We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nicely converted palace”
Review of Ranbanka Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranbanka Palace
Ranked #13 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Watamu, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nicely converted palace”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Ask for a room facing the pool and restaurant in the new wing. We found the service good as well as the food. Getting tired of hotels of this standard not providing proper coffee, only instant Nescafe. Enjoyed the buffet dinners tho in December it is far too cold to be outdoors. Best jalebi I ever had. Walk down the street to super shops and restaurant/bar for a change.

Room Tip: Ask for room looking over the pool garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhe606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    319
    141
    48
    26
See reviews for
265
268
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We went as a large group..and everyone loved it. While some of our friends stayed in the new Jodhana wing (really nice spacious rooms with large bay windows and lots of amenities and freebies) and others had booked in the older heritage wing, we booked late and had to make do with their basic courtyard facing room.
That was the only downside because we got what we paid for.. our check-in took longer (Jodhana wing had in-room check in), our room was nothing to write home about (we spent most of our time at a private terrace of our friends in the Jodhana wing and a shikaar themed room in the Heritage wing..very interesting). Our bath was spacious and I particularly enjoyed the bathtub. I couldn't get a spa appointment because it was practically booked for all 3 days we were there. Pity because my friend raved about it non-stop (Her Jodhana wing package included a Spa).
The staff was helpful and courteous. They did some excellent private dinners (great Rajasthani curries and decent international fare) for us and also assisted in organizing a trip to Osian. I don't usually shop at the hotel but the Mojari maker in the courtyard is excellent. Very comfortable shoes, you can give him your own pattern and colour preferences and he is very reasonably priced.

Next time we will definitely stay at the Jodhana Wing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I always rely on TA for hotel choices and seldom do I choose a hotel outside the top 10. But Ranbanka, despite it's low rating gave me a feeling that it would be good for a large group of friends and family. After spending three days there in January 2012, I must admit I should have stuck with my earlier policy.

Ranbanka mixes some good with a lot of bad. The rooms are spacious, breakfast is passable and the location is peaceful. But there are a lot of issues which start right from the time of check-in. We had booked three rooms and carried three ID proofs although one alone is enough for Indians staying in Indian hotels. For some reason they insisted for ID proofs for the entire group. The manager agreed that it is neither a law in Rajasthan, nor advertised on the website or on our bookings. Still he was too smug about it and refused to check us in till we arranged the copies of our IDs through email.

A lot of Indian reviewers have pointed out that the food is in accordance to western palates and I can easily agree, although I must admit that Indians guest were always in minority in this hotel. Another issue was pricing. Not even in Delhi Five stars will you pay Rs. 300 for one Aloo parantha (Indian wheat bread stuffed with mashed potato). Ironic, considering that they offer buffet breakfast for Rs. 275 per head, where you can have as many paranthas as you like. Even the promised evening entertainment during dinner just didn't materialize on one of the two days.

Yet another issue which bugged us the entire stay was the locks on our bathroom door. There were two and neither worked. On our complaints, waiters and house-keeping staff kept turning up but the carpenter walked in only on the second day. And his hack job solution lasted for about an hour. More complaints and visits followed but our problem remained unresolved till the very end.

To cut the long story short, steer clear of Ranbanka in Jodhpur. In the same price bracket, stay in Ajit Bhawan next door which has much better reviews or in one of the havellis in the heart of old city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VineetMalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Our trip was marred by the horrible customer service we received from the bar staff. My wife ordered a cocktail that consisted of Rum, Vodka and Coke that cost 340 rupees. When she ordered she asked for it by the name of the drink "with diet coke instead of coke." When we got the bill it was seperated by Vodka 180 rupees, Rum 180 rupees, Diet Coke 180 rupees = 540 rupees. I was told this is because a Diet Coke costs more than regular Coke (180 vs 155), but the waiter refused to just charge me the 25 rupee difference. Instead we paid more for the liquor alone than the cocktail costs with the regular Coke. I asked to speak to a manager and two more people came out who kept on saying that Coke costs more than a Diet Coke and I was billed correctly. I was polite throughout and gave up at the point, but never received even an apology.

The rooms were plain and the beds have a thin sheet/blanket. Wifi is not free. I was disappointing that there is no information whatsoever about the hotel being a former palace. It's really just a kind of old hotel with boring rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We visited this hotel in the month of December, in 2011. The initial impression was pretty nice as the check-in process was smooth and quick. There are two blocks of rooms, one is in the main building and the other is garden/pool facing. We were given rooms in the garden facing block.

We were 2 couples travelling and were disappointed to know that although we had specifically requested for double beds, we were given rooms with twin beds. The staff did change the positions of the bed, but still it was not very comfortable. Overall the room was nice and spacious. The bathroom too was quite big with a separate shower area and a bathtub, but a big omission was shower curtains!!! Shower curtains are something we have found missing in so many hotels in Rajasthan.

In the evening the hotel garden comes to life with a puppet show, music, and there is a person sitting there selling local mojdis (shoes), which was very interesting.

We ordered some snacks in the evening to our room and found the quality and quantity to be satisfactory. But the buffet dinner, which was included in our package, was not great. The spread was more to the taste of Non- Indians (read as not spicy enough), which frankly was not a big surprise considering the number of foreigners we saw during dinner. Also the number of items too could have been more. What pleasantly surprised us was the fabulous service we got during our dinners. One of the waiters probably overheard our discussion about how the food could have been more spicy, and immediately offered to serve us a dish as per our taste.

As many other reviewers have mentioned, yes there is the problem of noise everytime a train passes by, but then frankly for me, it just adds to the essence of how it feels staying in a city in India.

After having a look at many other hotels in Jodhpur, as we do travel there a lot, I do have to say that Ranbanka is amongst the better hotels there, and specially for Non-Indians, it offers a good mix of modern facilities along with some nice traditional touches.

Thanks,
Sharvil

Room Tip: Always request for rooms in the garden facing block and also confirm with the reservations whether y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharvilpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.2 km away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#8 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
3.6 km away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
9.0 km away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#18 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.0 km away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.4 km away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranbanka Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranbanka Palace

Property: Ranbanka Palace
Address: Circuit House Road, Jodhpur 342006, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#6 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#11 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
Price range (per night): $67 - $234
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranbanka Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranbanka, literally meaning the master of battles, was an honor conferred upon the courageous Rajput clan of Jodhpur - the Rathores. A part of the erstwhile palace was commissioned to be converted into a heritage hotel, aptly named Ranbanka Palace; offering guests the opportunity to enjoy one of Rajasthan's foremost royal experiences. With magnificent views of the Blue city, Ranbanka Palace retains and preserves the old world charm and glory of a bygone era. Its central location allows easy access to key leisure and business addresses in the city. The heritage hotel today houses a range of accommodation from deluxe pool and courtyard facing rooms to extravagant suites in the royal 'Heritage Wing' and luxurious 'Jodhana Wing'.Ranbanka Palace offers an array of cuisine and is famous for its elaborate Rajasthani flavors. From in-room dining to buffets, a la carte, private gatherings and theme dinners, Ranbanka Palace offers diversity in dining at: - the garden by the restaurant & poolside; The Pancharanga multi cuisine restaurant serving Indian, Continental,& Oriental dishes ; The Polo Bar, with an eclectic selection of Beverages housing an exhibit of the family's trophies won over generations and The Baithak, an exemplary Rajasthani lounge complete with Bajots & Gaddi Massons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ranbanka Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranbanka Palace Jodhpur
Ranbanka Palace Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing