We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thar Exotica
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shanti House(Bikaner)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
29
2
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
2
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig propertythe ownercooperative staffclean roomsplace to stayresortwagonhospitalitylawnsambiencejaisalmer
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Resort from January 3 to 5, 2015. A lovely stay. The owner and his wife and their three dogs were the perfect hosts. The hotel is situated in a large property full of trees. The Kinoo (Mandarin Oranges?) trees were in fruit and we plucked/collected many Kinoos.
The food was lightly spiced and excellent. Very reasonably priced.
Travellers must keep in mind that the resort is about 10 kilometres from the city-centre and there isn't too much to do on the property itself, other than walk about, sit in the sun and read.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2014

The first thing that strikes you when you enter is the space and the greenery. The second is the dogs sitting in the garden who run to welcome you. The place is friendly and informal. No one hangs around you and if you need something you find someone and ask for it. It is a welcome change from hotels where the staff are breathing down your neck all the time hoping for tips. Rooms are clean and food is freshly cooked on order. It is quiet and peaceful and the dogs and the pet geese who sometimes wander into the garden are a treat. Will definitely recommend it to any traveller looking to stop at a place for a couple of days to recharge their batteries.

Room Tip: Rooms are all alike but the cottages have a lovely sit out.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank payalsinha84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2014

We were a group of avid bird watchers and planned our trip to view the raptors at Bikaner. Marudyan Resort is ideally located for this as it is on the main road and 15 minutes from the birding area. The resort is clean with home cooked food and friendly staff. The owner is a keen naturalist himself and great company. The dogs at the resort are a friendly lot. The large campus and trees are a treat in the desert and we birders found them teeming with bird life. Rooms are functional and met our basic requirements. There is no WIFI connectivity, room service, intercoms or televisions. This may put off some people and I would recommend this place only to this who wish to get away from all this for a while, and who are fond of the outdoor and nature. For a keen bird watcher, don't even look anywhere else, and request the owner to take you out in his open jeep atleast for half a day.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jacobmathewbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Me and My Family had a trip planned to Bikaner after Diwali ( 24th-26th Oct ) so, while looking for some good hotels on the internet for booking.. I came across this " Not at all Resort-like " Marudyan Resort on few websites and tripadvisor. The photographs and some wrongly written and misguiding reviews left a great impression so.. i instantly booked a room for 2 days. Everything seemed to be perfectly alright as the owner's gesture was very welcoming and overall i couldn't see anything problematic. BUT.. the whole scenario changed when we reached " THE MARUDYAN RESORT ".

First of all, the location of the hotel is the biggest factor. Even though we were informed about the distance factor but we never knew that its midst nothing.. no market, no conveyance facility..nothing at all.. Secondly, the concept of the hotel ambitious but nothing has been put to good use..not even the large area. Its dim lit, pitch black at some places and trust me it might give you some jitters near the pool area.

Now, another dissapointment was awaiting us.. The ROOMS..!! Rooms are big, clean but... after the first night they did not even bother to change the bedsheets n all even after we requested them. so, we had to manage with the ones we used the previous night. Just a single POWER SOCKET in the room, no mirrors.. nothing!! and, the extra bed is a Folding bed which is very uncomfortable.
The bathrooms are very big BUT not soo clean. Mind it..!! A resort is never like they're maintaining it.
In and around the room, its gloomy and full of mosquitoes

We were the only guests at that time. The food was very homely but was no value for the exorbitant money. Plus, improper accommodation for the driver was also a problem for us.

One good point was... the Dogs DO NOT bother at all. They're very good indeed..! and the hospitality of the owner was good.

At last, we'll never forget this bad experience and it is highly NOT recommended....!!!!!!!!!!!

.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 65RKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

One of the main reason to choose this place was that we could take our 4 months old dog with us. There was no problem to leave the dog with the staff while we went out the explore Bikaner city. Food was very good but rooms could be a little better ( though the rooms were very clean with big bathrooms). Owner lives at the hotel and is very friendly and helpfull. We always got some good tips from him to travel around.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool may get a bit noisy once the pool is active otherwise these are better rooms than the cottages.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VirkGurpreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews