We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, convenient location, dodgy neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bharat Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bharat Villas
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
189 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice staff, convenient location, dodgy neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Pleasant staff, room about what you would expect in this price class. 10 minute walk from fort and bazaar, Neighborhood safe but a bit dodgy... perhaps more of teh real India than we wanted.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    92
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
43
96
46
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

A nice hotel with a great roof terrace. The food there was excellent. Very friendly staff with free wifi in the lobby. Small rooms but clean. Laundry was done well and good value. Shame it isn't in the fort!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LozzaDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisalmer
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was a small, friendly hotel with helpful staff five minutes walk from the fort.
The rooftop restaurant had views of the fort walls and a good menu. continental breakfast or tasty Indian breakfast was available. good coffee and beer, to.
The rooms were very comfortable with en suite bathrooms and blankets for the chilly nights.
Free wi fi in rooms and internet was also available and good reception on theTV!
All in all a very pleasant stay and a better option than staying in the fort, which puts such pressure on the local environment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyDyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed in Bharat Villas with my family on 1st and 3rd of Jan, 2012 and found it to be a decent budget hotel. I found it via Tripadvisor and had booked it in advance after failing to get accommodation in any of the better rated hotels . Though initially I had my doubts about the quality and cleanliness, my doubts were gone as soon as I checked into the hotel. The room (#110) was clean and spacious, and the linens & towels provided were washed and clean (though had a worned out look).

As for the location, it is conveniently located at a walking distance from the fort's entrance, Gadisar lake and the market. The main road is hardly a 5 minute walk.

The roof top restaurant is ok types in terms of quality - the prices are a bit steep for the quality.

Sawai and his staff are very good hosts and they are willing to go extra mile to ensure the comfort of their guests with a personal touch.

The only negative I found with this hotel is its surrounding - it is located in the middle of machine repair shops (see the pictures I have uploaded). This is big turn off and leaves a bad first impression. Parking can be a challenge too, if you have driven to Jaisalmer in a personal vehicle like Innova or Scorpio - You will either have to park in a side alley (which can accommodate at most 3 sedans) or in the narrow lanes. If you have a cab or have a driver, this would be the least of botheration.

My 2 cents - this is a very good budget hotel, and if all you care for is a clean comfortable bed to sleep at night, this can be a place to opt for.

PS - For the photography inclined folks, do climb to the roof top of the hotel at sunrise and sunset to catch the full view of the fort in golden glow. Was myself able to click very good snaps of the fort.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the top floor - those are more ventilated and quieter. We stayed in 110. The on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerFromGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisalmer, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Me and my girlfriend are on our first trip to india, and so far Bharat Villas in Jaisalmer is one of our favourite hotels so far.
The people working there are so nice, polite and funny!
The food is great an the quality on the rooms are uncomplainable!

Room Tip: The room on top at the resturant floor where wery nice! A good wiev to the famous fort on the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinod Baba O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.2 km away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
37.9 km away
Haveli Hotel
Haveli Hotel
#9 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.3 km away
Heera Court Hotel
Heera Court Hotel
#39 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bharat Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bharat Villas

Property: Hotel Bharat Villas
Address: Behind Tourist Reception Centre | Dhibba Para, Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price range (per night): $17 - $155
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bharat Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bharat Villas is situated in the heart of jaisalmer city. From the roof top of hotel, jaisalmer fort(golden-fort) looks awesome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing