I was more interested in shopping, and for that too he gave us very good suggestions.
His home is beautiful and very well maintained. I surely recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndbhansali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suryakunjmanager, Owner at Surya Kunj, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear Digant,
Thank you for your review! It is only recently that i have learnt how to reply to a review...better late than never! We at Surya Kunj really appreciate it especially from some one really knows what home stay is all about! All the best!
Sajjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Sajjan made us feel very welcome during our short time in Jodhpur. He booked us into some excellent restaurants, arranged good taxis and advised us on what sights to see. The breakfasts are good and the water is hot. The room was a little on the small side, but comfortable, clean and quiet. No TV but there's so much to do this wasn't a problem. When we were unwell, Sajjan gave us his home remedies and will also provide home-cooked lunches for a small fee.
The guest book is impressive, Sajjan maintains contact with his guests and many of them return several times. We'd recommend Surya Kunj to anyone heading to Jodhpur however make sure your driver knows where it is as it was quite difficult to find.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyDave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suryakunjmanager, Owner at Surya Kunj, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear David and Lucy,
A BIG THANK YOU TO BOTH OF YOU! It was a pleasant surprise to see your review on TripAdvisor! Many guests just plunge back into the humdrum of life and forget to rite a review! It is why we value each review...to pat us on our back and also let us know in which department we need to pull up our socks! Thank you once again! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Mr Sajjan Singh's homestay is such a beautifully maintained place, that our stay was really worth it. The rooms are big, quite spacious (no TV though).. Bathrooms are reaaly big with the best of the fittings and very lighted and airy. The house itself is very nicely maintained. Sajjan Singh ji makes it a point to engage the guests with Jodhupur's history during breakfast, so that they feel comfortable enough with the place., Main attraction - their lovely dog - Sabre!! My son was busy playing throught our stay, with Sabre - the star attraction!!

Room Tip: Don't know about all rooms, however, since we were with a child of 7 years of age, an additional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neetukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suryakunjmanager, Owner at Surya Kunj, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
Thank you so much for your candid comments! We are glad that you enjoyed you stay with us! Sabre's fine and still feel sad when guests leave, though he's getting used to the idea that guests will come and go! Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.2 km away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,230 reviews
2.1 km away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
3.0 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 96 in Jodhpur
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
6.9 km away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
1.4 km away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 96 in Jodhpur
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Jodhpur

Been to Surya Kunj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surya Kunj

Property: Surya Kunj
Address: C-22, Panchwati Colony | Ratanada, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price range (per night): $39 - $64
Hotel Class:3 star — Surya Kunj 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surya Kunj" means " Garden of the Sun". The ambianceis that of a urban home (Haveli) of a Rajput Zamindar (Land Lord). Our seven rooms exclusivly designed to blend yesterday's elegance with today's comforts. Catg. Homestay and Bed and breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Surya Kunj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing