We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely stay there again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pol Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pol Haveli
Ranked #4 of 150 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed in Room 37, which was huge, clean, and nicely decorated. There was a view of the fort from the window, too. A great value at 850rs/night. There was a beautiful rooftop terrace and cafe, too, also with a nice view of the fort.

As promised, we were picked up at the train station, right on time, and we're given tea and a bottle of water at check-in on the rooftop.

It's a good thing the room was so nice, because my husband and I both ended up getting sick and weren't really up for much sightseeing. Manu went above and beyond for us, since my husband was feeling so bad. He offered to take my husband to the hospital at no charge (luckily it didn't come to that), let us stay in the room for hours beyond normal checkout on our last day, and had us dropped off at the train station at no charge.

To be fair, there were a few things we weren't thrilled about, but they would stop us from recommending Pol Haveli or from staying there again ourselves. Here they are: The restaurant food was just ok and it took 70 mins to get our meal one evening after ordering, even though there was only one other couple dining at the time. We felt the owner and his brother pushed the camel/jeep safari a button hard. The Internet very rarely worked, though there were two free-to-use computers abvailable, which was nice. The hot water only worked once for us, but the weather was warm enough that it wasn't a big deal. The location was fine - about a fifteen minute walk to the fort. I highly recommend the restaurant Monica, close to the fort entrance - best food we had in Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Procrastinasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    47
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
39
105
69
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This guest house has a nice look and an average location (in terms of distance to the market and local bus stand). However, it is not a very comfortable place to stay in, and the staff is weird and unprofessional.

It is situated inside a tiny lane which is not very amicable; the road on the lane outside the hotel is rocky, filled with bricks and what not, and cows and dogs lounging around all over. Inside, it is well constructed with nice stone walls, is quite clean, and has cable TV in the rooms, Internet terminals on the first floor, and a pretty rooftop cafe on the second floor with a neat view of Jaisalmer (including the Jaisalmer fort and the Brahmin cemetery). The bedding is good, and the food is alright, like the aloo dum achari for example, but the pulao they got us for dinner at night was half-cooked, and the mixed vegetable item spicier and oilier than necessary. Mostly, there are some basic things that this guest house lacks, and I'm not visiting again.

Poor infrastructure:

-There are no geysers in the bathrooms. So we had to make do with cold water. Why not have a geyser or 24 hour hot water service in a hotel that's spent so much money on its interiors, and even invested on cable television in each room? Moreover, Mr. Manu clearly told me that they did have hot water when I booked on the phone with him, but it turned out it was available only in the evenings. We required it most in the morning at 5 am, when we had to leave for our bus to Jodhpur. This further means they are not clear and honest either.

-There was no heater in the room, and nor could the AC temperature be turned up to a warm degree. We were there in January, more specifically yesterday and day before, and the room was freezing because of the stone architecture of the hotel. All Rajasthan hotels have geysers and hot water, and I don't see why Pol Haveli cannot. The blankets they gave us were very good though, and we slept well thanks to that.

-The hotel does not accept credit cards.

-They don't have an elevator.

-There is no telephone/intercom in the rooms. This is all highly inconvenient.

-I slipped and fell from the steps at the entrance of the hotel, though I managed to not hurt myself much. The steps are steep, narrow, and there is no side bar to hold onto while you have luggage in your hands. Please beware of this. This also means that senior citizens or elderly people cannot enter their hotel, because it is impossible for an elderly person to climb such narrow steps.

Unprofessional staff:

-The staff is weird and doesn't keep a proper professional distance with guests, though they did try their best to help us with a lot of things. They got our bus ticket booked to Jodhpur, gave us a free pick up and drop to the bus station within Jaisalmer, and got us a jeep safari for half a day at Rs 1100 (after some bargaining) -- but their behaviour was simply not professional. The guy on the counter (apparently the owner and Mr Manu's brother) kept coming and knocking at our room with half the information every 15 minutes, and it was annoying. He sat on the table opposite us throughout the time we were having lunch, and though we chatted and got some information about Jaisalmer from him during that time, this felt intrusive. He was being over-friendly. He sleeps at the reception, and I didn't get a good feeling about him from the way he spoke.

-And, when we asked him (or had to remind him!) to get spoons while we were having lunch, he got us only one -- despite there being two of us! Very shameful behaviour. Decency of staff cannot be compensated with good decors.

-Mr. Manu told me that he will be there to help us with all the transport, etc, and give us all the information, but once we did arrive at the hotel, there was no sight or trace of him.

-The jeep safari guy, who had an arrogant air about him, and who took us for the excursion around Jaisalmer and the sand dunes -- also gave a ride in the same jeep to some of his male "friends" after requesting us to let him. No mention of this had been made earlier at the hotel before our departure. This did not feel safe.

Therefore, I wouldn't return to Pol Haveli on a family trip again (or even otherwise), or recommend this guest house to anyone. It was a cheap stay: we got the room for Rs 1000 per night, but we certainly would have preferred to spend a little more, and have basic amenities and service in order.

Clearly, this property has tremendous potential in terms of its location and architecture, but it is not being managed properly. Its strong points (the decor, construction, cleanliness, good bedding, rooftop cafe, and low price) are completely nullified by the unprofessional behaviour of the staff, and lack of proper facilities/appliances in the room. I wouldn't go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beat_reporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mugla, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

What a shining gem of a hotel is this to find on the travelers route in Jaisalmer. A little unassuming from the outside but to step through the doors of this 9 room hotel in a quiet and local residential area is a sight for sore eyes, feet, back...

The attention to detail of the building itself with its ornate stone work surrounds and inset shelving, the floating textiles that adorn arches and windows, the only spotlessly clean bed linen I have seen in the numerous hotels and guests house I have stayed along with clean and working toilets and showers so far on this trip and the beautifully decorated rooms for all budgets tells you all you need to know and what to expect from your stay - you will be in for a treat.

Coupled with the friendly staff and owners who you will meet on the lovely roof top garden terrace with comfortable seating/lounging spaces and views of the golden fort this place just gets better and better.

Their menu offers generous portions at reasonable prices throughout the day and evening and the food comes with a smile and the owners care enough to ask how you enjoyed your drink, meal, snack... I recommend the Masala Omelette (spicy), lemon and sugar pancake (huge) and ask about the special dessert of fruit, cookies, nuts, ice cream, curd (yoghurt) and hot chocolate sauce - its not on the menu yet!

When this hotel only three years old makes it to the top pick in the Lonely Planet Guide it will be advance booking only. I highly recommend that you place this Hotel at the top of your list taking the Rickshaw from the bus or train station (ignore all touts - be prepared as it is chaos at the bus drop off) and make this your No1 stop while praying for an available room.

Free pick up if pre arranged and free drop off at the bus or train staion when you leave. Oh and free internet too!

Enjoy your stay :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franeker, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

we had a great stay at Pol Haveli. The best bed in India ever !!(were we travelled a lot for long extending periods); clean; good food on the nice rooftop with beautiful views (and green plants); relaxed; free internet; hot water when needed and nicely decorated.

Room Tip: biggest room on the 1st floor and the smaller opposite have the BEDS
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meacrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

if you are searching for a good place outside the fort this is a very good option. the family and staf are very friendly and helpfull, the rooms are super clean (soft beds!) and the food on the roof terrace is delicious with a nice view over the city and the fort. The hotel is 5 to 10 min walk from the fort.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kommerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.8 km away
Helsinki House
Helsinki House
#12 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pol Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pol Haveli

Property: Hotel Pol Haveli
Address: Near Hanuman Circle, Geeta Ashram | Amarsagar Gate Is a Few Minutes Away, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price range (per night): $14 - $27
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Pol Haveli 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pol Haveli welcomes guests and travelers alike with open hearts, free coffee and masala chai upon arrival at the Hotel Pol Haveli. We conveniently pick up all our guests at the bus and train station, at any time, free of charge. Please call our phone number at any time should we arrange a pick up. Hotel Pol Haveli is a charming antique boutique hotel nestled within the old city of Jaisalmer, in the princely state of Rajasthan. From our lovely rooftop terrace, you can enjoy timeless, beautiful sunset views of the Golden Fort and the Imperial Cenotaphs; Our family boutique hotel evokes the memories of times past with its traditional Rajput architecture while offering the modern conveniences that guests have come to appreciate. Our nine plush rooms, which are decorated with traditional Rajasthani furnishings, are very clean and comfortable, with en-suite bathrooms and hot running water. We also have air conditioned rooms (AC) rooms available on demand. Conveniently located in a quiet area of the old city, Hotel Pol Haveli boasts a beautiful sunset and Golden Fort view. We guarantee a clean, well furnished room along with all the facilities to make our stay comfortable and chic. Our friendly and helpful staff will be available on hand at any time, should your needs evolve like the sands of Jaisalmer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pol Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing