We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$50
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tom H
Petaluma, California
Great choice for Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Mar 2017via mobile
We loved our stay. The decor of the hotel is beautiful and well thought out. The staff is incredibly warm and helpful. Our bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept in over the past five months of traveling. The rooftop restaurant has beautiful views of the fort, as well as delicious food and excellent service. The location is just a 5 minute rickshaw ride from the fort and it's nice to get away from the noise at night. We highly recommend Helsinki House.
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$41
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Hotel Helsinki House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Hotel Helsinki House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$114
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Hotel Helsinki House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$72
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Hotel Helsinki House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Marriott Hotels
AU$142
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$142
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Hotel Helsinki House
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$93
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Hotel Helsinki House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$28
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Hotel Helsinki House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$22
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Hotel Helsinki House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$120
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Hotel Helsinki House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$150
  • eDreams
2.8 km from Hotel Helsinki House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Jaisalmer
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
536
145
26
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
536
145
26
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant the owner narrow lane gadisar lake haveli style amazing hospitality rooms are spacious amazing place wonderful stay comfortable stay desert camp camel ride maru interior sunrise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Some hotels are more than just a room with bed - they have a soul. This is one such place. Right from cheerful reception, wonderfully designed rooms, excellent room service, awesome awesome breakfast and small games room for guests - this hotel has it all covered. Located near the lake and walking distance from the fort - this place has it a. A small roof top restaurant with alcohol and a wonderful view is also available. Do stay in this place and you would have a memorable experience!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Karthik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr_Maru, Manager at Hotel Helsinki House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Karthik M,

Greetings from Helsinki House!!
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor on your experience at Helsinki House.
I am glad that you enjoyed the food and service at the our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Thanks & Regards,

Maru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

I was already having a great time in India but due to my stay at Helsinki House I truly fell in love with the place. 

I normally never write reviews but I simply had to let other travellers know about this place. The brothers that run the place are the most genuinely helpful souls I have ever encountered. The outstanding hospitality is just the first good thing. The hotel itself feels like you exist in an alternate universe where you live a lavish life in a Palace. Wether your in the hostel or the more flashy rooms upstairs the place is pristine, clean, aesthetically pleasing AND the food is likewise faultless. Not that you are stuck eating at the hotel. The staff are more than happy to share the secrets of the city and recommend all the best delights that, without local knowledge, you may well miss during your visit. To add to the unique pleasure of staying at Helsinki House is simply the location. At first glance it looks a little too far from the action but to the contrary, it is actually  the EXACT place you need to be to truly appreciate Jaisalmer. I feel it would be a mistake to take accomodation inside the Fort. You would miss the true vibe. Helsinki House is perfectly situated with views of the desert to one side and full spectacular views of the Fort to the other. It is, at most, a 10min walk to the Fort which exposes you to a genuine insight of the city itself. There is not a 'rip off' in the place. You get far far more than you pay for. The staff take pride in their city and hotel and want you to love it as much as they do. 

We also did a 2 night camel safari which Helsinki House custom made for our every want and need. Nothing was a problem for them, we asked, they supplied and at a very reasonable price. We were alone mostly on the safari. Not packed in with loads of other tourists and had some of the the most special moments of the trip thanks to it. Camel riding aside there's just nothing these people won't provide for you should you ask. They even sent a driver (free of charge) to pick us up from the train station at 1.30am as our train was 2 hrs late. No problem. They were the perfect mix of being there for you 100% without hovering or interfering at anytime. Legends!

I highly recommend you give it a chance. You will not walk away from Helsinki House with a regret about anything. 

Thank you so much to the Helsinki brothers and staff. I will send as many friends your way as possible. I'd hate for anybody to miss out.

Much love Holly Lilah Bradshaw.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr_Maru, Manager at Hotel Helsinki House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Holly B,

Greetings from Helsinki House!!
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor on your experience at Helsinki House.

I am glad that you enjoyed the food and service at the our hotel and especially you found the hospitality - in our mind it is a priority for a great stay.

We look forward welcoming you again.

Thanks & Regards,

Maru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The staff is the best!!! Kind and helpful. Rooms are very spacious and clean.The room was clean and very modern. Everything worked in the room. The free internet access was a big plus. The bathroom was clean. Best value for money.

The atmosphere was ok and the food as well. It is a very casual place to dine, especially for breakfast. But Dinner was good

Overall we had a very very pleasant stay. We can't say anything wrong with it. Definitely will stay here again!!!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pal_lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr_Maru, Manager at Hotel Helsinki House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
I hope we will have the privilege to serve you again whenever you are in Jaisalmer.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Thanks & Regards,
Maru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

It was a great place to stay! And first look I appeared to be in a small narrow lane, but once yo step in you realize it's just the right hotel to be. Beautiful and spacious room, close to market by driving 3mins yet aloof ! Must Recommended.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank globalevillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr_Maru, Manager at Hotel Helsinki House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Maulik D,

Thank you so much for choosing Helsinki House & taking the time to write a review about your experience with us ! I am so glad that you enjoyed our hotel rooms and service.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Thanks & Regards,

Maru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed at Helsinki house of 1 night. We reached the hotel at around 3:30 PM and were quite tired and hungry after a long drive from Longewala and Tanot. We quickly reached the restaurant and requested for something to eat, which the staff promptly denied, since their chef was sleeping that too on the guest seat in the restaurant. After much request they agreed to serve tea, which got cooked by what looked like a housekeeping boy and served in dirty stained cups.
The ordeal didn't end there, next morning when we went in for breakfast the restaurant was full of white foreigners. To our disbelief, they started to serve the foreigners ahead of us and even those who came in later got served before. Now we have faced this treatment in other touristy (e.g. Manali) places, but it's sad that even after being an honest taxpayer (which creates infrastructure for tourism) you get a 3rd-grade treatment from your own people.

On the other hand, the room was spacious and clean and we had a comfortable sleep in the night. There's however, an annoying stench from the drain outside present everywhere in the lobby.

Date of stay: March 2017
3  Thank kaushal21fb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr_Maru, Manager at Hotel Helsinki House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you didn't quite enjoy your stay at our hotel.
While we have already apologized for the same to you when you visited us, we would like to bring the following to your notice:

We have taken note of all your points and have already taken action for the same.
According to our restaurant policy, we do have proper time schedule for our restaurant to serve our guest and it was out of working hours and as you know, also staff need to have some rest as well.

We hope that you would give us a chance to host you again.

Thanks & Regards,

Maru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews