We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
Ranked #21 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Since I was informed that the Gateway chain is the more economical variant of the Taj group, we decided to book here ( we have stayed at several Taj properties in the past and been impressed with their service and rooms). This hotel is quite some distance from the fort but it has stunning views of the fort. The hotel itself is built using local materials and looks rather nice and authentic. We chose to stay in a room instead of a tent. It was nice and spacious and had a homely feel to it. We were welcomed late evening by a courteous staff and escorted to our rooms promptly. The food was served by the pool and we were entertained by a puppet show and then a folk dance. The food was strictly okay. Overall, we enjoyed our time here

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank writecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    131
    51
    4
    13
See reviews for
113
111
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

We had planned a holiday in rajasthan, and based on some feedback, I booked a tent at the Gateway hotel rawalkot in Jaisalmer. In freezing temperatures, we stayed in a swiss tent. But to my surprise, I found this hotel so great and so much comfort, that I would recommend this hotel for any class of people. Great swiss tents with every facility possible, fantastic breakfast, beautiful swimming pool with a great view of the fort. And last but not the least, the puppet show in the evening was great too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaypkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Of all the Taj hotels I have stayed (quite a few in fact), this one will make towards the end of priorities for sure. Everything is quite average, except the swimming pool and rooftop restaurant. The dinner around the pool or on roof with folk dances taking the fantastic Jaisalmer fort in background, definitely great. But problem lies in the rooms, very small and low, least ventilation and lots of mosquitos!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prit_geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel in October 2011, just before Diwali. It is a very good property just next to Fort Rajwada. You can either stay in rooms in the sprawling campus or if you are more adventurous, you can opt to stay in the swiss tents in the adjoining campus. The hotel staff goes out of the way to make you comfortable. The manager of the hotel personally meets all guests and asks them to contact him directly in case any help is required (which was not required at all).

The best thing about this property is the haveli style architechture and the open courtyard style design. The swimming pool is beautiful, though a bit short for serious swimmers but great for kids and those who want to relax. The sunset view is great from the terrace. Breakfast is reasonable, but would have loved some south Indian options. You have the option of dining on the poolside and enjoy the view of the Golden Fort (though at quite a distance). The staff helps you with everything - including helping you chart out your itinerary for the day to make best possible use of time.

Rooms are clean, well lit and have all amenities that you would normally look for in a 4 star hotel. Bathrooms are also big with all basic amenities (including a fan!). However, if you are travelling with kids and need an extra bed, the room may feel a bit cramped.

You can play carrom (yes, I played carrom after many years with my kids and we really enjoyed a lot!) or chess or just relax on the jhula or grab a cup of tea and view the setting sun from the sprawling terrace. All in all, we loved the stay and would certainly recommend the hotel to families taking vacations.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamuzworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
309 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Our stay during the Diwali holidays was very pleasant! Even in the rush of the Diwali crowd, the warmth was beyond expectations! The rooms were comfortable, but the food seemed to be targeting the western world, was bland, and lacked the punch. Overall, recommended for visitors....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debopam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.2 km away
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
#43 of 104 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#30 of 104 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
4.3 km away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#24 of 104 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
#22 of 104 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 km away
Fort Rajwada
Fort Rajwada
#27 of 104 in Jaisalmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.7 km away
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
#67 of 104 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer

Property: Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
Address: Plot No. 3, Hotel Complex, Jodhpur-Jaisalmer Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India (Formerly Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer)
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaisalmer
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
#11 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
#16 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price range (per night): $91 - $336
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popularly known as the Golden City due to the colour the stone walls take on at sunset, Jaisalmer is a captivating destination. Historic Havelis, a vast desert landscape and picture-perfect sand dunes make Jaisalmer one of the most charming destinations in India. Modern comfort melds seamlessly with medieval charm at The Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer. The hotel is the perfect vantage point to watch the Jaisalmer Fort change colour from sunrise to sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawal Kot Hotel
Rawal Kot Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing