We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It blew our socks off.”
Review of The Serai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Serai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Serai blew our socks right off. A perfect blend of understated luxury and exceptional service. Upon entering the property the outside world ceases to exist. It is the kind of place where nothing is too much trouble and where the service is excellent, but unobtrusive.
The tents are spacious, beautifully decorated in muted desert tones and surrounded by silence. I was quite happy to forgo a day of sightseeing in Jaisalmer and instead spend it lounging around the singular property, doing yoga on the deck, enjoying a massage at the spa (I had a Thai massage which was great) and swimming in our heated private pool.
Given the remoteness of the camp, we dined at the restaurant for all three nights of our stay. While there is a European menu available, we chose the Rajasthani thali each time, which was different on each occasion and delicious throughout. Meals are served at the time you choose to eat in a large dining area at the front of the camp. On returning to your room after dinner, a hotwater bottle had been placed in the bed. Bliss!
On one of the evenings we were treated to a musical performance by a local group of musicians. They were excellent and had previously performed in NY. The memory of sitting around the campfire listening to their haunting music will stay with us for a long time. We went on the camel ride on one of the afternoons, which is the only time we felt that we were in the middle of a somewhat packaged experience. It felt a bit artificial, but was enjoyable. It is very hard to find fault with our stay at the Serai. It is expensive, but worth it, particularly if you are after a luxurious retreat that isn't of the gilded-mirror-plush-velvet-uphosltery kind. We felt restored and rejuvenated after our stay and I would love to return one day.

Room Tip: The rooms on the further end of the property have private pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JezebelleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

The desert seems to absorb all sound! As I sit outside our beautiful Royal Suite Tent at The Serai, on the edge of the Thar desert some 40km outside of Jaisalmer, I’m astonished at the silence. It’s so rare to hear yourself and nothing else.

And then there are the stars. A whole sky filled of shimmering dots, some brighter than others, a few that you feel you could even touch.

I love the desert. So quiet. So simple. So pure.

This property blends perfectly into the surrounding desert environ, yet is able to deliver on the luxury it promises. The Royal Suite Tent was stunning and very spacious with private pool and outdoor dining area, as well as private spa. We also had a private butler that just spoiled us crazy!

Will never forget eating under the stars at The Serai in our private garden.

Room Tip: if you can, splurge on the Royal Suite Tent ... you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bojantercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Very remoted, elegant tented camp. Each spacious tent with a terrace lounge, air-con bedroom and a stylish bathroom. Six tent´s have private pools.There are also lounge and dining tents, set in an exclusive, walled-off compound. Gorgeous sunsets. The pool is small but very refreshing. Spa is good but not extraordinarily.
Dining under canvas or under the stars. Wonderful!
Food is a little bit poor, compared to the other hotels we stayed (Rambagh Palace, Oberoi, Kempinski, Aman ...). Remember you are 30 Minutes away from Jaisalmer. There is no possibility to dine anywhere else. You can see that on your bill. They tell you to drink al lot of water (outside 45° C in Oktober) but you get only one bottel per day for complimentary...
Service is very friendly and mindful to fulfill your wishes. We felt like home.
The surrounding villages are very authentic and off the beaten track.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank multiplefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is a real find and a perfect oasis in the Rajasthan desert. Beautiful property with great tented rooms. The service is unbelievable. The general manager, Jitin, is so attentive and anticipatory of your every need. It has my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Excellent staff and fantastic accommodations in a beautiful remote location couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
49.2 km away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#8 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,244 reviews
37.2 km away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
36.0 km away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 108 in Jaisalmer
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.6 km away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#4 of 108 in Jaisalmer
417 reviews
60.8 km away
Damodra Desert Camp
Damodra Desert Camp
#1 of 269 in Jaisalmer
430 reviews
65.6 km away
Winds Desert Camp
Winds Desert Camp
#6 of 269 in Jaisalmer
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Serai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Serai

Address: Bherwa | Chandan, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 269 Speciality Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $817 - $1,597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Serai 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury desert camp and spa, The Serai has 21 large canvas tents set on a hundred acre estate of indigenous desert scrub in the Great Thar Desert. The Serai spa is the new Indian jewel in the global crown of spa company Raison d’Etre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your The Serai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing