We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great homestay with a wonderful family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vinayak Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vinayak Guest House
Ranked #2 of 49 Bikaner B&B and Inns
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great homestay with a wonderful family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This was such a great experience. Jitu took care of us from the moment we stepped out of the train station. He made sure we made it to his home for free and without hassle, taught us things about the area, the wildlife and the Indian culture, made us feel at home and relaxed. The room was lovely, clean with a fantastic bed (which does not happen very often for me in India). The garden was cozy and relaxing. We had a 3 day camel safari that was a lot of fun and started with a tour of the Rat Temple with Jitu. The knowledge that he shares added so much to our safari because we could identify so many animals and plants along the way. We also took a great "old city" tour that showed us the local Havelis and we even were able to go inside the Haveli that is now a hotel...spectacular. Jitu set it up but we dealt only with the rickshaw driver when it came to paying. Jitu does not take a cut for himself and checks to make sure that we were not pressured to shop at any stores. If you are looking for contact with friendly locals that you can really have a conversation with and would like to learn more about the area and wildlife in a small family setting then this place is perfect for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChristiAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    36
    8
    8
    8
See reviews for
16
70
48
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

This has been the best place we have stayed in India this trip. It was such a pleasure to get to know Jitu, Pooja and their family. They were extremely helpful in every aspect of our needs and intentions. The accommodation was perfectly suitable, and their food refreshingly clean without the usual excess of oil and salt one has to put up with in India.

We would have loved to take a trip to the desert with Jitu if we had time, as he was so knowledgeable and considerate of our preferences. Unfortunately we had too much to squeeze in, and we did very much enjoy Bikaner - always too much to do and see and too little time.

In the most important area of sleeping, I must add that in the two rooms we stayed in on separate times, the beds were superb! We slept so soundly we didn't want to get up in the morning.

Thank you again Jitu and Pooja, for a most delightful stay. Hope to see you again one day.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

What a fabulous stay! If you are after an insight into family life with no frills and are happy with clean rooms, quirky plumbing and good home cooking this is the place for you. We were greeted so warmly by the family who invited us into their home for tea and snacks. After a tiring and stressful journey this was a welcomed surprise.

After hanging out with other travellers in the guesthouse we decided to take one of their camel safaris as Jitsu is a zoologist and offered more than just a camel ride. He took just the two of us out and showed us the nature and wildlife in the area and we really had the feeling we were off the beaten track. What made the trip more special was that Jitsu supports the local villages who provide the camels and the tours, so we know our money was also being reinvested back into a village.

The camel tour guide took care of us from start to finish, two women in the desert with a guide sounds daunting but we felt safe and the element of adventure was magical.

Jitsu, his family and the camel safari team really added to our incredible experience of India. If you do not expect hair dryers, room service etc this place is for you!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The guest house/safari scene in Bikaner is a competitive one, but we feel we made the right choice! We stayed in the Vinayak guest house with our family (3 teenage boys) in August 2011. We were only looking for a stopover between Amritsar and Udaipur, but we ended up staying three nights and it turned into one of the highlights of our six-week holiday! Jitu is a perfect host, a thoroughly decent and very humble person, and first class company. We went with him to the rat temple, camel farm and a half-day car safari (all very inexpensive and no pressure at all), where his knowledge and expertise gave fascinating insights into the village life, flora, fauna and birdlife of the region - an absolute must if you are travelling with children. Jitu is an excellent organiser who sorted us out in-between trips with him with rickshaw tours of Bikaner (including the house of the man in the Guinness Book of Records for the world's longest moustache - great photo opportunity and another children's must!) and with our onward journey. Another real plus is that you do feel you are in a family home - Jitu's parents, wife and children are all great fun, and very open and informative as well. They are an academic family, so conversations are intelligent. They are happy to answer all manner of questions, which helps you get under the skin of India and again was educational for our children. It must not go unmentioned that they were all very attentive to our needs and Jitu's mother's cooking was another highlight of the stay! It is true that the rooms are basic but certainly comfortable enough, we and our boys were very happy with our two rooms which are, after all, inexpensive anyway. The garden is a pleasant place to sit and, all in all, the Vinayak itself is a small, simple but decent place to relax, given all the activities it has to offer. After six weeks in India this was one place that we still talk about the most, so if travel gives you memories, the Vinayak has certainly done that and we are very grateful to Jitu and his family for a genuinely memorable time. We would recommend him wholeheartedly and unreservedly to anyone - couples and singles (including a female student there for some time) there with us were equally praising. We would urge an intelligent awareness as to where the strangely negative reviews may have come from!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adrian540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and were most impressed by the warm welcome. We were invited to share in a festival breakfast with the family (cute kids). The host Jitu is full of information and helpful advice. The camel safari was good, well organised and the visit to the traditional village a highlight.
Only negatives - mattresses in one of the rooms we stayed in was too hard to sleep properly. Communicating with the staff and rest of family (except Jitu) was sometimes difficult and lead to some misunderstandings. All showers unheated water which was ok when we were there in October.

Room Tip: Test mattresses first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bikaner hotels
2.2 km away
Shri Ram Heritage
Shri Ram Heritage
#7 of 36 in Bikaner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
#9 of 36 in Bikaner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
10.5 km away
Vesta Bikaner Palace
Vesta Bikaner Palace
#1 of 36 in Bikaner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Bahadur Vilas
Bahadur Vilas
#18 of 36 in Bikaner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.9 km away
The Laxmi Niwas Palace
The Laxmi Niwas Palace
#2 of 36 in Bikaner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.5 km away
Tanisha Heritage Haweli
Tanisha Heritage Haweli
#1 of 49 in Bikaner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinayak Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinayak Guest House

Property: Vinayak Guest House
Address: near Junagarh Fort, Bikaner 334001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bikaner
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bikaner
Price range (per night): $16 - $21
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vinayak guest house is a peaceful guest house in Bikaner. It is located near Junargarh Fort in a quiet street. It provides rooms for all kind of travelers. There is a restaurant serving Indian and continental food. The management also organizes several tours in the Thar desert (ranging from jeep/camel safaris to village tours). Pick up from the bus station or train station can easily be arranged. Come and visit us and relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Vinayak Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vinayak Guest House Hotel Bikaner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing